What is your jihad.

What do you think is jihad according to islam?. We will discuss on these concepts in a separate thread. Please only post what you believe , dont comment on what others believe.

Also please comment on any real example of jihad in modern times. Need your input on why do you think it is jihad.

Inshallah purpose is to get a defination on which we all agree and that is also supported by our religious text.

Re: What is your jihad.

to not get angry.
to not hate anyone for personal reasons.
(and the hardest one) put lots of effort in anything I do (prayer, housework, education etc).

to kill your ego

To not waste time

To better myself, become a good human being and to achieve my potential.

What is your jihad.

Jihad with Nafs!

EXACTLY! nafs ke saath jihaad karnaa sab se mushkil kaam hai...pal pal har aan hamaare nafs kaa imtiHaan hotaa hai...us par qaaboo paa jaanaa momin kii pahchaan hai.

My Jihad effort started long time back , in my career, I felt alot of peer pressure against my islamic principles like for example: Fasting, readily explaining Islamic concept if a colleague misinterpreted it or queried about it , no Alcohol or smoking, keeping strictly away from vulgar jokes and gossip. Eating halal at all times.

In my personal life, I have controlled my nafs by dressing decently and no skin show, keeping modest and distance with the opposite gender, being kind to people around to create an examplary muslim behaviour, specially in the neighbourhood that we live in , we are the only muslim family and we try every day to give the neighbours a good opinion of us as muslims ..

From tableeg perspective, I keep myself open to learning new things about Islam and if anyone advises me on Islamic perspective, I dont judge them at all and believe they are doing their duty as a muslim .. I too ensure to openly disagree with things that go against Islam, irrespective of whether I get judged. Its important to me coz this is the least I can do for my religion.

"Jihad" is an arabic word came from "jahad (singular)" which means 'struggle'. But when a person 'struggle' to be a good Muslims i.e., try to follow the prescribed pattern of Islam is called 'Jahad Fi Sabeel Allah'. One to try to overcome to his or her temptation is called 'Jihad Fil Nafs'.

Example: A person who fast and struggle in any positive way to keep his fast till the time is also a condition of 'Jihad' out of many. :)

Peace All

Please note ... The OP is not asking for the definition of Jihad ... But asking us, what specific thing each of us find difficult about our own specific lives that we have realised that we need to overcome in order to rectify our affairs with Allah (SWT) ...

Jazakallah khair brother Psyah.

Sorry for my poor communication skills :) , all i want to know is **what do you think is jihad in islam ? **If anyone consider compaign of polio drops then this is what iwant. Some consider jihad bin nafs, some jihad bil sayf. Some consider both.
i will inshallah post my views later , just want to know first what others think.

This is important to know the correct meaning of jihad as per islam as this will be needed during end of times.

Would love if some one can support his aqeedah with some religious text.

does nafs mean sex drive? :eek:

I think it means too much sex, too much food and anger.

Well in that case ... "Rather than my jihad" as I mentioned earlier - If I were to answer the question "What is my idea of jihad" then that is easy ...

It is the "Act of doing something right when the circumstances are difficult for the right thing to be done" ...

The jihad of a coward is to stand up against aggression ... the jihad of the fierce warrior is to withdraw his sword and talk things through. The jihad of the gluttonous is to eat less, the jihad of the anhorexic is to eat more, the jihad of the talker is to talk less, the jihad of the stingy is to give charity ... the jihad of the muslim makes him/her a mu'min and the jihad of the mu'min makes him/her a muhsin.

I think you will not get what you are looking for on gupshup. End of times are not really around the corner either.

according to me the liberal fascist Jihad which end in violence of any kind even fighting foreign occupation is not permissible. Why ?

Well because there is no more Khilifaat exist any more so the concept of single entity or ummah is no longer valid in current times.

Countries have borders, to travel you need a document called passport - societies are interlinked to such extent that I have a Jew living on left and a Christian on right don't forget the Chinese on the end of block.

Nations are part of agreements for example UN charter, Geneva convention, INT court of justice and other mumbo jumbo, why we need another set of rules which not even Muslims agreed upon to fighting for establishment such as Shariaah from where the very logic of Jihad comes out?

Today even a pretty much conservative mind will not accept the so-called interpretation of Islam of which the trailer has been seen in Afghanistan, Somaila, Saudi Arabia, Swat, North Wazierstan and other caves.

I know one thing the home is built on foundation of steel & mainly cement is western, the electricity the use of standards of AC/DC is invented by west, the tv is made in Malaysia but by Sony a Japanese company infidel in Jihadies language, the iPad which I use right now to post this reply is by Apple Inc. designed in California but ironically made in China another infidel country which I am sure not love Muslims much.

The factory machinery in Faisalabad is made by Laeseer of Swizterland and ZSK of Germany more infidels well do I have choice? The international high finance, education, science, medical etc is all gora people and some Japs too not because they have extra 1000 cc brain, it's because we the Muslims are seem to be from another planet when you are in their gathering. If you have attended a conference in Swiss or NY of any scale you will know it felt like shyt when you land back at Lahore Airport.

You know an average person born in a not so faked up society (I will give example of male because I saw Jihadies are normally not comfortable with female) enjoy cartoons, picture books, have fantasies, don't get beaten up by below 200 cc jihadi mindset - they dream of becoming a scientist, maybe a doc and other difficult fields which I have seriously no idea they learn not just to make their lives comfortable but also for the betterment of rest of humanity unlike a jihadi from some cave with a single target of well raping that cute goat, well poor goat that's all I can say.

Oh the jihad, isn't I said enough?
No pun intended.

Firenze, how come your English grammar and spellings have become much better with returning back to Pakistan?

Oh and I agree with combatant jihad not being valid without a khalif.

I think this problem can be attribute to not secure enough supply of wine.

Help me !

There is no term called "jihadi". It's a word coined by ignorant western/US media after the word Jihad. This the connotation jihadi usually refers to someone fighting in the wrong cause.

The word is Mujahid. Get it? M.U.J.A.H.I.D.

To me, Jihad comes from Juhd which means to strive agains or struggles against. This can be against one ownself by the temptation one gets from the forbidden things. It could be a Jihad with pen by writting against the wrong things. It could be a Jihad with wealth by spending wealth in the path of God such as in building of a mosque, school, libraray, basically anything for the benefit of others, and to help poors and needy in the world.

And Yes it could be Jihad with weapons against the wrong. So, fighting against the occupier of the country is a Jihad against oppression. If there was no Jihad, Pakistan would not have come in to existence. Six hundred thousand people died in the struggle against the English occupiers before we got Pakistan.

Phunny.

edited. mucho gracia to stay on topic leave the correction to dictionary but the urban dictionary mind you.

Pakistan came into existence through political, peaceful and agreed upon process. Quaid wasn't head of militant organization it was a political party and neither he had edited beard unlike nearly all of *Jihadies.

You must be very naive to say the word peaceful for the whole process. Clearly, you are ignorant of the times and struggle millions of Muslims went through. Ask us whose parents and grand parents have gone through this during the process and during the migration thereafter.