What is the correct word

Doodh ki Balai or Doodh ki Malai?

Is there any difference in Balai and Malai? :hmmm:

Re: What is the correct word

balai is urdu i think......malai is punjabi may be....:S

Yes Malai is Punjabi and Balai is in Urdu

But they use both words here in Karachi... probably many Milk shops are owned by Punjabi Community, because they always use Malai for this.. Every time I go to buy Dahi and asked for that without balai, the shopkeeper repeats 'without Malai'?

But we have Malai Kofta, Rus Malai type dishes too.. which are probably not from Punjabi origin. So Malai can't be said typical Punjabi word.

Here in marathi,urdu we use malai I never heard balai.may be in classic and pure urdu you call it balai.

May be a person from Lucknow or Delhi can explain. There is also a connected issue with this. Some people use 'Khatta Dahi' and some say 'Khatti Dahi'.

Oh yaar aithay sanu match vi payi a tusi apni malai balai layi hui a :mad:

Match ki jo surat e haal hai uss ke baad aap se khana to khaya nahin jae ga, malai / balai wala doodh pee lejiye ga :snooty:

Aur haan sotay waqt ye gana zaroor suniye ga:

Anyone, knows difference between Balai & Malai?

Peace muqawwee123

I always thought that balai is the Urdu variant of the word bhaley - which is from dahi bhaley ... it is a savoury dish where chickpea flour balls are deep fried and soaked in yoghurt. Malai means cream and is typical to the sweet dish ras malai ...

I think people have gradually taken balai to mean just something round and ball like and hence they have started interchanging the name malai with balai ...

i think balai is a reference to the shape whereas malai is a reference to the ingredient - i.e. milk, cream or milky/creamy ...

This is my guess ...

Changa honda match vaikhan di jaggah assi vi malai balai de chakran de vich phassay honday, ya MQM da jalsa hi waikh laynday…

I thought malai and balai are same, you can either use balai or malai.

But isn't balai mean 'something on top'.. as we say Balai Punjab - Upper Punjab... and as the Malai came up on top of the milk while boiling, its also called Balai.

So seems that Balai and Malai are same thing.

^ Yes Balai literally means 'the top layer' .. just like in places like Lucknow, attic of the house is still called Bala Khana.

Yes.. I remember Ilyas Sita Puri’s ‘Bala Khane ki Dulhan’ :hehe:

Balai is Urdu, Malai is used in Punjabi as well as Hindi. I don’t know which other languages use the same word.

And as TLK, rightly pointed out, balai literally means the ‘upper layer’, in this context the upper layer of milk.

Psyah, your definition cracked me up:rotfl:

I have a feeling that Malai comes from Mulaa'em (soft). Balai has different meaning but used in the same context. and the fact that they both rhymes, we probably thought them as changed pronunciation of the same word

balai? im hearing it for the first time ever…cnt be urdu :snooty:.

^ You are right, its Italian.

ho sakta hai, mainu ki :hoonh:

when you eat so much malai that your sinuses are clogged, you say bah bah kya balai hai boss..