Challooo....you are telling us it should be ok to wear monokini infront of brother, father?
Why not? She can wear anything in her own home, remember? If they have issues..nazar un ki gandi hai, woh bechari kyun parda karay. Haina? Isn't that what u said earlier?
Apni taraf se bari baat ke hai tumne…anyhow as Shafiq bhai said Desis. Take a statement out of context and apply the worst possible connotation to it.
I meant infront of her sister, mother.
Are you trying to be funny? Why would someone wear a monokini in their home?
I think it’s more disturbing that her brother is having sexual thought about his sister because why else would he notice what the hell his sister is wearing!
Yes I was trying to be funny because noone was wearing a monokini and noone said it was ok Sarcasm eh?
Unless I have misread this thread where is he having thoughts about his sister? All I read was uzair’s post, and I found the point disgusting hence I did not see the need to even comment on it.
I can understand why OP said "pakistani girls". Most girls in Pakistan do not wear anything under their see through lawn ke jorey. You can seriously see everything thats going on underneath the clothes.
far as your sister is concerned, Oblivion. As long as she is wearing the appropriate undergarments, I think you should ve okay with her "transparent" clothing which is most likely lawn. She is inside the house and its probably freakishly hot. I'd have more sympathy for your issue if she walked out the house like that.
sister or not, I can understand why it might be tempting or inappropriate. My aunt used to do something that I particularly found unsettling. I just don't understand why she used to wear clothes that had deeper than normal necklines and the pallu was never used to hide any accidental cleavage but it made it more eye catching and she used to do that in front of her brothers like they aren't human and male. I was female and even I found it inappropriate. So if the OP finds a bra or even worse nothing under his sister's see through salwar kameez, I don't see it as his fault.
Mom telling his sister is best and less uncomfortable. I hope the OP shows up again.
Well it’s your mom responsibility to object it at the first place. When young my mom use to always instruct whenever my dress was impropriate in front of the male members of house (father/ brothers). There is no harm in having a conversation with your sister about this as well. You can talk to your mom about this if your feel uncomfortable to talk to your sister directly.
the appropriate is to talk to your mom about this and let her tell your sister in her own way.
i can understand that being a brother and that too younger than your sis, you would find it uncomfortable talking to her about such a thing.
All those defending the idea that you can wear anything in your own home, i would like to say that this is co-related to who are the other members living in the home with you. if a woman is living with just her husband and little kids she can enjoy the liberty of wearing anything at home but if she is living with grown up brothers,dad,uncles,male cousins etc, then she has to dress in a way that is appropriate and not embarrassing to any one else.
I understand the sister wearing thin clothes while at home with the summers being so hot in Pakistan and there being no central AC. I'm pretty sure you prance around the house in your "banyan" all the time, but your sister she's some other worldly creature who shouldn't be affected by the hot weather.
Tauba karo bhai, aur dosron ko bhi jeenay do.
if it is hot anywhere doesn't mean one start roaming naked or semi naked. today it is about transparent clothes, tomorrow it would be lets not wear anything because its so hot and it is your own home.
if one is wearing transparent clothes, they can just drape the dupatta in presence of father and brothers.
Most other Muslim cultures.. Even the most religious Arabs, Turks, Iranians etc tend to allow their girls to wear sleeveless or shorts at home in front of their brothers and fathers.. but then again they don't have non-mehrams like cousins wandering about..
Yes, culturally it's not appropriate but in terms of religion it is fine to show arms and legs at home..
Ours is one of the very few which says girls should cover their hair at home or use a dupatta as a sign of respect to elders or to signal modesty.. Generally in Islam the home is thought to bethe place where a girl/woman can dress in a more relaxed rather than a more formal way.. Read up on it on Sunnipath or some other non-desi (ie worldwide) Muslim site..
Most other Muslim cultures.. Even the most religious Arabs, Turks, Iranians etc tend to allow their girls to wear sleeveless or shorts at home in front of their brothers and fathers.. but then again they don't have non-mehrams like cousins wandering about..
Yes, culturally it's not appropriate but in terms of religion it is fine to show arms and legs at home..
Ours is one of the very few which says girls should cover their hair at home or use a dupatta as a sign of respect to elders or to signal modesty.. Generally in Islam the home is thought to bethe place where a girl/woman can dress in a more relaxed rather than a more formal way.. Read up on it on Sunnipath or some other non-desi (ie worldwide) Muslim site..
yea i agree about arab culture that its common there. but wearing sleeveless or shorts does not come under "you can wear anything". wearing sleeveless is not that inappropriate as wearing transparent clothes.
religion tells us to dress modestly, and that is the key.
i am not sure or have not done any research as well as to what extent women are allowed to keep arms and legs bare in front of mehrams. like full arms, under arms, legs,thighs? m not sure.
btw m not of the view that if any arab/middle eastern country is doing something it has to 100 percent correct Islamically. For instance Saudia doesn't allow women to drive whereas it is not prohibited by Islam. but khair that's another debate.
First of all im sorry about the title of the thread, and i will explain my situation a bit further because i read many different opinions here. And i am her brother so that should already clear up a few things. Yes my mom could talk to her or father but its a big house my mom and younger brother are always on the ground floor while me and my sister are on the first floor our rooms i mean so mom bearly notices anything or younger brother.
i cannot reply to everyone here so i will try to make it clearer to everybody. My dads out of the house most of the time working. younger brother is out at university or with friends and mom is on the ground floor so she does not notice. And someone said here its ok until she is wearing the undergarment... is it normal to see her in her undergarments really?? She wears it so thin that its like she is not wearing anything above the undergarments at all, how is that normal? and i have noticed she gets a duppata on her whenever my mom or dad or younger brother are around but never infront of me? is that normal? and about that nazar teri gandi ha thing how can you not notice all that. If you had a sister would you not notice something like that and be worried about it? Yes i admit its hot here but its not that hot.
Are you trying to be funny? Why would someone wear a monokini in their home?
I think it's more disturbing that her brother is having sexual thought about his sister because why else would he notice what the hell his sister is wearing!
Thanking sara516 , thedoer i have no such sexual feeling for my own sister if had one i would not be posting the problem on a forum rather enjoying seeing her like that but you have the right to share your opinion.