What is Pakistani culture?

No really, what is it? I always hear people say this or that is not our culture, but they never explain what exactly is our culture. How is our culture different from the bordering countries like India, Iran, Afghanistan, etc.

Re: What is Pakistani culture?

good question, i always wondered that too

sometimes i feel like it’s a combination of afghan and indian(muslim) subculture, but i might have it completely and totally wrong :vivo:

So What is Iranian, American, Russian, Chinese, Cambodian, Australian, British etc. culture?

Can anyone answer these?

My point is

A country's culture is not really a culture of a country. It is always a mix bag of small or large groups of people living in a country.

Yup culture is like Haleem . Mix of everything , you can't figure out what is what , but it just tastes good .

A culture is a cultivated behaviour that is adopted by a mass in certain geographical area. For example, the living, the architecture, the linguistics even the religous thingy if adopted and practiced by that mass, becomes a culture. I dont agree that its “always” a mix. Like it can be a mix in united states or canada where most of the people have got settled from outside but not really in Britian or China or Iran or France or Arab world etc. Take for example one area like Britian where they have their own accent, architecture etc. and that makes up their culture. Ive noticed that two things really determine the culture more strongly. One is the dialect and the other is dresses/apparel. So if we apply it on Pakistan, its certainly not true that we dont have any culture, we certainly do but its getting gradually changed. so may be in 25 years, it will be different from now. Normally in strong cultures, changes come only in hundreds of years. :chai:

If anyone reads your bold sentences, it is easy to get the contradictions you inadvertently made.

First you included Canada in mix bag and excluded Britain from places where people from outside came and settled.

Then you included Britain in places where people from outside got settled. And anyone knows Britain has a large number of population who settled from many countries even from EU countries.

Britain does not have one dilect or apparel.

No large country is so pure that all of its residents have same culture to make the culture of a ‘country’.

You also made a fundemental error where you assumed that mix bag of culture only means where people from outside settle in a country.

Even people who are born, raised and live for centuries in a country have many different dilects, dresses/apparels and make up a mix bag of culture in a given country.

Last part of your post makes some sense. Sorry, I had to separate it from the rest and made a paragraph by itself.

There is no such thing as culture of a country. Culture belongs to groups of people.

Well, as it always happens with desis, we are very good at pointing out contradictions or mistakes or wutever, instead of just disgreeing with logic. I'm not surprised. I only get this sorta response on GS, none of other forums.

Anywaz, I'd repeat that culture belongs to a mass in a certain geographical area. I only gave example of countries cuz to mark it easily, we gotta seperate these geographical areas in countries. (And btw, before some fingers point out at me, let me say it in the most easy words that by mass I do mean "group of people")

pakistani culture is a combination of all of its subcultures(punjabi, sindhi, pashto, balochi, seraiki,etc) and the same with all other countries including india where it's a combination of all the subcultures within each religious group of every state

taking a bow

Fix't

So instead of answering point by point you resorted to use word desi as if it were a bad word or generalization that desis do not agree with so called logic and merely point out contradiction?

Bhai sahab, Sorry, my dear friend, (happy? since bhai sahab was too ‘desi’ to hurt your feelings, I changed), masses in a geographical area means majority in geographical area. Even though I may be poor desi :hehe:, but still know what masses means and what the word ‘masses’ excludes. Masses = Majority.

It means when you wrote masses you only tried to talk about majority above. And your statement was not true.

Now come to ‘geographical area’ as you said.

Geographic areas never represent culture. They just bind people to live with an identity of a location or country.

Culture can still be exactly same within two miles across border of one country in to other. One mile this way, one mile other way.

Culture is boundaryless.

Regarding your comment about other forums you do not get these kind of responses I must say it is the problem of their members who might not have catched the contradiction you might have made.

1- I was very polite and used word ‘inadvertently’
2- I also agreed with last part of your statement to some extent.
3- I even said sorry to separate it from your contradictory statements.

And still you came out bashing the entire desis? Great!

Fail. All of you. The OP asked what Pakistani culture was, not what the definition of culture is.

IMO Pakistani culture differs from region to region, as each subgroup has its own thang (which is what the teddy bear said). The Pakistani culture the OP is questioning is a fantastical rulebook made up of religion and folklore mostly revolved around ethics and values.

Example: Though polygamy is allowed in Islam, it is looked down upon in our culture.

pakistani cultures..includes but not limited to: the foods (using sub continent spices), rakshaws, the way their trucks are designed, when everyone their say VIP for everything meaning good, the pinds, hospitality, and many other things..ill add more when i come up with something

My favorite line growing up,

“girls don’t go out with friends b/c its not part of our culture.” :chai:

In grade 6, the Pakistani girl in the class didn’t go camping with the rest of us. When asked why she wasn’t going, she said “it’s not allowed in my culture for girls to go…”.

What is Pakistani culture in terms of recreation? What do Pakistanis do for fun?

Peace

I think this question does deserve a straight answer. I believe generally there is a culture to every nation. I also hold true that the various religions of people in an area will dictate the culture in certain ways, but on the whole culture is what is observed and makes an area stand out from other areas. When we talk about a British culture we assume it is understood that we are talking about only those elements of Britishness that set it apart from others. Like for example - the culture of standing line and in queues is a very British thing.

The thing that sets Pakistanis apart from Indians can be seen in the dramas to some extent. Pakistan tends to be more posh, whereas India do not really feel a need to portray poshness in their society or at least to the same extent. This does not mean that there is more richness in Pakistan ... far from it.

In recent years I see that Pakistan is more rock music centric and India is more pop music orientated. The programmes of Pakistan use 'trance' music and Indian dramas tend to have songs made from the intros.

I believe there is probably more argumentation amongst political no bodys in Pakistan also, they seem to be less organised than the Indians in their government.

Indians are better at thinking long term than Pakistanis

American culture is about treating people of other nations as aliens and British culture is about snobbery of Pakistan multiplied, but with loss instead of going quiet there is this "can't take it baby lost its dummy attitude" in the Brits.

Americans are less reserved than British people, Germans tend to be either too reserved or too liberal.

So I think there is something to be said regarding culture differences.

Not really. There is no culture of a country as a collective term. If the question were to be phrased like: What are Pakistani based cultures then it would have been more accurate.

You most likely have been fooled. In Pakistan, girls have been going out with boys albiet in lesser number for a long time.

Aww! Poor thing. Such a disappointment. :hehe:

Same as anyone else. What makes you think that question?

OK.

Countries are formed and broken, culture stays or is changed somewhat with time too.

Before Partition, Pakistani culture included Bangla language, not now.

Hence, culture is not based on country.

All above posts actually confirm that there is no Culture of Pakistan and similarly, there is no culture of any ‘country’.

It is the majority of people which we come across to us makes us believe what is the predominant ‘behavior’ of people who come from a particular country.

Sadly, most things that involve ,modernization and gender equality are not part of our culture.

Gotta love the Food though! :D

mix of indian, central asian and persian culture.....but like 60% is indian..

It's a mix of Indian culture (with some extreme Hindu aspects deleted but quite a few Hindu ones remain in a nonreligious way), Iranian and Arab culture.