Re: What I seriously hate about US based Desi restaurants
^Are you talking about Ponderosa? They had the BESTTTTTT khubani ka meetha!
There's a small and clean south indian restaurant in J/H and they serve idli, dosas, and all the south indian stuff.. my family is big on eating dosas and we find this one to be the best restaurant so far. Their dahi puris especially are yummilicious.
Yayy for karachiites
No It shut down about 10 years ago.. oh how I miss their desserts.
The dosas were nothing like the kind you get here but their puris with aloo bhaji were amazing.
My mom's family lives near there.. right by KDA/AKU? They always took us to ponderosa for dinner. Were you living around there too?
We were in Gulshan-e-Iqbal .. towards Aziz Bhatti Park
Somehow in Dearborn, MI you have a choice for Halal burgers at McDonalds..........I bet they serve Halal bacon strips for breakfast as well.
Rocking yaar, they were making that claim only about Chicken Sandwich and with due respect to Arabs, they dont know a difference between Halal and Zabeeha. For them, Chicken is halal .. even jhatka chicken ,... and I think that is what got spread out as words that chiken burger in Dearborn Mcdonald is halal.
Ewww! Disgustingness ki inteha. I remember stuff like that used to happen on Devon Ave in Chicago couple of years back.
Thanks Mirch. This was an eye opener.
And I m thinking about settling in Houston. Wow!
Coming back to the topic. I think we all should stop whining & thank Allah that we at least have Desi or Zabihah halal restaurants. Not all American places are awesome either. As far as the extra charge for naan is concerned. Those naans take more time to prepare. Isn’t that what America is about? Anything man made will always be outrageously charged. Also there is no comparing naans to tortillas or khubbus. I can eat a fresh naan out of tandoor with some lassi for lunch or dinner & still be happy AND satisfied.
The Holiday Inn thing is horrible though. Can’t believe the Paki Parade organizers do that stuff. Yuck yuck yuck! Makes me wonder which ones are they?
Yes I did Rupay .. its just awesome . .especially there seekh kabab .. but that was back in 1999. I dont think that Pizza hut opened by that time
Brings back memories. That was the first restaurant my husband took me to after getting married, my first experience of desi chinese, i fell in love with hot n sour soup there! I don't know if the standard has changed or not now, haven't been back to it, will do next tho inshallah.
TLK, have u been to the Usmania in your area, i think its next to Pizza Hut?
Usmania shut down, no? And the Pizza Hut in Gulshan was burned down by some crazy people :( Last time I went, it was our favorite place to order from during late night family gatherings :(
Does anyone remember that bakery nearby Usmania? The one across from the flower shop and mithai shop?
I remember hearing about Usmania shutting down when I went about 4 years ago. My khala lives right behind there. And Pizza Hut was burnt down just a couple years ago. They might have reopened another one, I am not sure
^ Was last time i went, many moons ago. But i tried the one in Murree, it was bad.
Those are diff usmanias! not owned by the same people!! I went to the murree one alot too, it was good a long time ago. Im not surprised it went down the drain along with most other places in murree.