US Marines observe a moment of silence for the innocent people killed in the war in Afghanistan, during the opening ceremony of the US embassy in the Afghan capital of Kabul
A U.S. Army captain from Fort Bragg, N.C., identified only as Herb, distributes writing books Dec. 17 to Afghan children in a school in the northern Afghan city of Mazar-e-Sharif
Joining the game
An unidentified U.S soldier rides horseback, with a dead goat also on the horse, during a traditional game of “buzkashi” near Mazar-e-Sharif in northern Afghanistan on Dec. 18. In the game, a headless goat or calf carcass is placed in the center of a circle and surrounded by horsemen from two opposing teams. The object of the game is to take control of the carcass and carry it to the scoring area.
Is saadfi pay kon na mar jaey aa Khuda
Lartay hain aur haath main talwar bhi nahin
Am not being cynical here…but this is plain old BS pals! Ask the soldier who is distributing books, that its his hands who have silenced the hands of the teacher who might otherwise have performed the same service. Ain’t it? Moment of silence…for what? I mean they should be rejoicing at the number of their kills during the war, aint it? The solider in the last pic is more like the soldiers we have come to expect from our dear American Saviours…he seems to be laughing at the Afghans in the backdrop than at anything else.
Apologies, if i have heard anybody’s feelings here-but that’s that folks!
Destinee and Khanzada, you two are hypocrites, plain and simple. On the one hand you criticize all that is American, on the other, you probably watch hollywood movies, wear clothes designed by Americans (Levis, etc), may own American Cars, listen to music by American bands, may even live in America, I could go on forever. If you truly believed that America is evil, why your posts very clearly reflect, you would condemn everything American, otherwise you're hypocrites.
I'm not saying that the USA is perfect, but the people here are good, the intentions are good, what do you know what these soldiers are thinking or going through, how dare you make these harsh judgements about them.
Originally posted by aahmed:
**Destinee and Khanzada, you two are hypocrites, plain and simple. On the one hand you criticize all that is American, on the other, you probably watch hollywood movies, wear clothes designed by Americans (Levis, etc), may own American Cars, listen to music by American bands, may even live in America, I could go on forever. If you truly believed that America is evil, why your posts very clearly reflect, you would condemn everything American, otherwise you're hypocrites.
I'm not saying that the USA is perfect, but the people here are good, the intentions are good, what do you know what these soldiers are thinking or going through, how dare you make these harsh judgements about them.
Grow up.**
Yeaha, these soldiers are better... atleast better than those afghan soldiers who killed their muslim brothers cruelly. If afghans don't have mercy for themselves, their own people and those foreign soldiers who risk their lives to help them defeat Russia than they don't deserve sympathy from anyone else in this world.
Four-year-old Suleiman Shah, son of a local employee of the US embassy, holds an American flag dressed in western clothes while a group of US Marines stand in the background at the opening ceremony of the embassy in the Afghan capital of Kabul. The US embassy in Kabul opened after 12 years, raising the same flag that was taken down from the same flag pole on 30 January 1989, when the embassy closed
I know the intentions of some of the service men in America. They are not all out for the blood of the Afgan people. It is right to say…how do we know what is the thoughts are of these particular soldiers. To say that it is propaganda is wrong. Bush reading stories to children for Christmas at his home and having it televised is propaganda. Some of the soldiers going to Afganistan are fighting to give the Afgan people the right to live by choice, or at least that is what they believe to be true. In other words, some went there with good intentions. Not to get thier pictures taken. There are many that believe that America can eventually help those people and are very excited at a chance to learn from them. Maybe some of these soldiers actually enjoy parts of the culture and are having thier hearts softened by the smile of a child…do you think that is impossible. Maybe, being in Afganistan…will change them…isn’t that what we want? Peace and understanding. Please do not be so critical and open your minds and hearts. Maybe..it is true..maybe I am wrong..but do not discriminate against an entire race, because of some bad examples. Love, Peace and Happiness..to all Guppies
Originally posted by aahmed:
*Destinee and Khanzada, you two are hypocrites, plain and simple. On the one hand you criticize all that is American, on the other, you probably watch hollywood movies, wear clothes designed by Americans (Levis, etc), may own American Cars, listen to music by American bands, may even live in America, I could go on forever. If you truly believed that America is evil, why your posts very clearly reflect, you would condemn everything American, otherwise you're hypocrites.
janab, what i meant was that I dont trust US government and the way they're using these helpless Afghanies! YES, they ARE using them, they're playing with their feelings...
America wanted to take over Afghanistan and it supported afghans and Taliban to push out Russians from there by giving them weapons and stuff!! Everyone knows that!!
Now that Taliban ran away, they have a golden chance of taking over Afghanistan. They just want to win these people's "good feelings" about themselves so that they can take over that country. they're not gonna get out of there now... everyone will see...
And i was just pointing at US government not their movies and music and stuff!!! i hate the us government and that is what i meant... it doesnt mean that i start hating other stuff there too!!! and i DONT have a craze of english movies anyways...
Destiny grants us our wishes, but in its own way
in order to give us something beyond our wishes
I agree with both destinee and "undonebyone".
probably a lot of soldeirs there are with good intentions but still we can't ignore the evil ones either.
(to destinee)
an american journalist Eric S. Margolis wrote in his book "war at the top of the world" in chapter "the great jihad" about USA's treatment of afghans
"The Islamic revolution had served its purpose, atleast for the United States. Once the Soviets had been driven from Afghanistan, and the threat to the oil-rich Gulf accordingly removed, Washington cut of all arms and money to the mujhaidien. The islamic warriors who had been America's ally and surrogate army, were now denounced as "islamic terrorists." The United States and Soviet Union/Russia quietly joined forces to combat the spread of political islam. The evil Muslim genie was to be put back in its bottle."
Try this math problem: “A Kalashnikov bullet travels at 800 meters per second. A mujahed has the forehead of a Russian in his sights 3,200 meters away. How many seconds will it take the bullet to hit the Russian’s forehead?” Or how about this one: “A group of mujahedin kill 178 out of 3,560 enemy soldiers in battle. What percentage of the enemy have they killed?” No, these aren’t gags—they’re actual lessons from a fourth grade textbook still in use in Afghanistan.
thats what their nature is. here is an old hindu prayer
"oh, Lord Shiva, save us from the claw of the tiger, the fang of the cobra, and the vegeance of the Afghans"
Old Hindu Prayer
Originally posted by gooni_2000:
**dream come true...!
But i do not agree with all the talk about Propaganda...!! you cannot judge someone's intentions like that ...! **
This word propaganda is mainly used and applied in wars (biggest propaganda war -->WII)and these soldiers just dummies.
The main characters are sitting in Washington.
Propaganda department is under their control (+ Media).
Hope that helps to understand what I mean.
“na maiN* momin vich masiitaa*N, na maiN* muusaa, na fir'aun!”