I don’t care if ali zafar or anybody goes to india for work .They’re artists they need money and fame. Good for him that he’s getting fame in india. But does that mean you become a total sell-out to indians? Recently ali zafar was invited in a tv talk show. I was surprised how much he has changed just after doing one flick in india. Don’t know what’s gone wrong with him but the way he was defending india and fabricating aman ki asha inspired stories that there was no negativity in indians against pakistanis and all that jazz…he came across as totally unrealistic…its one thing to be diplomatic( since he didn’t want to annoy his indian fans) but he was telling blatant lies. At a time when Pakistan has shown evidence of indina invovement in destablizing pakistan, our artists are being harrassed over there, their media is propagandizing against us ali is living in his own little world where the onlyting is cares about is his future.
I cant imagine that just for some indian bucks and popularity ,he would start criticizing his own country but never once would he say anyting against india. I’m not saying Pakistan is perfect we have our problems. However we can sort them out but no patriotic pakistani would start talking against his country just to defend india and get work over there. People like him are so scared of losing opportunities there that they can’t even state the truth that goes against indian interests. I used to like ali’s music but now I have lost all respect for him…he has turned out to be such a small person.
Gone are the days when artists were patriotic and had self-respect. A star like Madam Noor Jahan left her booming film career in india, migrated to Pakistan and started from scratch. She never complained once because she loved Pakistan.
Anyhow, here’s a link to the show…btw, mona liza ki bhi khoob class li gai hai is program mein. I’m not a fan of her so don’t care what crap she was talking about. Ali’s comments were more shocking to me because I always thought of him as a respectable person- somebody who cared for pakistan. However I’m disappointed by his hypocrisy.
I found nothing objectionable in whatever Ali Zafar/ Mona Liza said. They were asked if they came across any discrimination on their visits to India and both gave their honest views; they were treated with respect and hospitality. They weren't exactly going to lie to keep the Pakistani public happy were they?
I think relationship between Pakistan and India is on many different levels: the two Govt's have a strained on-off relationship, the public varies greatly on both sides in their opinion of one another and finally the arts-related people of both countries seem open to exchange and maintaining positive link.
Mona Liza is correct in her argument that her flesh-showing in an Indian film is nothing compared to the vulgar rain dances in lollywood & the skimpy attire of Pakistani ramp models. We should first address the main issues at home before we worry about why Ali Zafar has gone to India or why Mona Liza is wearing certain types of clothes.
I saw the talk show too. I was surprised, yet pleased, how all the callers had enough guts to tell Mona Liza at her face how disgusting she had been in her indian film considering the fact she is a muslim, to the point that she had to admit the fact that the movie has some quite "bold" scenes. Someone really needed to remind her that "body exposure" is not allowed in islam; (please don't start a religious thing in this thread to argue about this; Allah clearly in the Qur'an orders believing women to cover).
As for Ali's part, I won't say anything right now as I haven't watched his movie yet.
saw parts of it the other day and I didn't find Ali Zafar saying anything controversial. Maybe he said something that I didn't watch. From the parts I saw, he was trying to be diplomatic.
Don't care for Mona Liza. Acting opposite Himesh is actually kind of sad and funny and no great achievemtn since Himesh cannot act LOL Her movie is going to flop anyways no matter how much or little skin she shows.
At least Ali Zafar did a movie that has a message and is presented well.
I thought mona lisa wasn't muslim? But regardless how one practices their religion shouldn't affect anyone else
And ali zafar is doing a job...frankly the indian media has accepted him more as a pakistani then the pakistani govt has.....he is very patriotic and he's representing pakistan in the second largest film industry of the world so kudos to him
Ok you know what pakistani ppl have issues. And mona lisa is right, why would you fingers at somethign she did that wasnt even done in pakistan, its a bollywood movie and has nothign to do with her being muslim or not. Why dont the public take a stand against the disgusting punjabi movies, or the dirty stage shows that take place in pakistan. Im sure they can someone prevent from such movie being aired in their local areas or such events having in locals areas. Why are you ok with our designers showing girls literly naked on the ramp but we point fingers at a girl for showing skin infornt of the whole nation and embarassing her? that also is not so islamic in my opinion. We pakistanis need to stop judgeing each others iman and start working on ours. Everyone has the choice to follow their religon whoever they please to. And as far as Ali zafar goes he is just trying to point out to the world what really is happenng around political wise. We should start accepting our faults now, its about time.
jeez were such unappriciative society i dont knwo how people in pakistan expect for things to get better when we dont wana work on it.
When kamran talked about why Indian government and British Prime Minister
said unsubstantial things about Pakistan, both ali and mona tried to avert the questions and defended indians. They did a good job I must say.
When asked about facing discrimination in india, ali changed his statements twice 'mujhe koi taasub nahi hua' to 'mujhe kuch taasub hua' he contradicted himself.
Ali and mona have gone to india for their own personal interests they should stop talking about peace and all that jazz to defend themselves because this argument has no weight. India is hostile towards Pakistan and these people are busy pursuing their own goals which are not in alignment with reality. If they were dying to work there, they could have waited for an appropriate time.
In this regard, Shan has much more character than all these people. He was also offered many films in india but he refused because of the Babri mosque tragedy. No wonder he has much more respect than all these people.
Firstly, it was stupid to ask two Pakistani actors about the political & religious issues in India when neither of them lived there long-term nor was any of their work related to it all.
Secondly, neither of them were promoting peace/ on peace missions - they were asked how they were treated there and they basically replied accordingly.
Finally that whole Shaan and Babri mosque thing is complete fabrication. He was offered a negative role in Ghajini by Amir Khan & Shaan rejected the role as he didn't want to disappoint his fans. On the other hand, Ali Zafar & Mona Liza both got lead roles and their characters in the films are Pakistani too. Ali Zafar isn't desperate like Adnan Sami, he entered the Indian film industry on his own terms and from what I heard so far he has acted well.
The message is clear. Either Pakistanis develop and support their own movie making machinery by kicking out the garbage that has resulted in the talent drain from Pakistan to across the border -- or thsi will happen. Film making is not rocket science and it's a feasible profession in so many countries of the world. The reason it's not working in Pakistan is because the trash that has been turned out over the last 60 years has alienated the audiences -- it will take A LOT of hard work to get them back, and those awful song and dance routines shot by Javed Sheikh in Swaziland won't do the trick.
If our film makers are not prepared to take the risk and put in the hard work (and the money too), then the artistes WILL look for whatever better avenues they can get to showcase their work, just as Mona Liza and Ali Zafar have done.
Firstly, it was stupid to ask two Pakistani actors about the political & religious issues in India when neither of them lived there long-term nor was any of their work related to it all.
Secondly, neither of them were promoting peace/ on peace missions - they were asked how they were treated there and they basically replied accordingly.
Finally that whole Shaan and Babri mosque thing is complete fabrication. He was offered a negative role in Ghajini by Amir Khan & Shaan rejected the role as he didn't want to disappoint his fans. On the other hand, Ali Zafar & Mona Liza both got lead roles and their characters in the films are Pakistani too. Ali Zafar isn't desperate like Adnan Sami, he entered the Indian film industry on his own terms and from what I heard so far he has acted well.
lol Shaan was offered negative role by amir khan in ghajini
can u please give me a link for this news
Look, you guys need to grow up and realize that you don't own the actors body and they will do whatever they are asked to do e.g. shoot intimate scenes, "expose" etc. It's what the profession is about and compared to european, latin and american cinema, our actors are very, very prude.
"Instep: You were offered the title role in Aamir Khan’s Ghajini, but you turned it down.
Shaan: Well, I didn’t like the fact that they offered the villain’s part to a Pakistani actor when they could’ve gotten 10,000 actors in India to play the role. I put this question to Aamir Khan also. But all he could say was that he had seen my work and liked it and that Ghajini was a great role, blah blah blah."
In this same interview he expresses his dismay at being offered small roles in films. In other words he wishes to work in India but the role has to be substantial.