What is all this?!

Re: What is all this?!

ainee...that wasn't very cute.

though i do not agree completely with what ainee has said but i do understand what she is trying to say.. like for couples who are genuinely happy, posting pics of happy times for family and friends is just fine but those who are not or are facing issues in their relationships, why pose?? why put up a fake face ?? i personally know about a friend of mine who i always thought is super duper happy in her family life.. like status updates for hubby, pics of eating out, trips tours etc and one day she told me that her marriage is about to end any day. i was sooo shocked that i couldnt comment for a few moments.. when i asked her why because she seemed to be so happy she just said that " dont judge my life by FB" ..

Alternate reality - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

here’s a little piece about Overseas Filipino Woerkers that’s similar to OP…

…OFWs are very often mistreated in other countries, at work and in their personal lives. You probably have not heard much about how they do all the work but are severely underpaid, because they know that the money they are earning must be sent home to you, who depend on them. The OFWs are very strong people, perhaps the strongest I have ever seen. They have their pictures taken in front of nice shops and locations to post on Facebook so that you won’t worry about them. But every Pinoy I have ever met abroad misses his/her family very, very much…
Read more: Love letter to Filipinos | Inquirer Opinion

Because when married couples are fighting they are so enraged that they cant leave the fight and click on the camera,hence you only see the happy lovey dovey pics :)

aye haye?

i love him so why should i hide? everyone expresses love differently!

sour grapes i think..

Why you care? :s tum mat lagana simple :slight_smile:

In your friend’s case…perhaps she was staying positive and trying to work on the marriage. Besides, don’t we all put up a “fake face” in front of people? If you’re having a bad day or having serious problems in your marriage…you going to share that with all your friends, family, co-workers etc. as soon as you see them? Are you going to walk around all day long and make sure everyone knows you’re miserable? How many desi girls out there hide their marital unhappiness from their parents/siblings b/c they don’t want to worry them? How many married couples go to weddings/iftaar parties/Eid melas etc. and smile/socialize with family/friends like they’re happy…when behind closed doors they’re miserable?

And at the end of the day…why does it matter? Why do we need to analyze the reasons behind why someone is posting happy pics/stories etc. on their personal Facebook? Its bad enough we pick on every-single-thing about people in person…and gossip like crazy at the first sign of marital/family trouble. Now people can’t even share happy events on FB without being bashed?! :smack:

People have objections when someone posts something in their FB about the weather (too much snow or rain or heat),about their kids,about their spouse,about their weekend activities,about the meal they cooked,about their religious views,about current affairs,about political stuff....and someone on the friend list somewhere will for sure have an issue with it...and they will not hesitate to even post a status update of their own (or a thread or blog somewhere) about how annoyed they are.
Seriously live and let live...!!
People have too much free time to get annoyed about things being posted on a website.Just uncheck a small tab and you wont be seeing anything from those who annoy you on a social networking site.

Um, okay so what some of the posters here are implying is that if you have problems in your relationship...start wearing black, wipe your makeup off your face, zameen pe apni churiyan torna shuru kardo and wipe your sindoor from your maang. Hain na?

When you meet someone in a social setting you're not exactly fond of...what do you do? Do you slap them across the face? Or do you say salaam and keep going?

Aur agar kisi aur ki pictures dekh ke itniiii hi jalan hoti hai to dekho mat...its their Facebook page...vo jo chahein post karein.

Hahahahahah that was me!!! :D

Idk why Op cares so much about what others post. I never give it a second thought and mostly don't go around reading everyone's posts either.

Hubby and I put our pics up and lovey dove statuses about each other. I never even thought that it would be offensive to people.

Anyways, a girl I know would put up pics and status all the time… She got divorced in 30 days and I was soooo shocked b/c I thought they were so happy together. Anyways, I didn't get annoyed or judge her for it. Stuff happens. I wouldn't expect her to put her entire story about the hard times of her marriage online. She even had her wedding pics still up months after the divorce and even after she got married again. Not everyone thinks about others when posting something.

You mean people post other things than pics of what they ate? :hayaa:

so its just me who gets grossed out by mushiness and oh you are such a great hasband msgs when you could actually walk up to him and say that in person? Its actually less socially awkard and more personalized.

shocking haina?!? :cb:

I second the OP, it's strange when people post pics to their super public profiles that are intimate pics of themselves and their family. I mean you don't go to a random party where you're meeting people for the first time and lug around your family album? The distance the internet creates makes us forget that anyone and everyone on your list (and everyone on facebook if you have not restricted your profile in fact), have the ability to see your pictures and comments.

People lose jobs and job interviews over stuff posted on FB, so always be careful of what you're posting.

As for the lovey dovey pics, like I said , if you wouldn't bring your wedding album to every get together you go to in real life, then why is it so easy to litter your facebook profile with such personal pictures? You can change the viewership of those pictures just to your close loved ones who actually care to see them, meanwhile everyone else will be looking at them and either getting annoyed that you have too much time to post so much, or they'll think God she's an attention hog, or form some other diminutive opinion of you, so why bother sharing that stuff?

I used to post a lot on FB, then totally distanced myself. Only share stuff with people who I actually care about.

Erm…how is a person’s FB page comparable to him/her going to someone else’s party or wedding? :confused: A more appropriate comparison would be if people visited that person’s home OR went to that person’s wedding where YOU are CHOOSING to attend THEIR event. Every wedding I go to has some sort of slide show where pics of the couple/family are shared with the ENTIRE room. And majority of the people I know display family pics, pics of vacations/new baby etc. in their house. A FB page is similar. It is that person’s personal space and they display/share whatever they would like. And if someone is truly annoyed by it…they can make the choice not to see the pics or get those status updates.

Yes people can lose jobs/interviews etc. if they post things that are deemed inappropriate…but that’s nowhere near what’s being discussed here. OP is only bringing up wives posted mushy/lovey dovey statuses. I have yet to hear of someone losing a job/interview b/c they posting something mushy about their relationship/husband. But then again there are plenty of bitter single people out there OR people who’re unhappy in their own relationship/marriage so I guess there’s always a first. :hmmm:

OP I understand what you're saying - fb has turned into a platform for people to yell out "look at how happy/pretty/sexy/rich I am" Things that you would never share in person are okay to share on fb because of the "distance" that fb puts between you and your friend circle.

However, that being said you cannot control what other people are posting. If a good friend is putting up a ton of lovey dovey pics of her and her husband, it doesn't take much for me to like one of them and move on. You can always choose to minimize updates from someone or just block them altogether. You can also choose to not login to facebook if it's so upsetting :)

But then is it actually the poster himself or some app that is posting on their behalf? I didn't used to notice but once I went to my profile and there was so much posting being done on my behalf that now I do pay extra attention to what each app has permission to do on my profile.

no no, this was a few months back. Snowstorm, and it seemed like 95% of the ppl on my friendlist had posted about the snow or pictures of the snow. I got pretty annoyed at that..... :D Now for the most part, all of those people are rpetty cool so I have no reason to block their status updates or call one out individually....

Cute Aine ko dhondo. She is not gonna sign in on gupshup anymore. :-)