What is your jihad.

Re: What is your jihad.

Qitaal is one form of jihad i.e., jihad bi-saif. and not every qitaal is jihaad
Jihaad is a very broad term and limiting its meaning to Qitaal is short-sightedness

question to you: what is jihad-e-akbar as per islamic jargon?

no mention of fight here. so I am a bit confused as what was your point

i'd say where "your bodies" is mentioned it is a reference to fighting

kchugtai, are you planning on taking a position to oppose the fighting in the cause of Allah?

As Jinx rightly said, Qitaal means Arms jihad-Jihad bis saif.

Point was to highlight that armed jihad IS one of the foremost and important type of jihad.

In addition to reply of brother Shardmanny,

You might have noticed that the heading of this ayah in tafseer ibn Katheer was

The Command to worship Allah and engage in Jihad

also from the same page

An-Nasa'i recorded from Al-Harith Al-Ashari from the Messenger of Allah , who said:
«مَنْ دَعَا بِدَعْوَى الْجَاهِلِيَّةِ فَإِنَّهُ مِنْ جِثِيِّ جَهَنَّم»
(Whoever adopts the call of Jahiliyyah, will be one of those who will crawl on their knees in Hell.) A man said, "O Messenger of Allah, even if he fasts and performs Salah'' He said,
«نَعَمْ وَإِنْ صَامَ وَصَلَّى ، فَادْعُوا بِدَعْوَةِ اللهِ الَّتِي سَمَّاكُمْ بِهَا الْمُسْلِمِينَ الْمُؤْمِنِينَ عِبَادَ الله»
(Yes, even if he fasts and performs Salah. So adopt the call of Allah whereby He called you Muslims and believers and servants of Allah.)
﴿لِيَكُونَ الرَّسُولُ شَهِيداً عَلَيْكُمْ وَتَكُونُواْ شُهَدَآءَ عَلَى النَّاسِ﴾
(that the Messenger may be a witness over you and you be witnesses over mankind!) means,
thus We have made you a just and fair nation, the best of nations, and all other nations will testify to your justice. On the Day of Resurrection you will be,
﴿شُهَدَآءَ عَلَى النَّاسِ﴾
(witnesses over mankind),' because on that Day all the nations will acknowledge its leadership and its precedence over all others. Therefore, on the Day of Resurrection the testimony of the members of this community will be accepted as proof that the Messengers conveyed the Message of their Lord to them, and the Messenger will testify that he conveyed the Message to them.
﴿فَأَقِيمُواْ الصَّلوةَ وَءَاتُواْ الزَّكَوةَ﴾
(So perform the Salah, give Zakah) means, respond to this great blessing with gratitude by fulfilling your duties towards Allah, doing that which He has enjoined upon you and avoiding that which He had forbidden. Among the most important duties are establishing regular prayer and giving Zakah. Zakah is a form of beneficence towards Allah's creatures, whereby He has enjoined upon the rich to give a little of their wealth to the poor each year, to help the weak and needy. We have already mentioned its explanation in the Ayah of Zakah in Surat At-Tawbah (9:5).
﴿وَاعْتَصِمُواْ بِاللَّهِ﴾
(and hold fast to Allah.) means, seek the help and support of Allah and put your trust in Him, and get strength from Him.
﴿هُوَ مَوْلَـكُمْ﴾
(He is your Mawla,) meaning, He is your Protector and your Helper, He is the One Who will cause you to prevail against your enemies.
﴿فَنِعْمَ الْمَوْلَى وَنِعْمَ النَّصِيرُ﴾
(what an Excellent Mawla and what an Excellent Helper!) He is the best Mawla and the best Helper against your enemies.

Today there is a mass propoganda to make armed jihad look as religious taboo. Concepts like being not in favour of armed jihad when it is due is likely to throw someone into fitna and that is why we need to know what is this fardh and how to do this.

Will inshallah share some more on this after eid.

I plan to write on when jihad is due, how to do jihad and how to protect common man. All according to quran and Sunnah.

You can't choose between Jihad we have to do every kind of Jihad we have to do Jihad against Nafs we have to do Jihad against enemies of Islam by sword and weapons and also Jihad against evils in societies but can't choose one Jihad only

^ Very good point shero. :k:

kindly read what is written in that tafsir. verse 3:102 has been referred that says "Have taqwa of Allah as is His due".
with 'bodies' doesn't necessarily means fighting. It may be a part of it though.

did I say or imply that? Let me be very clear that I am not against armed fighting in the cause of Allah but it applies when certain conditions exist. There are other jihads that we ought to do ceaselessly. We should learn from the life of the holy prophet (pbuh) on this.

That was the point of mentioning it in my post. :slight_smile:

And fight them until there is no more Fitnah (disbelief and worshipping of others along with Allah) and (all and every kind of) worship is for Allah (Alone)...2:193

imo this means the governance should be for Muslims (Islam) and it is great act of virtue to gain more land for the worship of Allah SWT (capture land). thats why the muslims captured so much, see the world maps before and after islam, until we went to sleep and love of life, fear of death crept in

^ that is your interpretation not mine. especially, I strongly disagree with what you wrote in parenthesis. disbelief and worshipping 'ghair-Allah' are not primarily countered with fighting. As I said earlier, we should seek guidance from the life of the holy prophet(pbuh). The main purpose was to propagate the message of islam and they did it despite facing extreme conditions, didn't resort to militancy or guerilla warfare tactics because that was not instructed by Allah and rightfully so since that could only lead to chaos and anarchy and had hurt the cause of Islam. they preferred to migrate. When they had gathered strength, established a state and were again pushed to war, they fought with full zeal. fighting had been the last resort in the cause of Islam. acquiring land was not the prime purpose either.
the world of today is lot different than those days and now you need not to acquire control of the land to spread the message of Islam.

yes it says imo (in my opinion)

you 'strongly' disagree but you think 'primarily' it is not countered by fighting and you think acquiring land was not the 'prime' purpose either. ok

the point was not my interpretation but was to give you something, from my opinion, for consideration into your conditions that you were burying fighting in the CAUSE of ALLAH with.

I am not against armed fighting in the cause of Allah but i*t applies when certain conditions exist.*

^ bhai jaan, aap to jazbaati hi ho gaye.

let us focus on the verse 2:193 that you quoted.

sher ali) And fight them until there is no persecution, and religion is *freely professed for Allah. But if they desist, then remember that no hostility is allowed except against the aggressors.

Among non-ahmadis, I liked the translation-cum-tafsir of Shabbir Ahmed](Ayah al-Baqarah (The Cow) 2:193). It goes as following:

If we accept the translation you presented then we have lot of problems. You said that fighting must continue until fitnah i.e., worship of anyone other than Allah remains. sorry to say but this is a dangerous ideology and goes against what Allah says in other verses of the holy Quran. for instance, what will become of the verse 'there is no compulsion in deen’. Moreover, Allah said in Al-anam-149 that He could have made all the people believers. so diversity of religion is not a problem. Allah wants people to choose out of their own free will and not with sword.

Also as per verse 22:39-40) *Permission to fight is given to those against whom war is made, because they have been wronged — and Allah indeed has power to help them
**Those who have been driven out from their homes unjustly only because they said, ‘Our Lord is Allah’ — And if Allah did not repel some men by means of others, there would surely have been pulled down cloisters and churches and synagogues and mosques, wherein the name of Allah is oft commemorated. And Allah will surely help one who helps Him. Allah is indeed Powerful, Mighty —

now what do you say about the above verse. It simply bulldozed the idea that you projected in exposition of the verse 2:193.

so when the Muslims were persecuted, driven out of their homes etc just to oppress them in order to coerce them away from Islam then they fought. As in 2:217***, “…*****And they will not cease fighting you until they turn you back from your faith, if they can…”

There is a great book "End of Jihad State" by Khalid Yahya Blankinship I highly recommend for more discussion and historical implications of Jihad

Today there is a mass propoganda to make armed jihad look as religious taboo. Concepts like being not in favour of armed jihad when it is due is likely to throw someone into fitna and that is why we need to know what is this fardh and how to do this.

Yes but who do we listen to in this regard ? the corrupt Ulema who are bought by the tyrants ruling muslim states like Taqi usmani and Ghamidi
Save it man, first lets set our own house in order get rid of our tyrants in pakistan Saudi arabia Iran and other places before we start conquering nonmuslim states

Yes but who do we listen to in this regard ? the corrupt Ulema who are bought by the tyrants ruling muslim states like Taqi usmani and Ghamidi
Save it man, first lets set our own house in order get rid of our tyrants in pakistan Saudi arabia Iran and other places before we start conquering nonmuslim states
We have a rich history of TRUE jihads the uprising against muslim tyrants in our history best example being the revolt of iraqi Qurra against Hajjaj but these corrupt Ulema always say dont rise up against a muslim ruler as long as he establishes prayer ...duh ! as if hes gonna start celebrating Hannukah all of a sudden

click 'logout' at top-right of this page.

Taghoot Kay Taawun Say Jihad - Kuffar Islam Kay Khair Khua Nahi - maulana ishaq urdu - YouTube

Taqi Usmani is tyrant? But he looks very shareef and harmless? :bummer:

he is a pro-establishment Alim ^ thats why I dont like him, he is the kind of scholars who endorse policies of muslim rulers even if they are tyrants.Many many people here love him though.