What’s your obsession with Indian films/songs?

Shouldn’t you be promoting our entertainment instead?

What the hell is wrong with you lot even arseholes who think they are patriotic Pakistanis know more about Bollywood than Indians.

If you want quality entertainment listen to Junoon, NFAK, Paki-Pop, watch Paki Drama serials, I admit our films are a bit crappy and lame but they are improving and need our support, maybe our directors wont be so desperate then and cut down on the nanganess a bit.

Indian films are **** anyway, same story, same sort of music, no variety.

Our script and music is much better than them but we do need some serious attention on the acting, directing and recording side.

Those who have taste in Pakistan totally avoid Indian stuff. Go to the elite institutions, where Bollywood/Trashwood is totally TABOO.

And how do you feel about Indians liking Pakistani dramas and pop songs? Maybe they should quit too after all they should be more patriotic.

*Originally posted by Hum Sa Ho To Samne Aaye: *
And how do you feel about Indians liking Pakistani dramas and pop songs? Maybe they should quit too after all they should be more patriotic.

You miss the point. Do you see half naked women gyrating their butts in Pakistani dramas? Or do we find cheesy lyrics relating to 'babujees' and 'cholees' in Pakistan music? It's about quality, not patriotism!!

Err yea and Pakistani movies have women in burqahs. Wake up.

And for your kind information, I'm listening to a Naseebo Lal song right now (who most Pakistani hate) but I still listen to Pakistani music cuz I enjoy it knowing it's from my country. Lemme share the lyrics though :)

Meri phulaaN wali kurti
Haey wekhya tay tang vay

And let's not go beyond that now. Lemme know when the "standard" goes up for Pakistani movies and I'll start watching them. Btw, I'm not a fan of Indian movies however if you're being so patriotic, tell the Pakistani actors to stop panting like eager puppies at every Indian movie director they meet. If they aren't being patriotic, why do you expect people to do so?

^^ Dude you're misisng the point AGAIN. Fine you pointed out one song of Naseebo Lal. But we are not talking about Pakistani movies here dude, nor are we talking about Pakistani movie music. Whats in question is Pakistani maisntream music, of which the film music is NOT a part of [how many Pakistani film based music albums sell in Pakistan? Go figure]....and as far as Pakistani mainstream music is concerned, its of a far superior quality where the lyrics, compositions etc. are concerned. It doesn't even matter. You can continue listening to your NAseebo Lals and it wouldnt really change the dynamics of mainstream Pakistani music. And lastly, let me point it out to you again before you get all excited: its NOT about patriotism!

What Pakistani actors do is their business. Stick to the topic at hand.

Okay sticking to the topic, I think Indian ghazals and pop songs are awesome. Phir? Everyone has their own taste dude. Some of Indian dramas have been nice too.
I'm the biggest fan of Vital Signs and Junaid Jamshed and I know most pakistani pop songs by heart but I like Euphoria, Bally Sagoo and Stereo Nation as well. Anyway, singers like Sajjad Ali, Strings, Adnan Sami are collaborating with Indian singers to come with fantastic new material. How can you expect us to avoid that?

Anyway, singers like Sajjad Ali, Strings, Adnan Sami are collaborating with Indian singers to come with fantastic new material.

perhaps they do so because they know that is what the public wants anyway? anything Indian or semi-Indian and they'll lap it up. so they say why not try and make an easy buck or two. IMO, Adnan Sami made much better music when he was in Pakistan simply because of the type of music that our industry makes but did he get te recognition he deserved? No. Does he have that kind of recognition in India AND Pakistan now? Yes, even more I'd say. Is he making better music? I don't think so. I've heard a couple of his "hot" tracks and they're not original at all.

IMO, this issue is much bigger than just media, entertainment and the Indian influence. We as a nation suffer from a huge inferiority complex in practically every walk of life. Being able to speak English is still a status sysbol 55+ years after the depature of the Brits. Obviously being fluent in languages is the sign of a learned man but if only fluency in English is worth anything, it means we have a complex wrt English and anyone or anything remotely English.

Just look at your average rich, spoit kid in a Islamabad/Karachi/Lahore school, he'll do his utmost to absolutely shun anything remotely Pakistani. He doesn't want to have anything to do with Pakistan and wants to get out as soon as possible. This is just one example and probably an extreme one anyway.

It is this sort of selfhating mentality that permeates the vast majority of Pakistani society. They want to turn towards something else, anything, just as long as they know that they're not partaking in or supporting anything Pakistani. And Indian movies, songs just happen to fill the vacuum nicely because they're easy to understand because of language issues and so on. If Pakistani people understood Tamil easily, they'd watch/hear/support Tamil media. If they understood Chinese, they'd support them but not Urdu music, drama etc under any condition.

why do you think someone like Qazi Wajid is struggling financially these days? would you say he's not a good actor? nonsense. he's one of the best actors I have ever seen anywhere. Would you say that NFAK was not just as amazing before he went to India? Nonsense again. But once he'd gotten the "Been to some other country apart from Pakistan" stamp, we readily accepted him and hailed him as a great musician when nobody even knew who he was before.

btw, Humsa, I don't think confetti and zakii are talking about you for example. You said you appreciate any good music, movie etc regardless of where it is from which is fine. I don't do that and I have my reasons for that. what confetti and zakii are talking about is people who don't know who Junaid Jamshed is but know the birthdate of every B-grade playback singer who sang for Indian movies in the 60s.

Look, >90% of the album sales in your neighbouring country, which you're getting so jumpy about, are Bollywood film based albums. It's not about personal prefernces, it's about what is percieved as the typical Indian music - which IS Bollywood, and NOT ghazals. If you even talk of Ghazals, Pakistani singers like Nayyara Noor Mehdi Hassan and Noor Jehaan basically set the trend for Ghazal 'gaayeki' in the subcontinent, which may now be followed by your Indian compatriots. However, when I talk about maisntream Pakistani music, I'm talking about the popular music forms - and here we have had very successful experiments with introducing ghazal, sufi and other tasteful elements into the mainstream music...that's what Pakistani music is and always will be: Superior in quality, whether you talk about compositions or music. Case closed.

But that would be the mazdoor tabqa? I know these "spoilt" kids personally (not all ofcourse) and if they shun Pakistani stuff, they shun it for western media, not Indian. Infact Indian stuff is considered as "cheap" as Pakistani.

Btw, I do like Adnan Sami's new songs. They're a lil filmi but pretty catchy.

Yes Paksitani suffer from a huge complex. To get out of it, the marketing needs to be improved ALOT. We need to market our own products. There's nothing wrong with liking music from another country, as long as you are aware of the music from your own. I hadn't really realized that there are people who like Rafi but dont know squat about JJ or Junoon. Who are these people?

And confettiguy, did you just post here to force ur opinion down others throat? No the case isn't closed because everyone's opinion is different. Chill out cuz I'm not getting jumpy.

*Originally posted by confettiguy: *
Look, >90% of the album sales in your neighbouring country, which you're getting so jumpy about, are Bollywood film based albums. It's not about personal prefernces, it's about what is percieved as the typical Indian music - which IS Bollywood, and NOT ghazals.

absolutely correct. even Sonu Nigam said as much when he was on Geo. according to him there is no scope for pop albums in India and filmi music is the way to go. now, I don't know anything about their pop or filmi scene anyway. but this is what Nigam said himself.

But that would be the mazdoor tabqa?

Isa Khailvees and Naseebo Lals rule the roost in that segment.....

We need to market our own products. There's nothing wrong with liking music from another country, as long as you are aware of the music from your own.

I feel we tend to over-patronise music/media of other countries. And doing that we tend to dis what our own, and in most of the cases, it turns out that our stuff is far, far superior.....

Sambralian, You're right, Pakistanis are
in a terribly complexed state of mind....anything 'phaaren' is OK which is so SAD.

*And confettiguy, did you just post here to force ur opinion down others throat? No the case isn't closed because everyone's opinion is different. Chill out cuz I'm not getting jumpy.

Yeah. Like getting my point across after 4 posts, and you're not jumpy...hehe well, I aint posting claryfying my previous posts, including this one....case closed!!

To be honest, I do love the Indian music from the 60s and 70s. But then again, I also enjoy Alamgir and Nazia Hassan. As for quality, that's kinda diminishing in the sub-continent as a whole. The kids these days are crazy about Fuzon etc but they don't appeal to me like Vital Signs did. Maybe I'm just getting old. And as for the more current Bollywood songs, some are good, most are crap.

No man, case isn't closed ;-)

As for quality, that's kinda diminishing in the sub-continent as a whole. The kids these days are crazy about Fuzon etc but they don't appeal to me like Vital Signs did. Maybe I'm just getting old.

Yeah, you're definitely getting old. :D

I don't know about the rest of the subcontinent but I know Pak music is doing pretty well. I'm the biggest fan of VS there ever was. And Fuzon sounds pretty good to a huge VS fan such as myself. Their music is a little more "intense" than the Signs' stuff but they're incredibly talented. IMO, they're biggest thing out of Pakistan since the Signs themselves.

^ No no, I'm the biggest VS fan. Please, let's not argue over that. I'm so loyal to them that anything else sounds crap now :D

Artists have every right to goto India, if they are good, they deserve it. To the brainiacs suggesting artists not making enough money in Pakistan and struggling financially, that has nothing to do with anything, didnt Mehdi Hassan goto India, and still cant pay for his medical expenditures? Infact, India vouched to help him financially with that. Those giving JJ's example, you would be dissapointed to know the even he went to India to launch an album. Also, those who imigrate to other countries leaving Pakistan should not attack 'the spoilt boys and girls' in Pakistan.

Patah nahee logoon ki hawa kyoon nikalti hai when artists goto India. Right now, the sound mixing facilities they have are much much better than ours, but our artists still throw out some top notch stuff. And yes, sitaroon se agay jahaan aur bhi hain, India is not the only ground they should reach out too, there is more that lies ahead!

Support your Pakistani artists, no matter where they perform! And yes, Fuzon has plans for India too! I hope they do good.

Exactly! Im surprised to find so many loyal Indian fans dedicated to Mehdi Hassan, Sabri Brothers, Junoon, Nazia etc... It would be a shame to let them down.

^ No no, I'm the biggest VS fan.

that's not possible. please refer to my earlier post to find the biggest VS fan ever. :-)