What really is --Pakistan Cricket Team ??

“Failure is not a single, cataclysmic event… You don’t fail overnight. Instead, failure is a few errors in judgment, repeated every day”

Whatever disgrace we are suffering in Kenya is not a surprise!! Aussies have just unwrapped the fancy paper of few individual performers (like Shoiab Akhter, Wasim Akram) from Pakistan true state of game.. I remember I saw a banner in Australia..saying Pakistanis are pushovers..and I was raged w/ anger…No one deny the fact that Pakistan has the most talented players in the cricket world…But we are one of the worst side when it comes to losing and degrading our own self.. So what Really is Pakistani team??

A Fluke?
Pakistani team is just like a lone brave soldier in a battlefield who knows nothing about rules of engagement—he just fight w/ the help of his luck, talent and passion..some time he succeeds…But the probability of him winning-- Always-- remain slim to none..unless he has a game plan..proper technique and back support(team work).

What you guys think? What really Pakistan team is?? What is the root cause of Pakistan unpredictability??

check the probability of winning of Pakistan here :slight_smile:

One thing I have seen about Pakistani team is that when they loose, they would loose in the worst possible way.
When they loose a match they play like the worst team in the world but when they win they play like the best team in the world and no one has the power to match them.
One simple thing Pakistani batsman always had a problem is with the brilliant line and length from the opposition.
If you can bowl to the Pakistani batsman, the only thing you need to do is bowl them a perfect line and length delivery and you are guarnteed a wicket even against world class batsmans like Anwar and Inzi.

Like the great Geoffery Boycott said after the Wc99 final "Pakistanis are the most talented unorganized players in the world God bless him.

Do you think there is something wrong with the domestic system specially looking from a batsmans point of view.
Are they ever taught to play agauinst a quality lineup like Australia specially the bowlers.
There is no doubt we have one of the best talented batsmans in the world but raw talent is no use if there is no proper technique of playing professional cricket.

Pakistan is a very good team has lots of talent .But they lack application.
In nutshell they are like Indians.

India and Pakistan are "Team of Champion Players".
Australia is "Champion Team".

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *
Pakistan is a very good team has lots of talent .But they lack application.
In nutshell they are like Indians.

India and Pakistan are "Team of Champion Players".
Australia is "Champion Team".

Yaar AQ bhai yeh India Beech main Kahan se aa gaya??..except Tendulkar what champion players you have??

Umair Yaar you are absolutley right about Pakistani batting against good length N line bowlers...Macgrath is a pefect example!

Bawaqoof Bhai: you can call it my personal choice..but i never like records stats and ratings... I don't believe on ratings !!...If a team is good it will prove it any time anywhere..it does not need records to justify its quality...

*Originally posted by Jerablade: *
Bawaqoof Bhai: you can call it my personal choice..but i never like records stats and ratings... I don't believe on ratings !!...If a team is good it will prove it any time anywhere..it does not need records to justify its quality...

Blade Bhai (eik tu naam likhtey howey bhee dur lagta hay :p ) no team can prove it ANYWHERE and at ANYTIME....ever heard of "Cricket By Chance" ? and because of this what i think that we are left on the mercy of statistics but at the end thats what i think anyone else can think anything thing different :)

*Originally posted by Jerablade: *

Yaar AQ bhai yeh India Beech main Kahan se aa gaya??..except Tendulkar what champion players you have??

Umair Yaar you are absolutley right about Pakistani batting against good length N line bowlers...Macgrath is a pefect example!

galti ho gayee Sahab.
We dont have any champion player Like Afridi & nazir ;)
Thanks God we dont have them...

To be honest, Pakistani team desparately needs coaching of JAVED MIANDAD

Pakistan can't win the next World Cup without Javed Miandad. YOU CAN BANK ON IT!

Otherwise, It will be a Miracle for Pakistan to win the next World Cup. Team's performace is below average level.

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

galti ho gayee Sahab.
We dont have any champion player Like Afridi & nazir ;)
Thanks God we dont have them...

hahaha
yaar you are my fav indian after Twinkle Khana..aap naraz na huwa karain...I was just joking--zara aap se khel raha tha...i take my words back... i agree w/ u --indian team is full of champs okay..khush?

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
To be honest, Pakistani team desparately needs coaching of **JAVED Team's performace is below average level.

That has got to be the understatement of the year. :(

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

lol :)

Personally, I believe that what Pakistan cricket team needs is a strong danda-bardaar captain who can instill in them the basic principle, that EACH of the players has to make his best effort to perform in EVERY match, consistently.

Right now, one or two players get out cheaply, aur phir line hi lagg jaati hai. Some players are invincible in one innings and total duds the next day. They have to work on consistent performance, and mental toughness. Losing is nothing to be ashamed of. Every team loses. But the lame manner in which Pakistan team loses, is really something worrisome. They definitely need a strong captain who can lead by example, and instill "Never Say Die" spirit in the team.

A coach can only take the team so far. It is the captain in the ground who has to lead the troops. And thats where we lose on the mental toughness. Plus its the captain and the vice captain (one of whom) who should be an intelligent cricketer to plan for various strategies. In Imran's days, it was Miandad who would be the thinker and the strategist in the team. Who is our "brains" right now? Waqar? No way! Inzi? Sheesh! :)

I have to agree with faisal.
Honestly I'm loosing faith in Waqar Younis after 2 humiliating losses.
its not the matter of who is the coach but captaining will play the key role in world cup.
even after waqar, is there anyone in the team worth being captain.

Inzi is a great batsman but he is the last person I expect to lead the Pakistani side.
I saw him as a captain in the tour of Newzeland couple years back and his field placing didn't make any sense even the commentators didn't had a clue.

I don't see Anwar being in the Pakistani team for a long time.

The best person coming to my head is RASHID LATIF.

If he can get along with other players in the lockeroon than he should be given the chance.

Yeah when we lose we lose badf, but when we win its often impressively. We are either awesome or s**t, thrash or get thrashed-depends on the day.

Well, I am not saying to fire Waqar after two defeats. Maybe he is the best man for the job, but he needs to take better control of the team. They should atleast make some effort to appear as a proclaimed world-class team, on a more consistent manner. Whether they win or lose some matches, is perhaps not that important. But the way they give up matches is unfortunately very unprofessional.

And secondly, there should be a successor captain groomed in. I am not sure if Inzi, great batsman that he is no doubt, is necessarily the best captain. He may be. I just don't know. In Pakistan, unfortunately, we don't use domestic cricket to groom such skills, or else Inzi should have been made captain of whatever domestic team he plays for and prove his abilities to make the right captain decisions and to marshall his troops effectively. In my mind, I see him as a sleepy giant, who is happy fielding at Third-man or slips without getting too involved in practical decision-making or provide pro-active advise to the captain after each over.

I haven't visited this forum in a long time due to other commitments but I saw this match today and i have a few observations. Firstly that Australia bowled well according to the conditions and only three Pakistani batsmen tried to apply themselves accordingly: Saeed Anwar, Shoaib Malik and Misbah ul Haq. The rest played without much intelligence.

Even more noticeable was the immense stupidity of our bowlers. After seeing the Aussies using the conditions to bowl effectively, our own guys failed to pitch it in the right areas. It's as simple as that.

Waqar seems to have lost the team if he has managed to piss off such a genuine team player as Yousuf Youhanna. Personally I think Waqar has done wonders to revive his own career but his man-management has to be called into question here. I don't think he is making the most of our assets.

On the plus side, if Waqar can get past his own ego and admit he was wrong, there are some positives to be taken from this defeat. Firstly, we should learn how to bowl according to condiitions which is a valuable lesson. Secondly, Malik and Misbah showed some application which could be useful in future situations.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
I have to agree with faisal.
Honestly I'm loosing faith in Waqar Younis after 2 humiliating losses.
its not the matter of who is the coach but captaining will play the key role in world cup.
even after waqar, is there anyone in the team worth being captain.

Inzi is a great batsman but he is the last person I expect to lead the Pakistani side.
I saw him as a captain in the tour of Newzeland couple years back and his field placing didn't make any sense even the commentators didn't had a clue.

I don't see Anwar being in the Pakistani team for a long time.

The best person coming to my head is RASHID LATIF.

If he can get along with other players in the lockeroon than he should be given the chance.

Hum.. Umair Bhai You need to makeup your mind... here are few quotes from you at this forum in thread *Who would make a good captain???

posted 08-30-2002 05:44 PM

blaming the whole loss on one guy.
waqar is the best captain pakistan has had since imran
i can understand his decsion of batting 2nd giving the batsman the chance to be under pressure against quality teams.
eventhough it was not at a good time.
bowling and batting failed miserably but mostly bowling.
just one bad game and you people are jumpling like its the end of the world.
pakistan had a bad game on both sides, and australia had a bad game in australia couple months back.
none of us jumped on conclusion that they have a bad team.

posted 08-30-2002 07:27 PM

Such ignorance for those who are looking for new captains.
Absoultely no knowledge about cricket.
Pakistan selection as dumb as they are, actually look genious in front of some of the guppies here.

posted 09-01-2002 02:06 AM

This is the problem with some of the desis.
They would love you if you win matches but when you loose a match for your team they would becoe your worst enemy.
People like them don't desrve a great team like Pakistan.

posted 09-02-2002 01:09 PM

abbay chorro Mo bhai, yeh sab paagal loag hay.

3 or 4 losses and they are crying but one win they will declare him as the greatest captain.

NOW TELL,WAQAR should go or stay !!!
I personally thing he is quite good it takes 11 guys to win matches .Cant blame him.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Precisely!

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

Precisely!

Pakistan tiger I love your one liner.
Also the way you come to KK and open each thread and give your comments in one word and go home.. you are the man !!! :)

What the heck?(sorry) I do not have permission to see that page?