sitting around in a group of women, inc cousins friends, most of whom have been pregnant before, and in the uk at 25 weeks you get a health in pregnancy grant, a one off payment of £190 to all expectant mothers, now all of the people who got theirs, either got it by being reminded, or waited until their 28 week appointment and then got their forms filled and sent off.
i turned 25 weeks last week and i ran immediatly to the hospital to get my form signed and sent.
For some reason i got alot of disapprovals for this…
hain…why? mum even scoffed, itni paise kay liye bhooki nahi bantey…
huh…and then i got remarks from some of the other women who were like why couldnt you wait until your appointment anyway…and there was one that said to another whats she like ey?…
I personally don't think it should be given out anyway. People get enough benefits in this country without the government handing out more money without a second thought. Some cancer patients are denied treatment because it's too expensive, not enough funding goes in to illnesses like dementia etc etc.
If you want an explanation this is what I can assume. People in general, just not Pakistanis feel that there is no reason to chase after money and be greedy. If you will get the money at some stage why not wait?
Its basically an image issue and not an issue of what you are entitled too.
I personally don't think it should be given out anyway. People get enough benefits in this country without the government handing out more money without a second thought. Some cancer patients are denied treatment because it's too expensive, not enough funding goes in to illnesses like dementia etc etc.
This grant is not for EVERY pregnant woman, it's for those who have low income and £200 is not a huge amount that you have to make a fuss about it.
what the hell who do you hang around with they seem to dissaprove of everything that you do.
you are entitled to it for a reason , they are trying to encourage pregnant women to eat more healthily .. for us all money is spent on all sorts of panjeeris and ghee and god knows what else.
but for these goray they need fruit , veg and all other nutrious stuff , the government recognises that with pregnancy so many other financial stuff pops up that women dont eat properly or that women will eat for 2 and eat junk , so if theya re giving an extra 190 for pregnant women to eat healthily whats the problem
how people choose to spend it is their own matter.
nadz those aunties that are saying all this to you watch when their own daughter / bahu gets pregnant they will probably mark that day in their calendar and wont be able to wait to recieve that £190.
it is good to get these things done on time so that you dont miss out.
i think its a very good thing and we should be lucky we have a good government is some ways.
i know most of mashallah are lucky that we have our husbands and families supporting us financially in our pregnancies , but what about those single mothers that dont work and have no money...
seriously man all these desis aunties just need to be transported back to the village they came from , i hate it how their opinion needs to be voiced everywhere , even though they may have been on benefits their whole life , magar kisi aur ko kuch milgaya to unki zubaan rukti hee nahin hai buraiyyan kar kar ke ....
Gosh your a married pregnant woman with your own mind. Ignore such typical paindoo comments, heck don't even bother discussing your personal things with them. Your life, your business. Nothing greedy about what your entitled to, we bloody pay enough taxes in this country and so what if you completed the form on time so that you can be organised? Idiots...
This grant is not for EVERY pregnant woman, it's for those who have low income and £200 is not a huge amount that you have to make a fuss about it.
Hareem, just to correct you, YES it's for every pregnant woman even the prime minister's wife is entitled to £190 at 25 weeks. Anything else is income assessed, but this grant is for ANY pregnant woman in the UK.
You're entitled to it by order of the government. Heck...you've PAID for it through taxes. So why not apply for money that's yours to begin with?
As for what people think...again, like everybody here...why are you even mentioning it? Your life, your business. They don't need to know. Why? Well, because you've seen what happens when you do. It doesn't make you any "sort of person." And please...like they aren't doing it themselves. I don't know about the UK, but over in the US, due to the increasing rate of unemployment, the number of people receiving unemployment benefits and other forms of welfare is increasing exponentially. But hearing people in the desi community talk, you'd think everything is coming up roses. Which means at least a few people are lying through their teeth. The official unemployment rate in the US is roughly 10% (higher most likely because our government isn't above fudging the numbers). That means that officially 10 out of every 100 people is unemployed and receiving benefits. But people in our community probably won't own up to it because there's such a stigma attached to it. Which is wrong because they PAID for the unemployment through their income tax and there's nothing sinful about asking for help when you need it.
So don't you feel ashamed. You've done nothing wrong. Just don't share this stuff with anybody.
Nadz, there is nothing to be shamed about .. And applying for a health in preg grant doesnt make u a bad person .. :)
U wont believe it, but i even had marked the date from which i could claim for that maternity grant as i am also pregnant at the moment ..
and even got it filled and signed by the midwife the same day and couldnt wait to post it as i really needed that money ...
When u expecting a baby, especially ur first one, u have so many expenses lined up ...
So, dun care what others may think ...
Logon ko to baat karne ka bahaana chahiye hota hai, no matter what u do ..
If u have every right to it, then why wait or care what others may think ...
And besides that, beeing pregnant is such a great time ... And its all about YOU and Ur baby ...
so dun spoil it with gettin upset abt stupid comments from stupid people ...
yee tu kuch bhee nahi. Canada main tu aisee families bhee hai jo pregnant hee monthly subsidy k leyee hotee hai jo per child mitee hai. Get a heart from it!
Believe it or not. It was only 2nd month after we moved to Canada and were shopping at Sherway Gardens (a local mall) and at a shop we met a Pakistani family. Being Paksitani, we said hello hi but later on my wife told me that lady in that family was advising her k “aap aisa kareen k pregnant ho jaeeen. 300-400$ per month aatey hain her bachey k” (she was trying to “help” new immigrants to Canada )
As mentioned above, your mom's complaints have to do with "image." Rushing off to get the money may give the impression that you don't have much of it. Really, you're entitled to that money, it doesn't matter if you go sooner or later.
How did these "other women" even find out? Did you tell them yourself? Or did your mom share your situation with them (if that's the case, then she's not helping her fear of the "image") ?
You've asked in the past what the comments made by some aunti or the other mean. While you can't control what they say to you or about you.....you do have control over how much of your life you want to reveal to them. I consider money matters to be personal, nobody's business except for those directly involved.