What's the rudest/weirdest/craziest thing you've come across.......

Re: What's the rudest/weirdest/craziest thing you've come across.......

I know, im curious as well.. tell Tell! Spill the beans!

well.. a while later another of the groom's aunts or something came to complain that the bride wasn't sitting with her head buckled into her knees in the 'shy manner' under the ghunghat.
she declared that "we have come all the way from USA for a traditional dulhan".. etc.

the bride actually had a cold, so her cousin defended this saying, uski tabiyat theek nahi hai.
the lady responded, "achcha? ghar ja kar sab tabiyat theek kar dungi"

filmi, i know.
at this point of course the bride decided she was going nowhere with these freaks.
she told her parents, who of course supported her fully, and there was a showdown at the venue. the dulha-walas, obviously highly embarrassed, outraged, insulted didn't take this quietly.
i swear i wish i knew more details.

and of course, to make things worse for them -- there's some kind of law in india regarding harassment at weddings/marriages that directly results in the groom and his family being taken into police custody (necessary law, since so much dowry nonsense happens).

so they had to spend the night at the police station, where their passports were confiscated until they agreed to an annulment and paid for at least half the expenses of the wedding.

I have no idea but they're all doctors so maybe they thought whoever paid might be able to get a discount..

If you don't mind my asking, where are you from laadbazaar? I think i've heard of a place called laad bazaar...

I wanna know as well.. Tell Tell!

Well, I dont want to know where your from, but I was wondering if you girls think that, such bad experience and the people who cause such experienced should be told on, talked about in society and warned against. As usualy the grooms side, always thinks their in demand and can ask for anything, while the poor brides side is all sweet and kind. The law in India seems justified. If that was happening to my cousin or sister, I would like flip out. regardless of the elders flipping out, I would like slap the grooms aunt and tell her to zip it, sit and enjoy the food and go home and sleep.

Altho sometimes it usualy someone from your own family causing a scene, and it must be so embarrassing! How do you politely tell your fathers sister/brotheror your mother sister/brother to calm down and not bug in your business. I'm definitely going to go thru this. How do I put this, my father's brother and sister, dont care about me or my siblings at all, and neither are they nice to my mom much, but as soon as my father shows up, their all helpful and sweet and they'll go out of their way to help. As soon as he's gone, they wont even call to ask if we're doing okay on our trip to pakistan. Not that I want them to ask or call, I would rather they not even show up, but how do i nicely tell them to not get involved in my wedding at all?? Its an iffy and weird situation, they dont like me much as it is, as i'm outspoken and honest :) but I so dont want them at my wedding. I know i shouldnt let it bother me, but it does! and yes my dad sister does create scenes, as in if she's not invited on stage before all the other siblings, she'll get upset and sit at the function with a round big face! and she'll let you hear it and ruin everyones mood. basically to get them involved in the wedding you have to beg! While usualy cousins and friends are like trying to be extra sweet and nice to help and dont need to be asked or begged in her case. and if you dont ask her then she complains!

if the relatives are really the ones making the scene and not the parents of the bride/groom, then i am pretty sure in this case that even the most pushover parents will come to the rescue of their child and assure their child's inlaws that the relatives do NOT express the feelings of the parents. I.e. they might say "aap unka bura math maana, woh kabhi kabhi esa karte, hum unke baathon ku nahi maante aur zyada nahi milte". Don't worry your parents will not let their daughter's wedding be ruined, even if attempted by their own siblings.

i know exactly what you mean -- i have some relatives who are... the less said the better.

the problem with such people is that if you don't invite them, or treat them differently, they're even more trouble.
so it's better that they're present at the events, and you can appoint some 'neutralizers' from among your family, to handle them (or steer them away) politely and diplomatically in case it seems as if they're having a tantrum.

people like this usually behave like that because they want importance -- maybe if you ask someone (like a very patient cousin) to keep an eye on them, they might just feel good that here is someone taking care of my needs, at my beck and call etc.. and they behave normally, God willing.

snazzy, laad bazaar is a very famous and AMAZING bangle market in charminar, hyderabad, (where i was born) and yeah, i'm a hardcore churi addict :)
i have hundreds of dozens of bangles myself, hence the name.

Oh THAT's where i heard it... my parents are hyderabadi- now that you mention it I remember my mom talking about it in relation to bangles...I guess it's really famous for it!

there was this wedding where the bride's sister had an argument with the groom's family member. the argument turned into a fight-- a fist fight! there was hair pulling and all. the groom and the bride were just sitting on the stage helpless, and i guess other people also joined in the cat fight!! crazyy.. but this incident didnt break the marriage, the couple are still married-- that happened some 5 years back!

On my Walema day the chair covers we had chosen were a different color & when I asked the banquet manager about it he was like oh this is what it says in the contract. I know for sure I had chosen another color but didn't pay attention to the final contract while signing my initials. We got into small argument where I was like you ought to call the person I talked with & get this sorted out & that @ss of a person (mind my language there) actually told me that I was fabricating stories & how he has never had a bride like this before. I think it was the most offensive thing I ever heard from any one during my whole wedding. I was so upset & hurt at the same time as all this was happening while my hubby was there. Good thing he talked the to the guy & that jerk came & apologized.

Oh & besides that we also ended up paying $3000 extra just because it turned out that almost half the people expected to attend the Walema won't be able to make it & this was 4 months before the event & 2 months after we had put down the initial deposit. Those jerky people were like its a contract & we can't change it. How cruel of them.

snazzy, laad bazaar is a very famous and AMAZING bangle market in charminar, hyderabad, (where i was born) and yeah, i'm a hardcore churi addict :)
i have hundreds of dozens of bangles myself, hence the name.

Oh THAT's where i heard it... my parents are hyderabadi- now that you mention it I remember my mom talking about it in relation to bangles...I guess it's really famous for it!

me 3...mee hyderabadi too.....love laadbaazar!

I think everyone has had something happen at their wedding ...either some snide comments made or situations happen....you just have to take it with stride and TRY to brush those things off...

There was a distant family wedding we had where the girl got married to her cousin...but the next day he disappeared leaving her with a note that said he was gay and ran away with his partner (who was actually dancing the most at the wedding by the way).

weirdest thing I've seen at a walima, the venue chosen was a last minute decision and no one in the groom's family even bothered to make sure if there was a stage. On the day of the valima, the 25 year old sofa (that restaurant is ancient) was covered with a chaadar from MIL's wardrobe.... the couple were already married by then. And as if that wasn't crazy enough, the groom's family couldn't be bothered about hiring a photographer and the response of the FIL was I have asked my bro's son to take pics. All the pics turned out like crap....... and I mean that in the literal sense ...not even one pic was clear....

To this day I feel like crying when I think about this valima... :(

OH MY GOD! this is the worst thing that can happen to a bride!

All you guys are scaring the s*t out of me...I have a bi*y relative who's my dad and MIL's sister and is my parents' arch rival but is close to my husband and in laws, dunno what she's upto!

me 3...mee hyderabadi too.....love laadbaazar!

I think everyone has had something happen at their wedding ...either some snide comments made or situations happen....you just have to take it with stride and TRY to brush those things off...

There was a distant family wedding we had where the girl got married to her cousin...but the next day he disappeared leaving her with a note that said he was gay and ran away with his partner (who was actually dancing the most at the wedding by the way).

^ omg tht is the worst thing iv read :(

the craziest thing that iv come across didnt happen at the wedding but after the wedding... we all attended a wedding in pakistan from the grooms side who are from the UK. he got married to a girl who was divorced. she had been married for a short time...

later on we found out that the bride was still married to her first husband!! yet she was so desperate to marry a guy from thr UK and come here that her and her family did something dodgy and showed a backdated divorce thing to the grooms side. but in actual fact she was not divorced from her 1st husband at the time she got married to the 2nd guy. she was only separated from him but still his wife

Oh My God about the Gay cousin! Oh My God! why couldn't he just run away before the wedding, why waste all that money and put someone else thru this. MEN! even the Gay ones are weird!

^ OMG ...
Thats haram..

exactly... thats what i don't get. if he was going to run away y not do it before the wedding and save every1 the heartache and not to mention the money!