what is story behind the sardar jokes of striking twelve?

i have intention of hurting the feelings of my sikh brother and sisters but i was just curious to find out what is a the story behind all those jokes about sardars going berserk as the clock strikes twelve?
can some one throw some light on it?

no idea on this one, but what i was told was that in the villages and old cities of india, they never had the time system straight.. so one or two guys were on CONSTANT duty of ringing the ghanta .. now what used to happen is that they had to ring it using 1 “TUNN” for 1o’clock, 2 for 2 and so on ..

now it explains that when it used to reach 12, it was REAL pain on the ears to hear TUN TUN TUN TUN… so thats why, they started going kokuuu about this 12o’clock stuff..

btw, its not reality .. like in canadia newfoundland people (or newfies are), here in local pk pathans are, in india, there are sardars .. so its just that they need a laughing icon, not necessarily true .. but u know ..there are twisted people out there

Never frown, even when your are sad,because you never know who is falling in love with your smile.

12 o clock in the afternoon is the hottest part of the day…
Yaar so what I have heard is that, since most of the Sikhs are mazdoor tabqa, 12 o clock in the afternoon is almost unbearable for the Sikhs, cause they are wearing this huge pagar on their head. All the heat and the sweat inside the turban…probably makes them go mad.

Rani…would you like to shed some light on this topic…

/* ^You mess wid me…I mess wid U^- AlCapone *\

People make Sikh Jokes because of jealousy. Sikhs are one of the most successful community in India, very rarely you will ever find a Sikh begger on the streets. Others cannot match up with their success therefore try to put them down.

Same is true of many people on this forum. I posted one Joke about muslims and it was locked up very quickly and the same people who resented and hated muslim joke, think it is okay to make fun of others. All I can say is that they are jealous or completely insenstive and clueless regarding right and wrong behavior and how to treat others with respect. I guess it is hard for them to change what they have been taught.

Having said that here is how 12:00 Joke was born enjoy:

================================================
How the Sikh joke was born
Preetinder Singh

Hindus use the 12 o'clock joke to rib the Sikhs without quite knowing what it's about. In turn, the Sikh victims get infuriated without quite knowing why. The origins of the joke, now lost in the mists of time, were in dead earnest. If the Sikhs knew the real story, they would be proud to be alluded to as the `12 o'clock people', and the Hindus would regard them with a new respect.
To understand the joke, we have to go back to the time of Guru Gobind Singh. Then, Delhi was ruled by Aurangzeb, an autocrat who had a firm rein on his government and patrolled his borders well. There was little chance of an invasion, but the emperor's insistence on concentrating all power in his own hands -- for fear of meeting the same fate as he had inflicted upon his father Shah Jehan -- ultimately ensured the downfall of his line.

Aurangzeb did not allow even his own sons to acquire administrative experience for fear that they would get too powerful for him to handle. In the absence of compelling authority, the Mughal empire crumbled immediately after his death. Under Bahadur Shah, his successor, the centre refused to hold and the borders became vulnerable. In 1739 Nadir Shah, King of Persia, crossed the frontier and swept down towards the capital. He was the first invader who was here only to plunder and kill, with no intention of staying on. His troops reached Delhi, where they killed 1.5 lakh people, both Hindus and Muslims. He headed homewards almost immediately, taking back incredible loot gold, jewelry, elephants, horses, camels, skilled labourers and, as is usual in war, women.

The troops had to pass through Punjab and when the Sikhs heard of the enormous number of captured women, they decided to intervene. Without a strong military leader, they could not afford to make a frontal attack. They took to making midnight guerrilla raids on Nadir Shah's camp. Every night, small bands of Sikhs would strike with the sole intention of freeing as many of the captive women as possible and returning them to their homes before daybreak. These attacks became something of an institution later, after Nadir Shah had quit the country, when an increasing number of invaders began to come down into the Indian plains, drawn by its fabled riches.

Thus was the 12 o'clock joke born. Initially, instead of being grateful for their heroism, Hindus would say that the Sikhs are in their senses only at night. It was apparently futile to expect help from them at other times. Then they referred to midnight, for they didn't want to credit the Sikhs with sense for the duration of a whole night.

The Sikhs were naturally annoyed. They were trying to help the Hindus and were getting only derision in return. They were always armed, and did not hesitate to draw steel. To minimise personal risk, Hindus started referring to the relatively neutral 12 o'clock, rather than midnight, and even then they often ran for their lives. The final result was the safe, bald statement, `It is 12 o'clock,' shorn of all reference to its very interesting history.

When Hindus crack this joke, they are oblivious to the fact that had the Sikhs not intervened, their womenfolk would have been dishonoured and taken into exile. The Sikhs should be proud of the 12 o'clock incident. Because of them, the dignity of the Hindu community was restored after Nadir Shah's invasion, the most terrible act of war ever to be perpetrated in India.It hurts me most when a woman inflicts the 12 o'clock joke on me. It sets me wondering whether one of my forefathers had not rescued one of her foremothers. Had it not been for help from my community, perhaps, this woman might have been living in a foreign land, and in very different circumstances.

Copyright © 1998 Indian Express Newspapers (Bombay) Ltd.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited February 09, 2001).]

thats a better one ..

… very informative article rani ji..

Never frown, even when your are sad,because you never know who is falling in love with your smile.

rani ppl like sick jokes cuz they are funny..no reason for ppl to get jelous u know

I agree with Rani's postings. I have also read a lot about 12o'clock jokes. During Mughal rule in India sikhs used to attack mughal forces around midnight when they were asleep and then mughals and hindus started jokes on sikhs indicating sikhs get mad around 12o'clock but in reality sikhs were kicking their asses.

WHY MUSLIMS ARE CALLED "KATUAS" IN HINDI AND "SULLA" IN PUNJABI? Anybody pl. answer. Thanks.

well this was indeed a very informative article by rani . well i had no intention of hurting anyones feelings as i had said earlier i was just curious to know that story behind it iam glad but
well its good to know that sikhs were helping rescue the hindu women and its sad that hindus repayed them with what? every body knows that.
but its a bit of paradox that rani claims that sikhs were fighting to save the honour of the women because the very same people were responsible for abducting thousands of women during the partition. infact sikh jathas were infamous for that .even today there are many muslim women in punjab who were abducted and treated like cattle .
so much for the honour of women . iguess when the clock struck 12 sikhs were fighting for good when it came to hindus but became demons when they faced muslims.

but its a bit of paradox that rani claims that sikhs were fighting to save the honour of the women because the very same people were responsible for abducting thousands of women during the partition. infact sikh jathas were infamous for that .even today there are many muslim women in punjab who were abducted and treated like cattle

Bunch of crap to hide muslim crimes. Hindu and Sikhs never attack women unlike muslims who consider women war booty. It is sad that we have people like Kabir living among us who have no idea of right and wrong can glorify and rationalize all evil commited by his tribe.

Originally posted by Sheraz CT:
rani ppl like sick jokes cuz they are funny..no reason for ppl to get jelous u know

I disagree it is pure jealousy. The same Jokes can be told without naming any community, they will still be funny.

BTW, why all muslims were jumping up and down at funny muslim joke. The joke was locked by fair minded moderator who sees nothing wrong with Sikh jokes.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited February 10, 2001).]

i dont think so rani..maybe ur joke was plain stupid..u were trying too hard but it didnt work…on the other hand sikh jokes are really funny..and why would anyone be jelous? its not that hard to grow hair u know..we just dont like it too long..jelous word is a really stupid word to use actually..even punjabi ppl tell me sikh jokes u know

this is for u rani

Two sardars walking down the street notice a make-up compact powder on
the sidewalk and one of them leans down to pick it up. He opens it,
looks in the mirror and says: “Hmm, this person looks familiar.” The
second sardar says: “Here, let me see!” So he takes the compact from
his
companion, looks into the mirror and exclaims: “You dumb ass, it’s me!”

Originally posted by Sheraz CT:
*i dont think so rani..maybe ur joke was plain stupid..u were trying too hard but it didnt work...on the other hand sikh jokes are really funny..and why would anyone be jelous? its not that hard to grow hair u know..we just dont like it too long..jelous word is a really stupid word to use actually..even punjabi ppl tell me sikh jokes u know *

So my Joke was stupid that is why it was locked... do you realize that this kind of statement makes you look ...STUPID :)

Now a Paki Joke for you:
Two Paki muslims walking down the street notice a make-up compact powder on

the sidewalk they see a contact one of them leans down to pick it up. He opens it,
looks in the mirror and says: "Hmm, this person looks familiar." The
second Paki muslim says: "Here, let me see!" So he takes the compact from
his
companion, looks into the mirror and exclaims: "You dumb ass, it's me!"

See the Joke is more funny now...ha haa haa

P.S. Sikhism is not about hair it is about following a very uplifting teachings of Sikh Gurus and respecting everyone regardless of their religion ...but you are too stupid to realize that..:)

Originally posted by Rani:

Bunch of crap to hide muslim crimes. Hindu and Sikhs never attack women unlike muslims who consider women war booty. It is sad that we have people like Kabir living among us who have no idea of right and wrong can glorify and rationalize all evil commited by his tribe.**

WELL rani me hiding muslim war crimes? well when you dont have any answer this is how you behave i have facts and the whole world knows how savagely the sikhs behaved in 1947 . if you go to indian punjab you will still find many women who were abducted by your sikhs .and its racist of you to say that muslim considered women as war booty
those days were of kings and bandits and they had no religion when nadirshah plundered delhi he spared no hindu or muslim whosoever came by his sword died irrespective of the religion and he abducted hindu and muslim women so its wrong to paint them in a islamic color . i can give you a story in mahabharat when the some king refused to invite the princes of hastinapur to his daughters swayamvar bhisma went there amd abducted all his three daughters .it is there in your religion and you blame the muslims?
i have been talking against muslims too and i am very vocal about the wrongs in muslims and i have no shame to admit thier the mistakes of past . any way rani i dont this this section is right to debate on this issue when i wrote this post i was just curious to know the origins of this story.i never intended to make fun of any body .

ch ch ch ch .. kiya baat hay .. ek honest question ko utha kar ye shakal day di gayee.. yar shiraz-CT .. u GOTTA admit man .. hamlay karnay main aapka jawab nahin hay, but wohee hamlay jab aap par palat-tay hain to reaction MAIN BHEE aapka jawab nahin hota hay ..

.. here on the virtual land, its pretty necessary that we remain neutral .. so if u l@@k at the both version of the joke, your’s and rani’s.. u will c that both are funny .. infact NEHLAY PE DEHLA style main rani ji nay usko ziyada funny kar diya hay .. ab ye matt kehna ke oh comeon, pk par hamla hay aur ghairatdaar log aap kharay hojayen aur nara-e-takbeer waghaira.. think of newfies, ya .. hmmmmm .. sardars or .. like pathans.. aur ziyada door kyoon jaatay hain .. kisee westerner say pooch lain “JOKES ABOUT PAKI” .. eemaan, rooh, sab kuch taza ho jayega

come on man .. jokes ki dunya ko jokes ki dunya rehnay day.. ek question poocha giya, jawab mila, taayen taayen fish..

topain lay kar golay daghna zaroori thori na hay..

btw, rani and kabir .. please hold the horses please

, as its joke forum and not flaming/history/religion/social discussion area.. have criticism, present it so others can enjoy

and sherazCT miyan, (lagta hay sheraz seeti bajata hay heheeh, cunnecticut ka to bahana hay shaid), aap kisee ki bhee religious beliefs ka mazaq nahin ura saktay .. hamari apni kitab main ye maujood hay saf saf ke kisee bhee doosray religion ki chaahay JESI BHEE practises kyoon na hon . .. ham ko ye haqq nahin hasil ..

aur janab, just a side note, aap kiya samajhtay hain ke hamari din main panch bar namaz ka, shariyati-darhiyon ka, aur doosri practises ka mazaq nahin banta kiya?

.. ch ch ch ch .. yar thori research karain . .. .JIS WAQT AAPKO PATA CHALA NA MIYAN SHERAZ ke sikhon ke “FIVE KAYs”.. karpaan, kach, waghaira ki LOGIC kiya hay .. tabb main SURE hoon ke aap ek lamhay ke liyay to speechless rah jayengay …

dj arsh yar.. kiddddaaan yar?

I have Sikh friends who find Sardarejee jokes quite funny Rani. You could also laugh about it because after all, you are in a discussion forum which is predominantly Pakistani, and you don't expect Muslim and Pakistani jokes to be circulating do you?

If you are broad-minded and open enough to be participating in discussions here, you should not be offended by petty jokes. I found your lil Pakistani joke funny, I guess I'm pretty comfortable with who I am, so I didn't get offended in the least.

goose ji .. EXACTO…

goose ji perfect reply

i dont know why rani isnt comfertable with this..rani i really dont mind if u make paki/muslim jokes..they just have to be funny..just try not to copy my jokes

confused i have nothing against anyone buddy..sikh jokes are just like blonde jokes..who says blondes r dumb..its just that they are there so thats it..rani try to be funny next time

Originally posted by Goose:
**I have Sikh friends who find Sardarejee jokes quite funny Rani. You could also laugh about it because after all, you are in a discussion forum which is predominantly Pakistani, and you don't expect Muslim and Pakistani jokes to be circulating do you?

If you are broad-minded and open enough to be participating in discussions here, you should not be offended by petty jokes. I found your lil Pakistani joke funny, I guess I'm pretty comfortable with who I am, so I didn't get offended in the least.**

No you are wrong i mind all racist jokes. I think you have not been taught to respect others or be sensitive.

Just as Hindus made 12:00 joke to overcome their cowardness, you guys are posting Sikh jokes to show your racism. I don't think i can convince you. This kind of sensitivity and respect for other comes with upbringing.

Go ahead and post as many racist jokes you want, it just reaffirms my view that Pakis are the very racist people and no amount of protesting or reasoning will stop them or make them change their mind.

P.S. There are no Sikhs in Paki land, i wonder why you care so much about them that you keep on making fun of them.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited February 11, 2001).]

SHAYARI ON MUSLIMS, PL. DON'T MIND!!

"YEH MUSALMANO KEY RIVAAZ BHEE BADEY AJEEB HOTEY HAIN, KEHTEY HAIN ADAAB, AUR AGAR DAAB DIYA TO RONE LAGTEY HAIN"

"YEH MUSALMANO KEY RIVAAZ BHEE BADEY AJEEB HOTEY HAIN, PEHENTEY HAIN SIRKAA PAR KAHATEY HAIN BURKAA"

WHY MUSLIMS ARE CALLED "KATOO" OR "KATUA" IN HINDI OR URDU AND "SULLA" IN PUNJABI? anybody pl. answwer...!!

kabir.it will take u years to figure them out