-
**Was it because your Dad convinced you? (**for example :Baita tum barhe ho kar doctor hi bann na:cb: )
-
**Was it your Father’s/Mother’s Career of Choice…you wanted to follow their footsteps? (**choice of fathers and forefathers…or other family member??)
-
**Did you stumble upon this Option while trying to be something else? (**woah! I failed in maths again…guess engineering is scratched off my list of careers:cb:)
-
What Incidence…or what Influenced you to choose your current occupation or Major
…(guess taking sides in the khandani laraiyaan made you contemplate that you may make an awesome Lawyer …or better yet a Judge sahab:D)
Re: =What Made you choose the FIELD/MAJOR /CAREER you are in currently??
I sucked in Biology so I knew that I am no good for medical. Landed in pre-engineering college. Got enough grades to get admission in NED university in Karachi. had enough marks to either go to Mechanical Engineering or Civil.
Chose Civil Engineering cause one of my fav uncle was a civil engineer.
Kitna serious answer diya hai Director Sahab…ap se yeh omeeed na thi
So the choice was between Doctor or Engineer eh..![]()
Waise did he mentor you, your Uncle?
No
My Father wanted me to be a Lawer and my mother wanted me to be an Army Officer :@:
To some extent.
I always wanted to be a Army Officer but as I grew up computer facinated me more and more. I wanted to be software developer but I ended up doing graphic designing. After that I was hired to Maintain a Database related to Manpower / HR. Now after more than two years company take me more as a part of HR/Admin than of IT :@:
The career I was in: it was my interest in writing I suppose. If it were left to dad, I would have become a doctor lik him and ma. Luckily mom was very supportive! Well so was my dad later on!
No
My Father wanted me to be a Lawer and my mother wanted me to be an Army Officer :@:
To some extent.
I always wanted to be a Army Officer but as I grew up computer facinated me more and more. I wanted to be software developer but I ended up doing graphic designing. After that I was hired to Maintain a Database related to Manpower / HR. Now after more than two years company take me more as a part of HR/Admin than of IT :@:
So one interest lead to another till you found your niche.Good for you!:)
The career I was in: it was my interest in writing I suppose. If it were left to dad, I would have become a doctor lik him and ma. Luckily mom was very supportive! Well so was my dad later on!
So you knew that you wanted to be this, from day one?:)
not much of a mentorship, but he did encourage me.
You know, those days Medical, Engineering or Business Administration was pretty much the choice.
Okay I am gonaa be honest here. I took civil engineering not because of too much of inspiration but because there were more girls in that discipline ![]()
No, at one point I wanted to be a teacher, then an engineer, then an interpretor, then ....
and now, if I have ever regretted anything in my life it is not having become a doctor. I don't cry over ot or feel too bad and all...but sometimes I wish I had been in some area of medicine, perhaps research.
- well my dad asked me not to go in architecture. otherwise he was okay with everything else i was going with.
- ya i am to some extent
(communication part of my degree
) - lol. i wanted and still wana do everything. its good to either read this question in my book, or as my grand children that how i did

- a miracle. (otherwise science was and still is my passion)
Welll I’m officially gonna start studying for the career that my parents chose for me. And I just happened to like it myself so I thought that it should be fine…ta-da ![]()
dad didn’t care what i was doing, as long as i was studying ![]()
when i wanted to be a vet, my mom goes, “if you’re going to be dealing with animal poop, might as well deal with human poop” (seriously, the convo went something like that). my other career choices my mom scared me out of them. and also i sucked at math and physics (eg couldn’t do astronomy). but then as i was really getting into this field, my mom goes “do msc. it doesn’t take as long” ![]()
ermm…no…i flipped through various options. took a slight detour in terms of undergrad but still came back to this
the first fluke: a news story on the medical crisis in canada. 2nd fluke: i was pretty much forced into a major which i absolutely adored later on, which made me even more convinced i wanted to go into this field.
it were my parents:)
they pushd me to it but now i kinda like what i am doing:hmmm:
Like most of the desi girls I did my bachelors in Biology wanting to become a doctor, didn’t get into med school so decided to go for a dental school..in the meantime I got married and then it became a financial issue/ how the heck would I ever pay off the loans if I dun work full time after having kids! But my mom didnt want me to stop my studies at bachelors so I decided to do my masters in public health with a full scholarship and Teaching Assistantship so I didn’t have any financial issues during or after graduation!
Last but not least, I chose my concentration of emergency preparedness in public health after the earthquake in Pakistan..Katrina happened at the same time and considering how public health totally failed in it.. everything was revised in emergency preparedness and it was a perfect time for me to learn that I could take back to Pakistan after my graduation!
So yeah it was a mixture of my own interest in the field, scholarship offer to overcome money issue and finally the incident that narrowed it down to my concentration!
Bachpan say managaree karnay ka shouq tha. ![]()
Ok serious answer. I saw big bucks in IT in y2k mania days. So I did some IT related courses and hopped on the bandwagon.
Your parent pushed you to go and flood GS ? ![]()
-
Was it because your Dad convinced you? nay , he always told me you that i would do good in anything only if i work hard.
-
**Was it your Father’s/Mother’s Career of Choice…you wanted to follow their footsteps? **probably sometimes i feel i will end up at the same place where they are
-
**Did you stumble upon this Option while trying to be something else? **
-
nay - i did not stumble against anything - i made my choices
-
What Incidence…or what Influenced you to choose your current occupation or Major
… my mother wanted me to be a doctor and i liked that for the reason that somehow i would be a lil help to ppl if not most . but when i reached my intermediate i felt i have no personal interest in this profession . -
so i left that . then i choose mathematics in my graduation , becaz i was very sharp at it , but then again after graduation i never wanted to go ahead with it . i worked for almost 2.5 years after graduation when i found out that accounting was the right choice for me . and i turned over a new leaf .
-
many a times when i look back i feel strange that how i made my way , but it was meant this way

My father wanted me to become a lawyer and my mother wanted me to become a doctor, I wasn't really interested in any of those and was interested in the financial field and eventually decided to pursue my career there and in 1977 qualified as chartered accountant. :)
hehe nai:D they are totally against flooding:vivo:
unka bas chale to GS ko sue kar dein:naraz:
My father wanted me to become a lawyer and my mother wanted me to become a doctor, I wasn't really interested in any of those and was interested in the financial field and eventually decided to pursue my career there and in 1977 qualified as chartered accountant. :)
Nice to meet you :)
CIMA or acca??
I landed this job because airlines/airports and tourist places have always fascinated me,so that's what made me choose the career iam in.