whats happening with city names of india?

first bombay to mumbay
and most recently I started hearing
Kolkatta instead of calcuta

whats the logic or drive behind it?
one thing whoever changing these names aslo good in propogating and making sure its pronounced the new way across globe.

is dehli to be next?

what you think is it better to rename karachi is Kolachi???etc

Re: whats happening with city names of india?

i think dehli has been renamed.
it was first called Dilli.

Chanai was Madras

Ahmadabad should be changed to Ram Pur - it’s original name.

In Pakistan also, Let’s have Layl Pur back…Faisalabad is so sucky.

:jhanda:

calcutta is anglicized name of kolkata
same for mumbai
but chennai is another name for madras and does not seem to follow a logic.

i guess that these cities would have been better off with their old names. wats the point in changing them?? u get nothing out of it except some superego that the white man's influence is gone.. extends to muslim invaders in the case of ahmadabad/rampur.. all these attitudes suck...

there is a place in pak called haripur why not change that name to abdullahbad??? its doesnt make sense to change all these well-known names just for ego.. think of the costs involved...

some weird morons in desiland...

Faisalabad was developed by british - all its streets represents union jack. and clock tower in the middle. it was named after Lord Lyle of britain. it was named to Faisalabad - named after Late Kind Faisal of KSA same as Faisal Masjid islamabad.
its airport code is still LYL

there are some local areas of Lahore changed its names to new one as well - ie.
krishan nagar > Islam pura,
ram gali > rehman Gali
etc

it take quite some time to adopt to new names, in some cases it never called with new names but old ones.
example, all major roads in Lahore are renamed to quite long names and never able to call but only used in documents.
i.e,
Shahra-e - Qauid-e Azam but still called The Mall, Lahore or Mall road

Shahrah-e-Fatima Jinnah still called Queens Road.

same goes for davis, abbot road etc.

if they are changing names they should consider adoption for people as well. use some common sense too. Jinnah road or Fatima Jinnah Road make more sense than Shahrah-e-Fatima Jinnah,

the best on is shahrah-e-iwan-e- sannat- o-tijarat!!! who will use this name??

the along ganda nala link between jail and mall road called " Molana - zafar ali khan road!!!"

i think I am going of the topic, but still its linked to basic notion of changing names !!

Nankana Sahib - one of most holy town for Sikhs.
its name is not changed.

i think just because we get tourists from india and we dont want upset them! by changing their Guru named city.

just found out , its name was Talwandi and changed to Nankana Sahib , thats really to please Sikhs I guess.

All these name changes like said earlier is to remove all foreign names, i.e. (british) however some have remained, like Laxmi Chowk in LHE, etc..but after partition Guru Nanak university renamed to Islamic College, Bhai Pheru renamed to Phool Nagar :disgust:

50-B , agree,
But Islamia College always have been Islamia college- previous name and was built and run by Anjman Hamayat Islam!

they just pick some town or place, its not all change though.
Atchison, King edward college, queen Mary college, diyal singh college and library still with same name! same goes for Mayo, Gulab devi and Ganga Ram hospitals

Yeh tau naamoN kay saath Balat kaar ho rahaa hai :bummer:

:smack: :hehe:

Let each city call itself whatever the citizens want. Why is it a problem for some of you nuts here?

Yes ur right

18, #19

why dont you stay away from this.? with your most consutructive inputs!

thread was just about culture of changing city names? why and how they get changed.
its not a problem. not for anyone who cant think.

sure sure! it is your pure quest for cultural knowledge. enjoy.

^^ but it does interest you too though

wasn't Karachi called Kalachi at first? Or did someone give me the wrong info.

kalachi?? maybe thats how chinku ppl say it :D

Karachi was Kolachi jo goth (village of kolachi). Mai Kolachi (Mother Kolachi) was apparently the woman who settled here first.

^^^ so how many of you would like to have name reversed back to its roots?

Kolachi instead of Karachi,

I wouldnt prefer that.

Laxmi Chowk In Lahore - Boy Iv been there - we had a huge fight there .. My my it brings back memories!!