What is islam????

ASSALAM O ALAIKUM WA RAHAMTULLAHI WABARAKTUH
Dear friends
I want to ask a question from all the participants of this forum:
What is ISLAM??
As per my understanding it is
FOR AHL E HADEES / SALAFI/ATHARI ( as per their saying)
The Quraan & the Hadees of Rasul (SAW)

FOR MUAQALLIDEEN (as per their saying)
The Quraan & the Hadees of Rasul (SAW) & ijtehad of the imams (rahimahumullah)
FOR SHIAS (as per their saying)
The Quraan & the Hadees of Rasul (SAW) which are transmitted thru twelve imams.
In addition the saying of the imams (rahimahumullah)
For hanafi dobandis : in addition to Quraan & the Hadees of Rasul (SAW), the saying and teachings of their eminent ulema.
For hanafi barelvis : in addition to Quraan & the Hadees of Rasul (SAW), the saying and teachings of their eminent ulema. Especially Imam ahmed Raza khan sahib

FOR SUFIS??? I DON’T UNDERSTAND WHAT EXACTLY their fate rather faith is?
Correct me if I m wrong

Please comment!!!

Thanks
Ruswa

Re: What is islam????

Sufis have the same belief as Ahle Sunnah wal Jammah.

Excluding salafies & deobanies, rest of them are kafirs?

Sufies and brailvies are the same stock.

I belong to a brailvy family. I have seen my father, mother, grandfather, grandmother and others doing the things which others called "shirk" and "biddah". But I love them very much and I have no regret being born in a brailvy family. I do not want to be a muslim and I am far more than happy being brailvi.

I'm very much allergic of all deobandi and salafai moulives as I think today they are responsible for the current terroism in the world.

^ You're entitled to your own opinion.

No offence, but brailvis really ANNOY me. The ones I have come across are show offs, backward minded, hard core peer believers and do things that are not even part of the Quraan & the Hadees of Rasul (SAW) e.g. recite naats on every occasion be it after Jumma Salah or Namaaze Janaaza. They turn their mosques into places for social gathering.

With no offense to anyone, this message is for people who knows whom am I talking to:

People who sings/recites naat on the tunes of old indian songs, PLEASE for Allah's SAKE, don't try to make fun of our beliefs. IS THIS the way of showing respect to your Prophet (saw) ??

If you really want to recite naat of the Prophet (saw) than why don't you recite the naat that Allah has said in the QURAN. (check Surah Thoha and others)

Can anyone say naat better than ALLAH ? We know no one can, so let us not get influenced by indian songs and recite the naat which Allah has blessed us with

Re: What is islam???

I’m just a Muslim.

During my great-grandparents and grandparents generation our family was more Barailvi inclined, lighting Diyas at Mazaars and Qawwali and all that stuff but since about 40 yrs ago the clergy in our village Mosque changed so now we’re more Deobandi.

I personally don’t identify with any sect, I take the good from whichever sect and I try and follow the orders of Allaah :swt: and the teachings of His servant Muhammad :saw:.

The Barelvis are more into naach-gaana than ruhaaniyat, they’ve even made deen and ibaadat into a shughal.

When I was 16 I knew a Barelvi boy who was part of his Mosque choir yet was very lax when it came to religion-proper, he would take the name of Allaah :swt: and Rasool :saw: with a naapaak mouth and it use to make me cringe, astaghferollah!

^ I’m glad somebody else shares the same thoughts on brailvis. Majority of the people I live around are Brailvees. Every Year they decorate the street in the welcoming of peer saab. They recite naats and do dhikr on a microphone disturbing the locals during salah time. They blast naats on loud speakers for the rest of us to enjoy :rolleyes: and they call themselves religious. They can’t even distinguish between culture and religion!

I went to a namaaze- janaaza at a brailvee mosque today, they had a man stood with a microphone singing some kind of a naat while stood at the body of the deceased …The words were pathetic like 'aj qabar di raat kaali something something…" astagfirullah

Allah Maaf Farmai.

Is this Islam for the barelvis?.

Thats shocking...at least to me. I never thought they do that kinda stuff in a Mosque...is that in a Mosque...I think it is.

What has gone to peoples mind...why can't the understand a simple message but instead make it so complicated.

Ya Allah apna karam or reham farma.

BTW who are these people? Brailvey or what ????

Islam gets bad image through such acts.May Allah show them the right path.

When you give respect to anyone you don’t call him with his actual name. You call him through his post/ other names. Like President sahab, chairman sahab, director sahab, Iman sahab, minister sahab, principal sahab…etc

In the Quran Allah call the Prophet (saw) with names like Ya-ayyuhannabi, Ya- ayyuhal mudassir,…etc. BUT never Ya- Mohammad.

Now who has given anyone the right to shout and write Ya- Muhammad in the masjids.

islam is commiting ur self to ALLAH

The upper video lead me to the following videos. Astonishing !! IT seems some people are giving a very bad name to ISlam.

wrong
sufis have the faith that they are the god in themself
and sufisiam actually comes from the indian rahibs

sufis forbade to offer nimaz
sufis says that everything is God
but muslim says no everthing God's the difference is ' comma'

muslim says everything belongs to God not God themself

they believe in wahdatal wajood but muslim believe in wahdatul shawood
'

A person who violates Shariat cannot be called a Sufi... period.

Perhaps the following might help understanding what what was shown in the videos. What you witnessed in the videos is called ‘hadra.’

Forbidden Forms of Dhikr

(Source: Various Questions (4))

Q. Shaykh Bouti, for example, is known to have participated in the hadra. The same is also related of Shaykh `Abd al Fatah - as one of my teachers told me - from his students, such as Shaykh Mamduh and Shaykh Muhammad Rasheed.
Is there any ‘proof’ available for this?

A. To begin with, the hadra of the Ulema is not like the hadra of the Awamm. Read the classic discussions of sama and replace the latter with the word “hadra.” See for example Ibn al-Hajj’s discussion of the samain the Madkhal and al-Suhrawardi's inAwarif al-Maarif. These were major Sufi Fuqaha'. In the eyes of the true inheritors in Damascus, the Hadra there is fraught with infractions and is mostly a hadra of the Awamm which the Masters themselves nowadays have issues with, long before the objections of an outsider.

Secondly, besides the above problem, among the Ulema who might be present at a hadra there might be actual Sufis and there might be mere sympathizers who are passing through. Dr Buti may well have kissed the hand of some senior Sufi Shuyukh and stood in the hadra, just as Sh Taqi Uthmani may well have attended many Mawlids and Sh Abd al-Fattah has several Sufi silsilas among his ijazas. All this “proves” little.

It would be a mistake to blur the difference since, when it comes to brass tacks, there are divergences between the two groups. An example of this is the firm rejection I’ve witnessed, by Shadhili teachers such as Sayyid Mustafa Basir and Sayyid Muhammad al-Ya`qubi, of many of the comments Sh Abu Ghudda made in the margins of Imam al-Harith al-Muhasibi’s Risalat al-Mustarshidin.

Another example is the scandal Dr Buti caused in Syria when he called the Naqshbandis’ concept of rabita “shirk”. One of the kurdish Shuyukh of Qamushli wrote in a few days a quite useful book to correct him, although this age is no longer prepared to reap the benefit of such correctives. The `Awamm (in society and on the Internet) become tied in knots at the idea of “a fight between Ulema”. It only worsens matters when some among the latter, also, are far from prepared to be corrected, not to mention the pupils.

A further complication is that the non-Sufi Ulema of Damascus are a type of oxymoron, because they drank in tasawwuf from their environment. So, as Dr Wahba Zuhayli does, they may firmly defend what their minds comprehend, such as Tawassul and the celebration of Mawlid, but not what they do not comprehend, such as the Hadra and the Rabita, or even some of the karamat of the Awliya.(*) They may be seen in self-contradictory positions, either in good faith or because their understanding varies according to context and company but Allah knows best.

(*) When Dr Samer al-Nass spoke at length about the karaamaat of Shaykh Ahmad al-Harun in the talk devoted to him in Jamial-Tawba, Dr Hisham al-Burhani interrupted him on the pretext that he "was not focusing enough onilm!" which I thought was ironic since most of those karaamaat contained pointed lessons in Tawhid.

A final, related complication is modernism. Among their countless innovations of accommodation, the Ikhwan al-Muslimin invented a Diet Tasawwuf based on patchwork. They picked and chose. Worse, they did so according to a deliberately egalitarian vision, free of the spiritually-grounded authority (and manhaj) of the founding Awliya and their Turuq inheritors. This resulted in people like Sh Yusuf al- Qaradawi discoursing on “the real Sufism” and so forth against the Sufis themselves. This, and a post-Wahhabi, post-La-Madhhabi Azhar, is the backdrop from which your friends like Webb and “the Transtalors” take their cues, regurgitating worn-out issues over which they can accuse the Fuqaha, Sufis and Asharis of "taassub" to coat over their own talfiq and lack of adab.

Was-Salam.
GF Haddad

Yes I know bravlies do whatever you guys mentioned, but still I will remain bravelvi and will never accept Islam. I will remain a kafir.