what would you do?

Re: what would you do?

Not really. And If I did want to (very little chance) I would ask somebody who knows me. When you ask others for advice instead of figuring out what to do yourself, it shows weakness of character. Can't spend your entire life, doing what other people 'advise' you to do. Like this thread starter. Why can't she use her common sense to figure out what's the best solution? She's asking for 'advice' hoping someone tells her to do, the thing she's reluctant to do, because she knows it's wrong.

If you read the thread, she said earlier that she is not hoping for someone to tell her its ok to do what she is reluctant to do.
She is looking for opinions about what people would do... not exactly asking for advice, but trying to see all the opinions that might help her make a decission.

But why do our opinions, and what we would do, help her solve her problem? Everyone is different. Different upbringing, different mindset, etc. If I brought a extremely religious person, and a not-so-religious person wouldn't they give two completely different opinions? Succeeding only in confusing her even more. She should do what SHE thinks is right. Not what WE think is right.

^Your words are dripping arrogance. Everyone is different right? You think others' advice/opinions should not be taken into consideration. She thinks these advices/opinions are worth considering and hence, she asked. Accept this difference and let her be.

I was thinking this exact same thing. That Allah is testing me. We'll see how I do in this test, inshaAllah I will make the right decision.

I totally agree with you that a person can't be half. I've tried telling him that and speaking to him about that, but he is convinced that he can be. he keeps saying that he is/was a Muslim and no one can take that away from him.

I agree with you completely, having half of anything i just more confusing, especially with religions so different. Having a practicing father makes life so much better for the children. the father is the back bone of the family afterall. i'm trying to convince of him this thinking. he thinks that bc he doesnt practice and i do, my religion will eventually make the most impression. but if the parents are confused, the kids will definitely be.

Princess jojo and others, thanks for saying nice things. but people like niceusername are just plain trolls and enjoy egging people on. let them be. i just glance over their responses. obviously they care about their opinion enough to say something :)

This forum is about all these topics and stuff... is it not?

Thanks! i couldnt have said it any better

by now i think the OP knows what is a must...i.e...guy become muslim or she leave him..........yet the guy keeps making lame excuses.....its not very difficult when you have 2 options....it can't get simpler than that..

its very easy to give advice/opinions when youre not anywhere near that situation. its not as easy when youre living it.

..... ummm .....i think u should marry the 30 year old docter ... cuz if u marry this hindu guy a lot of things will go wrong ... i dunnu about your family .. but most muslim families would never agree to that .. and even if some parents agree .. they kick the girl outa the house 4ever . so my best advise would be .. that u shouldn't marry the hindu guy . I also see it from your perpective too ... i knwo it's hard when u fall in luv soo bad .... but just think about it .... if u marry this guy .. i don't think your parents would be too happy.. 2nd what about your kids?... how will u raise them .. and so many kids get spoiled this way too. i mean it's your life no one can tell u what to do .. ... u can do anythin u want that makes happy .... and if this guy is your happiness .. then go ahead.. but b4 u do that just think about all the things that could happen later on in your life .. and how this can effect the people around you ... maybe right now u don't see the down side to it .... But whats the garantee that you will never feel Regretful ever in your life time ? ... and if this guy really really loves you for reall ... then why can 't he accept islam religion ... if he really loves then why can't he sacrafice anythin from his side ... why do u have to sacrafice to be together ? ..... al i see is that your ready to sacrafice everything and his not doin anythin . How does all this really prove he really loves you? .. i mean if he actually really really loves you .. then he would accept your religion without thinking about anything else. Anywayz .. this was my opinion ...just think about it .. discuss it with some of your friends and what ever you feel is the best ... do that .

VERY True.... .. but when there are so many ppl tellin u the right thing .. maybe u should consider that too.

well all people giving advice here are doing the 'easy advice/opinions' as you put it...
not to offend u....but i was just saying the gist of what everyone has suggested you...based on your own input....

the difficult decision is yours to make.....but people have given all the input they could give....

either...you believe the guy...compromise your stance....
............ask him to fulfill your conditions
............marry someone else.

jotting down of options is only to help the decision maker see the choices clearly.......

first of, i didnt mean to offend anyone, im asking for opinions so i cant get upset or offended myself for them.

he did convert to Islam, he does say that he will pray with us in family gatherings and stuff. hes asking for me to have some leeway for the title of the kids. he even says he isnt going ot teach the kids any thing from hinduism except for how to better oneself, and he doenst think his parents will either. but he does want the title to be half and half for the sake of his parents, since hes the only child.

so he is giving something, but i will hvae to give something too.

he is making some great strides to show me how he can practice Islam, but i dont know how long it will last or what. this is nuts. i cnat believe im in this predicament

Sounds like he's willing to raise the kids as Muslims....but in front of his parents, he wants to call them Hindu. While his intentions are good, that doesn't work. He will not be able to continue deceiving his parents for too long.

Question you need to ask your BF:

1) What will he do when the kids are old enough to talk and MENTIONS to his parents about going to the masjid, doing namaz etc?? His parents aren't stupid. If he's telling the parents that the children are "hindu", and yet when the parents are around the children and eventually realize that the kids are being raised as Muslim (and believe me this WILL happen once the kids are old enough to talk), what will your BF do then?

Things for YOU to consider:

1) I know a few "mixed religion" couples. This only works if both the people are not too religious. They either teach the kids about BOTH religions, or they focus on raising the kids more as a spiritual person rather the focusing on one religion.

2) In order for this marriage to work, you can never bash or say anything negative about Hinduism to your kids. Whether or not your BF believes in it....if it ever appears that you're saying anything negative about Hindus (ie. his parents) to the children, it WILL cause problems in the marriage. Ask yourself if you can do this.

3) Since your BF is the only son, his children will also be their only grandchildren. Your BF has no way of knowing how will parents will be once they have grandkids. So let's imagine the following scenario (which is a real possibility): Your BF tells his parents the kids are "Hindu". But you're raising them as "Muslims" in your house. Once the kids are a few years old (or older), all of a sudden his parents become religious. When you(and the kids) go over there, his parents want to take the grandchild to the mandir for pooja. How will your BF and you handle that? I'm not an expert on Hinduism but I'm sure they have certain religious ceremonies for newborn babies too (just like Muslims have aqeeka). So IF his parents want to perform those ceremonies for their first "Hindu" grandchild, what will your BF tell them?

4) Following the above fictional scenario, are YOU willing to allow his parents to perform religious ceremonies or allow them to take your kids to the mandir or other religious events? Are you willing to deal with the major conflict that will arise IF you say "no" in the above scenario? If push comes to shove, once there are children involved in the marriage, do you honestly believe your BF (then husband) will choose your "side" over his parents?

5) Are your parents and his parents willing to meet? Well, if you BF wants to tell his parents the kids are "hindu" as a lie....does he expect your parents and your side of the family to keep up the "lie" if/when they meet his parents? I'm assuming if you two get married, there will be many family events where BOTH sides attending.

6) Last Q for you: Why are you in a rush to get married asap? Why is the choice between your BF or the 30 year old doctor? Why can't you say "no" to the doctor (since you don't like him).......try to see if you and your BF can actually make this work....and meanwhile your parents can try to see if they can find you another Muslim rishta that you might actually like?

I'm not saying whether or not you should marry the Hindu BF.....I'm saying that I believe there are many things you and him have not talked about. And since you seem to be adamant that the kids be raised as Muslims, there are many possible scenarios you and him need to talk about and REALISTICALLY decide what your true views are on religion and kids.

You also need to consider #3 and #4 seriously. As my parents get older, they're becoming more religious. I can honestly say that my parents are more religious now than they were 5 years ago. Same situation with my SO's parents. His parents are more religious now than they were years ago. When you involve children in the picture, that can also change things (ie. grandparents wish to pass on their knowledge to their grandchildren). Your BF's parents may not be practicing Hindus right now.....but you and your BF need to decide what will happen if down the road they actually do become practicing Hindus and actually start caring about the religion of their grandchild.

tears :'( tht was soo amazing!!!

Please refer to my above post. The issue is not how his parents are right now or were in the past.....the issue is the FUTURE. As I mentioned before, both my parents and my SO's parents have become religious as they get older. Your BF has not way of knowing 100% sure that years from now his parents will not become religious and start attending temple etc. What you and him need to discuss and come to agreement is that IF his parents do become religious and want to get their "hindu" grandchild involved in religious activities....what will your BF do at that time.

BTW, since his parents do have pictures (or statues) of their Hindu gods in their house....when your kids ask you or your BF WHY the grandparents have the hindu gods in their house and you don't......how will you explain it to them? What answer will you(and your BF) give to the kids that doesn't reflect negatively on the Hindu grandparents and their beliefs?

Again....I'm trying to get you(and your BF) to start thinking about the future and the questions from the children you WILL have to answer if you go the route suggested by your BF (ie. tell his parents the kids are Hindu but in reality raising them as Muslims).