What I seriously hate about US based Desi restaurants

R they franchises? The link i posted b4 is the usmania page, lists all their restaurants. The one in Peshawar was pretty crappy too. Abbottabad one was good tho.

Yeahhhhh, it was there but I never had their food. Students Biryani is YUMMY too.

Bhai, Not really.......I did not find abt halal burgers from anybody....It was just me driving thru the Mcdonald's drive thru and the lady(african american) actually asked be halal or regular, I said pardon me(I thought I was hearing things or the drive thru mic was messed up) and she did say again "Halal or regular"....I was like WHAT THE ....., then asked her give me whatever........So they actually have two kinds of meat when you order. The next time I did try halal chicken nuggets and the regular ones to taste the difference and found out that the halal nuggets were a little harder...but tasted the same...that could be because of the way they reheated them.

Anybody ever watch gora chefs try to make desi food? They’re so proud of their creation…but you, as the desi viewer, **KNOW **that they’ve butchered the dish and that it most likely tastes not so good. It’s cuz they tend to put too much cumin (zeera) for its smokey flavor and then they go heavy on the tumeric (haldi):smack: They don’t seem to get that too much turmeric will stain your fingernails yellow for days and it’ll take a couple days worth of scrubbing to get rid of the stains. Normally they don’t attempt to cook desi dishes on the Food Network Channel, but man when they do, it’s funny to watch how sure of themselves they are as they make the dishes soo unappetizingly yellow and smokey. That’s what IRKS me about US chefs trying to make desi food, LOL!

Re: What I seriously hate about US based Desi restaurants

@ Rocking .. wow yaar, that is amazing .. did not know that ..

Redvelvet .. yes I have seen some on Food TV and 99% of them just use this curry powder mix and throw it in the pot ..