What would you do if you were told you're dying?

We all know its going to come, but somehow we never really realize what that means, sometimes not even when it hits us. Years ago when I hadn’t seen that many deaths in close family, I used to think ppl forgive and forget everything, everyone wants to be there with you and tell you how much they love you. Somehow I’d assume that it would be easier for you to leave your loved ones behind, knowing that others will take care of them. Maybe cultures have changed too much or we’ve started hurting each other on a level that can’t be forgotten or forgiven even when you know you’re dying.

I’m so surprised, or rather disappointed today, for not being allowed to tell this person how much he meant to me. How can ppl do this to others? How much do you think you can hate a person for whatever reason? Why do so many ppl want to believe that everyone hates them? Allah swt shouldn’t allow us to love heartless ppl.

Oh well.

I wouldnt tell annyone, Just call all the peeple who are close to my heart, and let them know how mutch I care about them.

And yes your right, peeple are becomming more and more selfish and dont care about other peepls feelings. They dont know what forgiveness means. Sad. Life is to short to stay mad at any one

I lost 3 months ago, all of a sudden two close friends within 2 weeks.
It was the first time, I felt such a pain.
Khair thats life, :)

I probably dont make any sence right now :p

I dont know wat to say… :frowning:

Actualy Life is Full of everything … its the Rule… that.. we HAVE TO DEPART.

Hate and Love is Like Two Sides of a Coin in the playing ground of Life.

Idon know wat I am saying :bummer:

Perhaps slightly off-topic, but I do not think people are becoming more and more selfish or cold-hearted than they were before. I would rather think that as we grow older we come to this realization more reasily than before. In this sense our elderly also came to this realization when they were growing older, hence their famous quote: "things are not as they used to be". Thus, this is not because of the culture changing, but part of the process of growing older and realizing things.

In the end, we all are...
|
|
V

*Originally posted by UnderCover112: *
Perhaps slightly off-topic, but I do not think people are becoming more and more selfish or cold-hearted than they were before. I would rather think that as we grow older we come to this realization more reasily than before. In this sense our elderly also came to this realization when they were growing older, hence their famous quote: "things are not as they used to be". Thus, this is not because of the culture changing, but part of the process of growing older and realizing things.

In the end, we all are...
|
|
V

no I disagree, you are correct to some extent, but nowadays, If there s a problem or peeple are in fight, bystanders prefer to stay aside, or even to make it worse. Now I m not that old, so I dont know how it was in the past. All I know, its getting worse.

Sabah theres a lot more than just forgiving and forgetting, and telling people you love them...before you die.Its so much more complicated.So many feelings cant even be put into words at such news.Most of the times through...it just doesnt feel real.My dad is always worrying not for himself but for us.That just breaks my heart.And its so unfair...seeing what he has to go through...and that he might not recover.My father says he's not scared of death so much as he was/is of life.

*Originally posted by dutch_paki: *

no I disagree, you are correct to some extent, but nowadays, If there s a problem or peeple are in fight, bystanders prefer to stay aside, or even to make it worse. Now I m not that old, so I dont know how it was in the past. All I know, its getting worse.

first let me state that there will not be any means with which we could verify either of the two claims. But we should think that the sentence "it's getting worse and worse all the time" has been expressed since prehistory. If this claim was true the world would have collapsed already. Fact is it has not, so I would think it is because the claim is true when looking subjectively at the world, but I doubt whether it really holds

hmmm

*Originally posted by UnderCover112: *

first let me state that there will not be any means with which we could verify either of the two claims. But we should think that the sentence "it's getting worse and worse all the time" has been expressed since prehistory. If this claim was true the world would have collapsed already. Fact is it has not, so I would think it is because the claim is true when looking subjectively at the world, but I doubt whether it really holds

I m not saying its increasing exponentially :) or to verify.
But If you take a look around you, you might notice, the world is not as what it used to be. Who knows, it might collapse soon?

I would pple who i love i will tell them and
have a great time for last time :bummer:

sabah, I don’t really know about most of the post lekin khuda kay liyay, culture ko har cheez meiN mat gusaita karo. :hoonh:

I would say: Oh! The same old story (SOS). :D

Man how many times has this question been asked? I know for certain its been asked in cafe twice...before the idiots took over.

MQ, I know there's a lot more than just that when you know its the end. Aap ke abu ko kya hua?

Roman, religion is out already, culture bhi nahiN to aur kya? Waise ok.

Thank you all for your replies, I just wanted to vent, ho gaya so now I'm kinda out.

Re: What would you do if you were told you're dying?

*Originally posted by sabah: *
I'm so surprised, or rather disappointed today, for not being allowed to tell this person how much he meant to me. How can ppl do this to others? How much do you think you can hate a person for whatever reason? Why do so many ppl want to believe that everyone hates them? Allah swt shouldn't allow us to love heartless ppl.

Oh well.

What do you imply by saying ‘you are not allowed’? Don’t you have your own life? Who is stopping you? Or question should be why you are preventing yourself from what you believe is right? Always express yourself, life is short you know, just talk to him, he might be waiting to hear it for a long, words can work as a bridge between you too. If you don’t trust on culture then why do you care? Just do it, call him and tell that you love him more than anything. Have some courage or may be you need to kill some self arrogance.

Just the thought of it IS enough to get me on the dead bed.

Ms. Sabah Aap ka boohat boohat shuk’riya :flower1:

I think this is hard topic to generalise on. It depends how old the person concerned is, the kind of people they are surrounded by, how they have lived, how long they have been aware that they don't have much time left, etc.

I know as I get older I am less "absolute" in my thinking, more understanding and forgiving. I don't want to carry resentment and rancour in my heart and I know that I have to do my part to let it go. With a little bit of humbleness you may be able to realise that you have done so many hurtfulthings, often unwittingly and unknowingly, and it is better to forget and forgive the wrongs against you and try and fix the wrongs you have done. It is really liberating if you can manage it, and if you can't the burden is often heavy. So I pity the people who carry that burden with them out of this world, but they do exist!

edited

makhan, baat ko samajhne ki koshish to kar liya karo. That person is dead.

Shirin :)

I know for many people, the fact that its their last moments in this world is not as worrisome as thinking about who will take care of their loved ones. It is very comforting for a person who is dying to know that there are people who will take care of his/her family.

As for me, I think as you grow older, you begin to accept death as more of a natural thing so the emotions and fear are less then when you are young and you see people passing away in your life.