OK seriously, i can talk about the world and its mother to everyone except my mother in law. with all my aunts and uncles im quite chatty and fairly loud and boisterous..lol. however, when i talk to my MIL, im in the uk and she lives in pak, i stammer, and dont know what to talk about, my urdu is fairly off-key, so all i can manage to stammer is, jee, haan jee, jee bilkul, jee jee, and kaisi hi aap, ji main tek houn…and thats it…
i can talk to my FIL fine, ive always been this way with the MIL dont know why, maybe im trying to ( subconsciously) impress, but am failing…
so guys, please give me a a] tips on what to talk to about seeing as i would be talking to her 2mrw for eid
b] give me conversations outlines on what to say
c] a whole transcript :]
ive already mentioned halaat in pak a million times,
Anything that you talk about with us on the forums, don't discuss with MIL (her complaints, hubby complaints, etc) :p
It's always good to know what you shouldn't talk about before moving onto more acceptable topics which can include fashion, cooking, TV shows, books, etc.
Ask after her health, ask her questions about topics that she'd know more about such as Pakistan (places to visit, etc). Giving sincere compliments might help her feel more comfortable with you.
oh god, why would i want to ask her about places to visit in pakistan, ive just been there and back,. and its so silly asking her random stufff, i meant normal casual self,,ive asked her about her health a million times, its our normal convo starter.....she askes about my health,,and then my mind goes blank and i want to pee....
Tell her about the stuff you guys are making for Eid.
Ask her for cooking tips and make it your thing. MILs LOOOOOVE being asked how-to-do anything! So, say things like:
"Ammi, meine aaj sevaiyyan banayi hein lekin thordi patli hogayeen...aap kaise banati hein?" Even though my sevaiyyan turn out perfectly fine, this gets her going and she will run down the whole recipe with me happily.
"Ammi, aaj kal larkiyan Pakistan mein kya pehenrahi rahi hein" My MIL is a little bit of a fashionista so she loves telling me what is in and what is out in Pakistan.
Ask her if she needs something from here, if her health is okay, blah blah blah.
Instead of following the meshwaras of these gals :D , you should ask your hubby about the interests of your MIL and talk to her on those things.
these GS gals are only telling you to lie to her without realizing it (like even if your siwaiyaan are perfectly fine, you like to your MIL that those are not fine) :)
oh god, why would i want to ask her about places to visit in pakistan, ive just been there and back,. and its so silly asking her random stufff, i meant normal casual self,,ive asked her about her health a million times, its our normal convo starter.....she askes about my health,,and then my mind goes blank and i want to pee....
^ Well, then maybe you could expand on the health topic. Discuss your bladder reflexes with her before heading off to pee.
I had suggested other topics of discussion as well. What else to do talk about with other women? Other than the usual topics (fashion, media/movies, books, magazines, issues such as things you've read in the news, or what have you.) What does the woman like to talk about? If you have any idea, then start there.
Dude i think PS is right you should ask her about some random cooking thing and ask her how the qurbani went and stuff if everything went out ok cuz u heard some times those qasais just leave without finishing the whole job and come back later and finish it up ... and see if everything went fine and ask her how is she managing everything ... and it must get a lil too busy for her and u wish u were there to help her out and these festivals are never complete without family and that u and ur husband miss her and u wish her all the best and tell her wat you're doing for eid and if u have ppl comin over and if therez anything special that ur MIL makes for eid and if u shld try giving it a shot ... tell her about ur clothes and stuff too and ask her about hers and wat preps she has done ... it hink that should cover enough ground
Make ur speech on eid n history behind it. call mil n read ur speech
"muhtarma mil sahiba aur mahmanan-e-garami
Aaj ka mera mouzoo hai Eid ul Adha.... she'll be impressed by ur high class urdu and religious knowledge ;)
Week 2: tell MIL her son walks and acts just like her
Week 3: tell MIL her son thinks just like her
Caution: This has the potential to make MIL so happy that she'll expect son to think and do exactly like her and join her in double teaming against bahu.