whats the big deal with 'kashmiris'?

Re: whats the big deal with 'kashmiris'?

sorry, ithink i got it wrong :p All IZZ WELL!!

You know what... I actually do know a girl... that is from Kashmir and is EXTREMELY gorgeous. Her skin isn't any lighter than an average light skinned punjabi girl. But her facial features are amazing. Some others I know think she is average, and some think she is not good looking because of her facial features. I definitely do not see guys running after her beauty... so maybe she is average...

Yea what she said.

Its really annoying when the first thing someone comments about is how you are so fair. I don’t take it as a compliment because there are other good things about a person as well. Its really the features that makes a person pretty not skin tone.

RV I agree Konkona Sen is pretty!

yh unfortunately thats the desi truth..:S

Yes, Prithviraj Kapoor's family was from Peshawer.
The Kapoor surname is from Punjab.
They were Punjabi's settled in NWFP.

Regarding beauty - being fair helps, but that should not be the only criteria.
'Adaa' or charm of a girl / lady is more important than beauty..

At least they assume you’re from somewhere in Pakistan! I get all sorts of countries before they even think of Pakistan, someone even thought I was Russian once :smack:
Only Pakistani’s recognise me as Pakistani but even then they ask whether I’m Kashmiri or Pathan, I was even asked whether I was Chachi once…I don’t even know what/where that is? :confused: You should see their faces when I let them know I’m Punjabi though.

Beauty is definitely subjective, some people find fairer skin tones attractive while others prefer deeper/dusky skin tones. I don’t really bother with skin colour, as long as they have striking features…give me a strong jawline and killer cheekbones over a gora rang any day :wink:

On the subject of skin colour, Is it just me or does it seem that we’re constantly told that out natural skin colour isn’t perfect and we have to strive to achieve an ‘ideal’ depending on what society we live in? In the west people want to get darker and in the east people want to get fairer. It’s a shame really…

e're constantly told that out natural skin colour isn't perfect and we have to strive to achieve an 'ideal' depending on what society we live in? In the west people want to get darker and in the east people want to get fairer. It's a shame really...

True, in Pakistan the word 'kala' is banded around as something of a swear word. Appalling imo.

Features > Colour anyday

It is a shame, we are always trying to follow what the society deems ideal. I think we should all be happy with ourselves.

Another huge issue is having a perfect body. When a girl gains the slightest bit of weight she is told to diet and exercise in desi society. A women is expected to be perfect in so many aspects.

LOOOLLLL i think you'll find katrina is beautiful because shes mixed race! Ahhh but i'm just saying that LOL!

Nah kashimiri's are beautiful i dont know WHY but everytime i visit Bhams i see alot of little boys and girls with blue/green eyes. Which i assume are kashmiri/pathaan.

I think Konkana Sen is beautiful too and can't stand kathrina nor kareena. There are beautiful kashmiri's and there are some who isn't. And ppl who think kashimiri's are more beautiful, or kashimiri themself think they are more beautiful than others, where there is much weight layed on the reason of being more beautiful than any other ethnic group, is for me racism. Beauty is more than just being fairskinned, have a special kind of nose or being skinny.

And I would in the end agree with others; beauty is in the eyes of the beholder :) Allah Pak ki har banayi hui cheez aur insaan khoobsurat hai. :) Hum insaan hi na shukar hain, and we like to question everything that and thinking of "yeh aise hota to behtar hota" and that kind of soch.

Actually the first thing they say is if I am local (from Dubai or Emirati) then they tell me I am Persian and I tell them no and then I tell them originally from Pakistan so then they go to if I am Pathan. I tell them NO. Half memon and half Punjabi and that leaves them speechless :wink:

I dare you go to FATA area and say that out loud. I dare you.

vanessahud, here is a kicker to rub salt. Beautiful girls are also refereed as "kashmir ki kali" :)

kashmiri's are gorgeous but the women from peshawar...wow! they are stunning and so beautiful mashallah! with their gorgeous clear skins and light eyes. and women from hunza are beautiful...their rosy complexions etc.

oh, really? what does it mean?

oh yeah those women are gorgeous aswell!

Every race/ethnicity has beautiful, average, and unattractive people. As for Kashmiris, I think the reason why we’re so “famous” is because, on average, we tend to be fairer than people in India/Pakistan (you will rarely see very dark skinned Kashmiris). I think people outside Kashmir, who have had limited contact with Kashmiris, tend to exaggerate a lot too though. I’m always a little surprised when I hear Indians/Pakistanis describing what Kashmiris look like - in reality, all of us do not have milk white skin with blue eyes and blond hair (nor do all Afghans, Persians, Syrians, Turks, etc.). Like most people in Central Asia, most Kashmiris have olive/tan skin with brown eyes and dark hair:

That said, there are Kashmiris with red or brown hair (and rarely blond), with light eyes and essentially European features. It’s not suprising to see people like this…but its also not as common as some outside Kashmir seem to think.

i dont understand why anyone is talking about karishma and kareena kapoor sisters in this thread..they r NOT kashmiri at all..they r half pathan and half sindhi..they have nothing to do with kasmir..