What would you do…?

I have this friend of mine, who knows this guy just from chat and MSN. They’ve been chatting for quite a while now and they know each other pretty well. But now, the Mr. Y wants to meet Ms X. Alright, don’t go thinking they like each other or anything, Mr. Y thinks of Ms X as a sister. And I know that girl, she’s not stupid enough to like someone on the net, while she is here and the guy is in Pakistan. Thing is, he is not well and doesn’t have long to live, so he says and wants to meet my friend as he is just coming to London for like 2 days. My friend is a very religious person and it’s a big no, no for her to meet some total stranger. But he’s not exactly a stranger as he tells her mostly everything.

She’s sort of a person who doesn’t chat to guys on the net, apart from family, but this one she’s got to know well and she’s sort of agony aunt personality, she’s always helpful to people in giving advice and stuff. Well, now he wants to meet her, and there’s no way that she wants to meet him, but she doesn’t want to be guilty if anything happens to him. Right, that’s only what I know, errrrmmm, and she asked me and I don’t have a clue what to say to her.

I was just hoping that some of the mature guppies would help me out here, should she go and meet the guy without letting her parents know? Another thing she’s not only trusted by her parents but by most of her neighbours aswell. As they see her as one of the naik girls. Keeping in mind all that, she doesn’t want to loose her parent’s trust. But she doesn’t want to be guilty incase anything happens to Mr. Y.
Ok, I wanna know people’s opnions, nothing offensive, just what you think she should do in such a situation. It would be a great help. I want replies soon, Thanx people.

• ** Tujeh **Hum du Sana zaiba hai Piyaray, kay ** Tu ** ne kaam sub meray saNwaray *

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

hmm i dont meet anyyyone , no matter how much i know someone on the internet. and if i was her..i wudnt meet him.. no matter if he tells everything or not. i wudnt want to risk losing my parents’ trust at all

which is more important to me than anything i guess.

ai ajnabi tu bhee kabhee awaaz dai kahee say…

Originally posted by Bismah:
*Well, now he wants to meet her, and there’s no way that she wants to meet him, but she doesn’t want to be guilty if anything happens to him.

What is going to happen to him?

she should tell'm to grow up.

** Wadi ** Your point is ...?
** suroor_ca02 ** Thats exactly what I said to her, but than she said what something happens to him.

** aaishA ** let's just say he has an uncurable disease.

she has to choose what’s more important to her

as for his illness.. just pray for him..whatever he has may God bless him with recovery and good health again..Ameen.

ai ajnabi tu bhee kabhee awaaz dai kahee say…

No point in meeting, she can provide the same support via online. It will further complicate things for her and him. Its best to leave it be . . .

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

It is difficult to say what is impossible, for the dream of yesterday is the hope of today and the reality of tomorrow.

Bismah, if this guy has an incurable disease, then whether or not she meets him has nothing to do with what is going to "happen to him".

If she's so religious and doesn't talk to guys etc., then how did she start talking to this guy in such a regular basis?

If this "relationship" is completely innocent, if she is like a sister to him, then how come she hid this from everyone? Because from your post, I got the impression that her family has no clue about this. If I knew a guy(even on the internet) whom I talked to regularly and knew that he had an incurable disease and cared for him like a sister, I'd have no problem telling my family about this unfortunate "brother".

Why on earth does this guy want to meet her? Why doesn't she want to meet him? I mean, if she's not comfortable meeting him alone for whatever reason, why doesn't she take one(or a few) of her friends with her and all of them can see him at a public place?

Ms X and Mr Y should spend less time on the web and more time with Mr Z in bed or out and about meeting people face to face.

[This message has been edited by Thap (edited August 10, 2002).]

yeah yeah…we know you got married, now how about giving some useful advice

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

[This message has been edited by SaadiaB (edited August 10, 2002).]

I think Mr Y has no reason to meet Ms X and Ms X is not obliged to meet him. Abt feeling guilt and all..I don’t see why.

[This message has been edited by google (edited August 10, 2002).]

I seriously doubt mr y is dying. I mean come on, how cheesy is that, "I'm dying, I wanna meet you".

Even if he IS dying, why does he want to meet her? For what purpose? And I agree with Lost, why hasn't the girl told her parents about this totally innocent relationship? Arghh, too many questions, someone is not telling the truth. Nothing good can come of this.

Originally posted by aahmed:
**I seriously doubt mr y is dying. I mean come on, how cheesy is that, "I'm dying, I wanna meet you".

I agree.

This is what came to my mind aswell..

this is going to sound rude....tell her to go ghaib from her usual hang places on the net..poof disappear! he ll get the hint..

• Uniform ideas originating among entire peoples unknown to each other must have a common ground of truth..*

If Mr X truely likes Ms Y as a sister of his, why would he do anything that may hurt her now or in the future. I would think his true sisterly love would prevent him from asking of her something that she is not neccessarily capable of.

Now on the other hand, if this is a more normal chat setup and its not all fine and dandy brotherly/sisterly love, then may be if she really wants to, may meet him at an open and very social place where he and she would be chatting like you would to a passer by for a couple of mins. That in itself should be sufficient for each person to "see" the other person in real life. It could be like outside a store or whatever else there.

If you ask me it's really stupid to meet someone you don't know in reallife.

cut the crap yaar…if shes attracted to him and not facing it,its a totally new ball game..so tell her to look for answers within herself.If she is attracted to the chap then she needs to face the tune,and face responsibility for any consequence.
It depends from person to person.
personally I wouldnt meet the guy without taking my family into confidence.
Hope all turns out well.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

cut the crap yaar

This is what I meant Bismah

Kudos to her for keeping her morals......altho' chattin on the net is rather vague!!!!

I think she should meet him. She should take a feeind along as a chaperone! PERFECT!!!
There is nothing wrong in the guy wanting to meet her. he lives in pakistan.....its a big deal for him to be comming to England. He will only be here for a short while, He'd like to meet his mentor. I see nothing wrong in that.
Although I do find the 'short time to live' story rather lame (in the absence of more medical facts). But I am only a mere doubting human!
Let her meet him...and you can go with her.

Its not that a big deal.
She speaks to the bus conductor every day doesn't she....or the newspaper shop man, etc. without guilt.