Re: Intikhab says Sarfraz will play ... end of drama
Sarfaraz will be under immense stress, I can tell you.. Keeping for Kaneria and the pace of Sami isnt much easy.. :)...
Re: Intikhab says Sarfraz will play ... end of drama
Sarfaraz will be under immense stress, I can tell you.. Keeping for Kaneria and the pace of Sami isnt much easy.. :)...
if we can play world renowned batsmen like Farhat and Butt, both of whom dont even know how to hold a bat and drop catches which even a blind would take than why all this venom against Akmal. He is far better than these two. yet I have seen people defending those two and spewing venom against Akmal.
You are probably right Ehsan bhai about Akmal being better than Farhat and Butt. But here in this thread we are not talking about his batting. His keeping has been a problem since the summer of 2006.
Kamran Akmal is probably the biggest contributor in Pakistan's defeats during the last 3 and half years. I am 110% confident that the damage inflicted by Kamran Akmal's wicket keeping is far greater than combined damage inflicted by Butt and Farhat or any other player since the summer of 2006. Let me prove it to you.
Between summer of 2006 and the last test played at SCG (his performance slump began during summer '06), Pakistan played 25 test matches. Kamran Akmal featured in all those matches. You can very well imagine what damage his wicket keeping caused in all those 25 matches. Farhat and Butt featured in 14 games each from the total 25 games Pakistan played during that time. Farhat scored at an average of 36 runs/innings and Butt scored at an average of 27 runs/innings. Akmal batting average was 35 runs/innings.
I am not defending Farhat and Butt here. They are actually considered to be poor performers for Pakistan but I am not sure if the damage done by them was greater than Akmal?? You decide...
Lets talk about ODI's. Between summer of 2006 and November 2009, Pakistan played 74 games. Akmal feautred in 66 games, Butt in 38 games and Farhat in 7 games. Akmal scored at an average of 24 runs/innings, Butt 45 runs/innings and Farhat 23 runs/innings.
As you can see that Akmal hasn't broken major world records during the last 3 and half years. He does have talent to bat and probably his batting average can go up if he goes up the order more often.
No one can dispute the fact that his performance was horrible behind the stumps. And his match saving innings after every 10 innings cannot compensate for his horrible performance behind the stumps in every innings. And more importantly those batting performances should never be used to compensate for his wicket keeping disasters, just like a bowler's batting performance cannot be used to compensate for his bowling nightmares.
As a fan I would be more than happy if PCB decides to try AKmal as a permanent batsman in the squad, may be as an opener and give him an extended run. But for the love fg god, someone please take away wicket keeping gloves from him.
More drama: Kamran says he won’t budge for Sarfraz
Well, today we all thought the matter was dead and buried when Intikhab Alam declared that Kamran would be dropped and Sarfraz would make his Test debut. Apparently, Kamran Akmal has other plans:
Kamran Akmal: I won’t budge for Sarfraz Ahmed
Peter Badel, Hobart From: Herald Sun January 13, 2010 12:00AM
Glove war: Sarfraz Ahmed, who has been flown in to replace Kamran Akmal, trains in Hobart. Picture: Colleen Petch Source: Herald Sun
PAKISTAN’S cricket soap opera became high farce yesterday as wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal refused to bow to a demand from team hierarchy to sack himself.
The selection saga took an extraordinary twist yesterday with Pakistan coach Intikhab Alam revealing Kamran had been told to put the team’s interests first by falling on his sword for rival Sarfraz Ahmed.
After a two-day war of words, the gloveman’s future will be known today when a four-man panel comprising skipper Mohammad Yousuf, Intikhab, team manager Abdur Raquib and, ironically, Kamran, as vice-captain, select the Pakistan team for the third Test against Australia starting tomorrow.
But Kamran said he would not roll over for Sarfraz, just two hours after Intikhab announced at 4pm yesterday that the 22-year-old Sarfraz would make his Test debut.
“I will not drop myself,” Kamran said last night.
“No one has told me anything. I have not spoken to coach or captain. You have to talk to them but I have said I want to play and that is it.”
But Intikhab said there was “no doubt” Sarfraz would face the Australians.
“Yes he will play, definitely,” he said. “He was sent here to play, not to just have a rest.”
Asked if Kamran would agree to axe himself, Intikhab said: "I have already spoken to Kamran and I think he understands.
“This has happened in the past. We were in Sri Lanka (last year), Misbah-ul-Haq was the vice-captain and he wasn’t having a good time. He sat in the meeting and then we agreed (to drop Misbah). At times you have to take the tough decisions. Sarfraz will play.”
Sarfraz completed an hour-long session in the nets yesterday with Kamran’s younger brother Umar, who was passed fit to play.
“I’m very excited to be selected for the Test team,” Sarfraz said. "Of course I’m nervous but the coach and manager all supported me.
“Kamran has supported me … and he is saying to me there is no pressure.”
Should Kamran thumb his nose at Pakistan hierarchy, Yousuf would have the casting vote as captain.
Intikhab and Raquib are under pressure to back the Pakistan Cricket Board’s directive to play Sarfraz.
“I can’t say just yet if Kamran will play,” Yousuf said.
Asked if going against the PCB’s wishes could cost him the captaincy, Yousuf said: “This is not my decision, it is up to the Pakistan Cricket Board.”
Former Australian Test quick Geoff Lawson, who was sacked as Pakistan coach last year, said Yousuf could pay the price if he backed Kamran.
“Does he think his career is dependent on picking the best side for the Test or doing what the PCB wants?” Lawson said.
Re: More drama: Kamran says he won't budge for Sarfraz
lol... Kamran's got balls...
thank God he doesn't have to catch them...
Kamran knows that if he is dropped, he'll be gone for a long while. He has made the biggest blunder by acting like a leader, decision maker and star of the team. Previously he was shadowed behind Younis, Yousuf, Asif and others but now he has exposed himself to be the qurbani ka bakra.
Kamran vs. Sarfraz. Gloves are off, its real now.
Re: More drama: Kamran says he won’t budge for Sarfraz
Decent posted this joke two years ago. How fit is it even today.
I was watching “Azfar Mani Show” at AAG TV few minutes ago and here is the conversation:
MANI : “Ghilchrist nai retirement lai lee hai. Gilly told in a press conference that he watched the DVD of him dropping Laxman a day before in 4th Test and he decided that its about time. His body is not that flexible now to keep up up with the pace of International Cricket”
AZFAR: Kamran Akmal k ghar DVD player nahi hai kia?
And I was demanding Akmal’s sacking ever since he came in the team. Its funny to read some of the arguments people were using to defend his wk capabilities. His batting always provide a blanket on his horrible showing with gloves.
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/cricketnama/276624-best-kamran-akmal-joke.html#post5646823
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/cricketnama/265639-kamran-akmal-needs-go-3.html#post5409449
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/cricketnama/241998-kamran-akmal-6.html#post4722309
^ :D
So now I understand why he dont catch coz he got balls already ....
ok its RIDICULOUS even by Pakistan's standards. Kamran should be kicked out for long if for nothing else then for this media offensive....
As a fan I would be more than happy if PCB decides to try AKmal as a permanent batsman in the squad, may be as an opener and give him an extended run. But for the love fg god, someone please take away wicket keeping gloves from him.
Imagine him as a regular fielder WITHOUT gloves..:D now do you still want him as a regular batsman?
they are back home already ... and I m going through " recover after another worst performance" therapy :)
I know the feeling..
Now i think in national interest they will do something so that you will get the updates on the match ONLY...
?
And I was demanding Akmal's sacking ever since he came in the team. Its funny to read some of the arguments people were using to defend his wk capabilities. His batting always provide a blanket on his horrible showing with gloves.
Even more amazing is the fact that some people are still blindly suppporting AKmal in 2010.
Anyway it is indeed a very sorry statr of affairs for Pakistan cricket. It is pretty obvious from comments in one of thread from 2007 that people including me were sick n tired of Akmal's keeping but amazingly he maaged to stay in the team for 2+ years and even now we are not sure how soon he will be back.
Please, green cap before greenbacks
By Kamran Abbasi
Theres no way these losers will give Sarfraz an extended run...even if the poor kid gets a test 100 they will drop him for the ODI series saying we need Akmal because he`s a better ODI batsman
I rather think tht Akmal shud play ODI matches ...
we have a 3rd class batting order (no pun intended) .... and we need Akmal who has experience and talent as batsman to be in our ODI side. 1-2 drop catches might not hurt us tht much in ODI n T20
These are just tactics of Aussies to pressurize the Teams and i don't think so Kamran has power to pressurize the selectors ......
that made my day…
Kamran Akmal is unnecessarily posing himself as a tough guy. In reality, he is doing more harm than good to himself. He should bow down, he is a fat ass for being a keeper.
Never use the words 'end' and 'drama' in the same sentence when talking about Pakistan cricket!
aagey aagey dekhiye hota hai kya..
Never use the words 'end' and 'drama' in the same sentence when talking about Pakistan cricket!
aagey aagey dekhiye hota hai kya..
yeah true. Pakistan cricket is too influenced by Indian Media. We now have never endings SOAPS in here instead of good old PTV 13 episode dramas :)
Re: What the hell's going on? Intikhab says Sarfraz will play...but Kamran won't budg
last two comments are hilarious.......but sadly true as well.