What is an islamic wedding?

Can someone tell me? Thankssss.

From what I know, it's just the Nikkah that is necessary - no rukhsati or other prior functions are necessary. Mehndis, dancing, singing are haraam as are the various Rassams. Islamic weddings are supposed to be very simple. Basically, you're supposed to avoid all pomp and show.

I'm sure other people have their expert knowledge to impart on this topic. There's also the issue of gift-giving. According to hadith, it's just supposed to be fruit and the sort.

CAT,

I didnt expect yuou to know,

surprise cat

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

You make me SCARED

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte

Originally posted by Azad Munna:

hmmm, why the shock horror? You’d be surprised by my knowledge. Things aren’t always what they seem to be.

Cat,

Yes i now know "things arnt always what they seem to be "Dont you think its surprising & somtimes thaught of surprise scare

you ?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Besides breeding Contempt ,Familiarity makes us COMFORTABLE with the thaught that you “know” When that myth is broken,I guess one is disturbed,surprised, scared & confused!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Who are you ?& more important why have you been throwing decoies to lead us astray?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif

Do you know what halala is ?

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte

So can some one tell us how to plan a wedding in a true Islamic manner in todays day and time?

*Originally posted by cat-woman: *
From what I know, it's just the Nikkah that is necessary - no rukhsati or other prior functions are necessary. Mehndis, dancing, singing are haraam as are the various Rassams. Islamic weddings are supposed to be very simple. Basically, you're supposed to avoid all pomp and show.

I'm sure other people have their expert knowledge to impart on this topic. There's also the issue of gift-giving. According to hadith, it's just supposed to be fruit and the sort.

Singing, dancing, mehndis are all not haram at weddings. The Prophet (pbuh) once said to his wife Aisha (ra) to sing, clap and be happy for the bride to be. Something like that

Majestic, I agree. Celebrating is perfectly not haraam. Sure mehndis and other desi rasams have a hindu background...but last time I checked, no muslim was worshipping hindu gods while doing dandia.

I am sure god wouldn't care if people enjoyed thems elves on an auspicious occasion. So put on your red shoes and dance!!

Majestic is rite.....singing is not haraam...there are a few Hadith which showed that the Prophet allowed singing on festivals such as Eid and other occassion such as Marriages.

And Cat...Rukhsati's always there, when u take the bride from the her parents house. And besides that there's this Valima...which is a very important part of the wedding. But the main thing is the Nikah.

Salam
All the mehndi, dancing, singing, etc is not haram. Yes its an added part of culture (I part i enjoy very much :slight_smile: ). Every culture takes its own spin on things :)Anyway, majestic what you are talking about-one day Aisha(R) and some friends were singing, and i believe, someone correct me if I am wrong, playing a tambourine. Abu Bakr (R) walked in and was angry at her. The Prophet (S) told him it was ok and that it was a celebration. As for the wedding, Islamically, you are legally wed after the nikah, there doesn’t have to be a ruksathi-that is culture, its just what you want to do. A lot of couples lately, have been doing just the nikah in order to spend some time alone together before living together. Regarding the Walima, actually i think i heard that is an Islamic thing not just desi-but i’m not for sure. Ok, so hope this helped!

Side note-here’s a story abt a diff. culture. One of my best friends married an Arab-:eek: was that somethinging else-but it was so cool. They danced at everything!! And those yells they have :slight_smile: I remember at the manghni, some of the families went over to her house before, so we could all go to the hall toghther. We were waiting a while, and then (this guys family is HUUUUUGE-like the grandfather had 20 kids or something-2 wives i believe) and all of a sudden their lawn started just filling with cars and cars. Then they came in, and the women, my god, started saying Bismillah, and Alhumdulillah finishing it with their yells. It was the craziest thing i have ever seen in my life-never seens anyone recite holy phrases like that :). The imam was also a close family friend of both sides, eventually he had to send her bro in to tell the women to be quiet, because he was trying to talk abt marriage with the groom and all the other men, and noone could hear anything! :rotfl: :rotfl:

*Originally posted by cat-woman: *

Nikkah is the only requirement for Islamic wedding. Waleema is Sunnat. Mehndi, dancing, singing is part of our culture and mehndi and singing is not haram, Duff is allowed in islam. dancing is not allowed I guess. celevbration is not haram at all. even menhdi came from our past hindu culture that doenst make it haram. so please dont be mullah. just keep Islam simple. Islam is not a strict relgion. It does say to keep it simple, at the same time it also says you shouldnt keep your wealth/happiness to yourself.

...which is an not un-islamic is Islamic wedding :)

btw as far as I understand, Nikkah is a must and then Valima is prefered Sunnah...

kher, when are you inviting me over to your wedding? i wouldnt mind if its NOT islamic ;)

714 you are right, I just did'nt feel like writing the whole story out :)

PyariCgudia you said:mehndis and other desi rasams have a hindu background

I don't know about that because Mehndis have been going on in the Arab world for a very long time, so if what you said is true then how did this influence the arabs?

:mudhosh: maaaan those arab mehndi’s. its some craazy stuff.

Majestic: Sorry, allow me to clarify, I mean the particular mehndi ceremony that we have in desiland, which is certainly different from the mehndi ceremony in Arab lands...

In fact, mehndi ceremonies vary among various ethnicities of Pakistan and India - a Punjabi mehndi can be somewhat different from a memon mehndi...

I dont know how mehndis in Arabia were celebrated, if at all, before Islam came around. But if there was a celebration prior and it had to do with their pagan gods...then I'm sure there is no harm, Islamically, if they keep the tradition while ditching the gods...

>>So can some one tell us how to plan a wedding in a true Islamic manner in todays day and time?

To prepare for a true islamic wedding (with no cultural influence) all you need is a bride, a groom, a guardian of the bride, two witnesses and a nikah-khwan. But that is probably cutting it too simple.

I have attended some weddings in Pakistan, where the bride and the groom along with their close family and friends, go to the mosque at a pre-determined time, where nikah takes place. After nikah, the groom's family distributed dates/chuwaray as a means of celebrating the auspicious occasion. From the mosque, the whole group reached bride's home, from where the bride was sent off along with her luggage with the groom.

Next evening, was the valeema reception, which was jointly-hosted by both the bride's parents and the groom, and they had invited all their friends and family to come in and wish the new couple and a decent dinner was served to celebrate the wedding.

There were no mehendis, no mayoons and no extravagant rituals.

Then again, there are some people who want to enjoy all the rasoomat of the wedding, cz they don't want to miss out on any of those, since according to them, you only get married once (hopefully). :)

thnaks for some good information ppl

Then again, there are some people who want to enjoy all the rasoomat of the wedding, cz they don’t want to miss out on any of those, since according to them, you only get married once (hopefully). :slight_smile:

Kya Baat karhe ho? Islam mein chaar shadiyan ki gunjaish hai! Insha’Allah the first shadi should not be the last!

:rolleyes:

PCG… technically, either in Islam or in most other religions, there is no maximum number of marriages. You can get married as many times as you wish.

Ofcourse, under Islam a man can only have a maximum of four wives, at one time. So to get married more than four times, he has two options: (1) Divorce (2) Murder. :halo: