What kind of reaction would I get if....

..If I told my family that I didn’t believe in God anymore, I know this topic is somewhat about religion, but it is more about relationships, so I feel it’s appropriate in this forum…should I expect to get kicked out of my house, will they treat me any differently, my mother is really religious, my sister is somewhat religious, all the guys in my family are not that religious. I would value your opinions in this matter, like to remind you that this thread is not for you to convince me that my views are incorrect but to give me some feedback on how it will affect my relationship with my family members.

well i can only imagine wt wod happen to me if i told my mum n dad that i am an atheist. I think they would be deeply upset and my parents will try to show me right from wrong.

I don't think they wod kick me out of the house.

I believe that it all depends on the the kind of relationship you have with ur family. whereas my sisters [whom i dont have a good relationship with] wod prob see me as dirt and treat me as fit.

Re: What kind of reaction would I get if....

they would think you have gone insane and tell you astaghfirullah aisy batain nahin karte.. do you think your family will take you serious when you say such things?!?!? nopse, not desi parents!

Re: What kind of reaction would I get if…

first of why the hell would u do that if ur a muslim and second of all that is gunnah and ur forgetting who is the creator and oh ye ur family idk maybe they will feel the same and upset and if u do that u will be considered a traitor and this is jus a question right not in real :aq: …

If my son comes to me and tells me that , I will laugh at him and let it go. I know he will come back to religion eventually. I did. If not it is his loss not mine.

Depends on your parents; they may get really disappointed in you, or they may see this as a phase you'll grow out of.

Your parents will think you have lost your mind and someone has done Black Magic on their pyara sa bacha!

they will say, get him married asap, bechara ka dimakh kharab hora h!

Bhaiya ziada se ziada aap ko apne abba se do teen jootay parain ge :@:

afridi bhai no1 really cares but dont make fun of ppl who believe in god and pass sarcastic comments about their religion otherwise u will surely piss them off and they will want to kill u :D

Best not to tell them. Wait for another 10 years or so. If you still don’t believe in God then I suppose you should break the news to the world.

p.s. :rolleyes:

why do u even need to tell them?

ahmmm ahmmm

i remember the big slap on my face
in front of too many
from my dad

i didnt even said what ur going to say
i said “for the sake of the argument lets say***************”

and bang :smilestar:

i dont know you or your family, so it would be hard for me to judge their reaction since every family is different, every person is different ... as far as relationships go, dont think a parent would disown their child or throw them out just because their kids religious view differed with their own. Its a paternal bond so what ever you do they will still love you and will accept you. They would probably have a sneaky feeling anyway that you would end up saying something like tht (because of your behaviour, views, opinions, hypotheticaly) so it might not come as a surprise to them, which means that they might not smack you silly.

I'd say don't stress over this bas ja ker aap apne dad se keh do aur do teen jotay khaa lena. Bas :D

marry not-so-religious girl and u'll be fine with ur life..

They would bury me alive.. don’t know about ur family :bummer:

Sorry for a comment off topic, but I couldn't control my tears after reading your post. I don't remember reading anything more depressing than this in the past.

@ Topic. As far as telling your mother is concerned, if you think (Allah forbid) that you are at the point of no return and her prayers won't work for you, then please don't tell it to her for the time. (As you said she is religious) with no offense, my personal understanding from past observations is that if she lost hope in bringing you back, she might regret giving birth to you.

I might be wrong, but a mother can NEVER imagine for even a SINGLE second, that her child has decided to put himself in hell FOREVER.

I wouldn't talk much after reading

like to remind you that this thread is not for you to convince me that my views are incorrect
BUT as a brother kindly forgive me for sharing this minor story of the atheist who was the strongest of dis believer of Allah (s.w.t) when once felt asleep while in a cave all alone and the entrance of the cave was closed by a large stone. All his atheistness was gone when his 3 days hungry stomach, his beating heart (after listening horrible sounds), his fearful eyes in the dark, his aching head and his weak body was able to convince him that there is someone who would get him out of this minor glimpse of hell in this world.

Exactly.... i mean what is ur lifestyle? and u know its funny enf...ppl who claim to be religious or at least believe in God, but still lead hedonistic lifestyles, while others who are doubtful about religion and stuff.... don't...

There is no need to tell anyone IMO.