What has Hinduism given to the world?

Re: What has Hinduism given to the world?

Lahore.. Do u have any arguments at all. :D.

U are stuck up with one point. When somebody says something about origin of Ayurveda and Hinduism u come up with cow urine which the RSS trying to promote. :D. Is that a way to discuss my dear. If u have a problem with ayurveda, then prove by facts than by some political statements.
U will find lot of spelling mistakes in my post so whats the point..U got the meaning dont u.:D

Please refrain from personal attacks. - *Sadiyah*

Listen Lahori Logica,
Puranas are not the HOLY books of Hinduism. You dont make it confused
by quoting 9 commercial websites. Period. Where do they stand relative
to the Vedas, was YOUR point quoted by you yourself.

It is correct on factual, spiritual and practical basis. Take it or
leave it.

And I make this statement as I know Vedas and Puranas and their
relative status to each other and to anything other than these.

Now Lahori, prepare to lose.:smiley: Bahut phudak liya.

India’s contribution in mathematics :
An overview of Indian mathematics
Article by: J J O’Connor and E F Robertson
It is without doubt that mathematics today owes a huge debt to the
outstanding contributions made by Indian mathematicians over many
hundreds of years.
What is quite surprising is that there has been
a reluctance to recognise this (from Lahori Logica) and one has to
conclude that many famous historians of mathematics found what they
expected to find, or perhaps even what they hoped to find, rather than
to realise what was so clear in front of them.
We shall examine the contributions of Indian mathematics in this
article, but before looking at this contribution in more detail we
should say clearly that the “huge debt” is the beautiful number
system invented by the Indians on which much of mathematical
development has rested.
** Laplace put this with great clarity:-** "The ingenious method of
expressing every possible number using a set of ten symbols (each
symbol having a place value and an absolute value) emerged in India.
The idea seems so simple nowadays that its significance and profound
importance is no longer appreciated. Its simplicity lies in the way it
facilitated calculation and placed arithmetic foremost amongst useful
inventions. the importance of this invention is more readily
appreciated when one considers that it was beyond the two greatest men
of Antiquity, Archimedes and Apollonius. "
Acchha Lahori, ever heard of Laplace ? Laplace transform ? Laplace
equations ? Rings a bell in your cranium ? Maths kabhi padhi hai kya ?
Histories of Indian mathematics used to begin by describing the
geometry contained in the Sulbasutras but research into the history of
Indian mathematics has shown that the essentials of this geometry were
older being contained in the altar constructions described in the
Vedic mythology text the Shatapatha
Brahmana and the Taittiriya Samhita.
Also it has been
shown that the study of mathematical astronomy in India goes back to at
least the third millennium BC and
mathematics and geometry must have existed to support this study in
these ancient times.
The next mathematics of importance on the Indian subcontinent was
associated with these religious texts. It consisted of the Sulbasutras
which were appendices to the Vedas giving rules for constructing
altars. They contained quite an amount of geometrical knowledge, but
the mathematics was being developed, not for its own sake, but purely
for practical religious purposes. The mathematics contained in the
these texts is studied in some detail in the separate article on the
Sulbasutras.
The main Sulbasutras were composed by Baudhayana (about 800 BC), Manava
(about 750 BC), Apastamba (about 600 BC), and Katyayana (about 200 BC).
These men were both priests and scholars but they were not
mathematicians in the modern sense
That was Panini who achieved remarkable results in his studies of
Sanskrit grammar. Now
one might reasonably ask what Sanskrit grammar has to do with
mathematics. It certainly has something to do with modern theoretical
computer science, for a mathematician or computer scientist working
with formal language theory will recognise just how modern some of
Panini’s ideas are.
These are the earliest numerals which, after a multitude of changes,
eventually developed into the numerals 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 used
today. The development of numerals and place-valued number systems are
studied in the article Indian numerals.
Although the period after the decline of the Vedic religion up to the
time of Aryabhata I around 500 AD used to be considered as a dark
period in Indian mathematics, recently it has been recognised as a time
when many mathematical ideas were considered. In fact Aryabhata is now
thought of as summarising the mathematical developments of the Jaina as
well as beginning the next phase.
The main topics of Jaina mathematics in around 150 BC were: the
theory of numbers, arithmetical operations, geometry, operations with
fractions, simple equations, cubic equations, quartic equations, and
permutations and combinations.
More surprisingly the Jaina
developed a theory of the infinite containing different levels of
infinity, a primitive understanding of indices, and some notion of
logarithms to base 2. One of the difficult problems facing
historians of mathematics is deciding on the date of the Bakhshali
manuscript. If this is a work which is indeed from 400 AD, or at any
rate a copy of a work which was originally written at this time, then
our understanding of the achievements of Jaina mathematics will be
greatly enhanced. While there is so much uncertainty over the date, a
topic discussed fully in our article on the Bakhshali manuscript, then
we should avoid rewriting the history of the Jaina period in the light
of the mathematics contained in this remarkable document.
By about 500 AD the classical era of Indian mathematics began with the
work of Aryabhata. His work was both a summary of Jaina
mathematics and the beginning of new era for astronomy and mathematics.
His ideas of astronomy were truly remarkable. He replaced the two
demons Rahu, the Dhruva Rahu which causes the phases of the Moon and
the Parva Rahu which causes an eclipse by covering the Moon or Sun or
their light, with a modern theory of eclipses. He introduced
trigonometry in order to make his astronomical calculations, based on
the Greek epicycle theory, and he solved with integer solutions
indeterminate equations which arose in astronomical theories.

The main ideas of Jaina mathematics, particularly those relating to its
cosmology with its passion for large finite numbers and infinite
numbers, continued to flourish with scholars such as Yativrsabha. He
was a contemporary of Varahamihira and of the slightly older Aryabhata.
We should also note that the two schools at Kusumapura and Ujjain were
involved in the continuing developments of the numerals and of
place-valued number systems.
The next figure of major importance at the Ujjain school was
Brahmagupta near the beginning of the seventh century AD and he would
make one of the most major contributions to the development of the
numbers systems with his remarkable contributions on negative numbers
and zero. It is a sobering thought that eight hundred years later
European mathematics would be struggling to cope without the use of
negative numbers and of zero.
(Just like Lahori is struggling to cope with ideas relating to
Hinduism’a contributions)
The Hindu astronomers did not possess a general
method for solving problems in spherical astronomy, unlike the Greeks
who systematically followed the method of Ptolemy, based on the
well-known theorem of Menelaus. But, by means of suitable constructions
within the armillary sphere, they were able to reduce many of their
problems to comparison of similar right-angled plane triangles.
In
addition to this device, they sometimes also used the theory of
quadratic equations, or applied the method of successive
approximations. … Of the methods taught by Aryabhata and demonstrated
by his scholiast Bhaskara I, some are based on comparison of similar
right-angled plane triangles, and others are derived from inference.
Brahmagupta is probably the earliest astronomer to have
employed the theory of quadratic equations and the method of successive
approximations to solving problems in spherical astronomy.
religion was the key, for astronomy was considered to be of divine
origin and each family would remain faithful to the revelations of the
subject as presented by their gods.
To seek fundamental changes
would be unthinkable for in asking others to accept such changes would
be essentially asking them to change religious belief.
The first person in modern times to realise that the
mathematicians of Kerala had anticipated some of the results of the
Europeans on the calculus by nearly 300 years was Charles Whish in
1835. Whish’s publication in the Transactions of the Royal Asiatic
Society of Great Britain and Ireland was essentially unnoticed by
historians of mathematics.
( Look Lahori, NO
Wikipedia).

Only 100 years later in the 1940s did historians of
mathematics look in detail at the works of Kerala’s mathematicians and
find that the remarkable claims made by Whish were essentially true.
See for example [15]. Indeed the Kerala mathematicians had, as Whish
wrote:- … laid the foundation for a complete system of fluxions …
and these works:- … abound with fluxional forms and series to be
found in no work of foreign countries.
http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/HistTopics/Indian_mathematics.html
In the second section of earlier portion of Narad Vishnu Puran
(written by Ved Vyas) describes “mathematics” in the context of
Triskandh Jyotish. In that numbers have been described which are ten
times of each other, in a sequence (10 to the power n). Not only that
in this book, different methods of “mathematics” like Addition,
Subtraction, Multiplication, Addition, Fraction, Square, Square root,
Cube root et-cetera have been elaborately discussed. Problems based on
these have also been solved.

Also have a look at this:
http://www.geocities.com/dipalsarvesh/light.pdf

Nice replies Yudhishthir. I have been watching this thread since it started and I do not think you can get a more clear winner here.

Lahore 981, from what I have seen in the past few months from his posts cannot participate in a constructive debate especially when it's about someone else's culture, religion or idea. So my advice to guys, stop wasting time on him now :).

You still are unable to answer my question Yudhu. This is totally inadequate. I'll tell you how.....

First let me shut you up.

Who declared judges like you in the begining of this thread?

Was this thread supposed to be judged like that?

Did you participate in the discussion?

------------------------------------------- NOW

If you want this thread to be judged who is winner or not, call for everybody's opinion. Those who have read this thread.

Not people like you who don't wanna step in and express themselves....

And you'll get the answer in my next reply to Yudhu..... If you wanna make anyone fool here, make a fool out of yourselves...

Okay, so that means that you apply Purans in your daily interpretation and explaination of Hindooism like we do our Ahadith. So that would mean you hold the Purans as dear as we consider Ahadith.
This proves my point, not yours. :mad:
You are giving self contradictory statements

This is the language of a person claimed to have produced 2 “scholars” …
Waoooo, there have been plenty of occasions where you have shown us how decent language you use being and claim to have produced 2 scholars

[quote=Yudishthir}India’s contribution in mathematics :
An overview of Indian mathematics
Article by: J J O’Connor and E F Robertson
It is without doubt that mathematics today owes a huge debt to the
outstanding contributions made by Indian mathematicians over many
hundreds of years. What is quite surprising is that there has been
a reluctance to recognise this (from Lahori Logica) and one has to
conclude that many famous historians of mathematics found what they
expected to find, or perhaps even what they hoped to find, rather than
to realise what was so clear in front of them.
We shall examine the contributions of Indian mathematics in this
article, but before looking at this contribution in more detail we
should say clearly that the “huge debt” is the beautiful number
system invented by the Indians on which much of mathematical
development has rested.
Laplace put this with great clarity:- "The ingenious method of
expressing every possible number using a set of ten symbols (each
symbol having a place value and an absolute value) emerged in India.
The idea seems so simple nowadays that its significance and profound
importance is no longer appreciated. Its simplicity lies in the way it
facilitated calculation and placed arithmetic foremost amongst useful
inventions. the importance of this invention is more readily
appreciated when one considers that it was beyond the two greatest men
of Antiquity, Archimedes and Apollonius. "
Acchha Lahori, ever heard of Laplace ? Laplace transform ? Laplace
equations ? Rings a bell in your cranium ? Maths kabhi padhi hai kya ?
Histories of Indian mathematics used to begin by describing the
geometry contained in the Sulbasutras but research into the history of
Indian mathematics has shown that the essentials of this geometry were
older being contained in the altar constructions described in the
Vedic mythology text the Shatapatha
Brahmana and the Taittiriya Samhita. Also it has been
shown that the study of mathematical astronomy in India goes back to at
least the third millennium BC and
mathematics and geometry must have existed to support this study in
these ancient times.
The next mathematics of importance on the Indian subcontinent was
associated with these religious texts. It consisted of the Sulbasutras
which were appendices to the Vedas giving rules for constructing
altars. They contained quite an amount of geometrical knowledge, but
the mathematics was being developed, not for its own sake, but purely
for practical religious purposes. The mathematics contained in the
these texts is studied in some detail in the separate article on the
Sulbasutras.
The main Sulbasutras were composed by Baudhayana (about 800 BC), Manava
(about 750 BC), Apastamba (about 600 BC), and Katyayana (about 200 BC).
These men were both priests and scholars but they were not
mathematicians in the modern sense
That was Panini who achieved remarkable results in his studies of
Sanskrit grammar. Now
one might reasonably ask what Sanskrit grammar has to do with
mathematics. It certainly has something to do with modern theoretical
computer science, for a mathematician or computer scientist working
with formal language theory will recognise just how modern some of
Panini’s ideas are.
These are the earliest numerals which, after a multitude of changes,
eventually developed into the numerals 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 used
today. The development of numerals and place-valued number systems are
studied in the article Indian numerals.
Although the period after the decline of the Vedic religion up to the
time of Aryabhata I around 500 AD used to be considered as a dark
period in Indian mathematics, recently it has been recognised as a time
when many mathematical ideas were considered. In fact Aryabhata is now
thought of as summarising the mathematical developments of the Jaina as
well as beginning the next phase.
The main topics of Jaina mathematics in around 150 BC were: the
theory of numbers, arithmetical operations, geometry, operations with
fractions, simple equations, cubic equations, quartic equations, and
permutations and combinations. More surprisingly the Jaina
developed a theory of the infinite containing different levels of
infinity, a primitive understanding of indices, and some notion of
logarithms to base 2. One of the difficult problems facing
historians of mathematics is deciding on the date of the Bakhshali
manuscript. If this is a work which is indeed from 400 AD, or at any
rate a copy of a work which was originally written at this time, then
our understanding of the achievements of Jaina mathematics will be
greatly enhanced. While there is so much uncertainty over the date, a
topic discussed fully in our article on the Bakhshali manuscript, then
we should avoid rewriting the history of the Jaina period in the light
of the mathematics contained in this remarkable document.
By about 500 AD the classical era of Indian mathematics began with the
work of Aryabhata. His work was both a summary of Jaina
mathematics and the beginning of new era for astronomy and mathematics.
His ideas of astronomy were truly remarkable. He replaced the two
demons Rahu, the Dhruva Rahu which causes the phases of the Moon and
the Parva Rahu which causes an eclipse by covering the Moon or Sun or
their light, with a modern theory of eclipses. He introduced
trigonometry in order to make his astronomical calculations, based on
the Greek epicycle theory, and he solved with integer solutions
indeterminate equations which arose in astronomical theories.
The main ideas of Jaina mathematics, particularly those relating to its
cosmology with its passion for large finite numbers and infinite
numbers, continued to flourish with scholars such as Yativrsabha. He
was a contemporary of Varahamihira and of the slightly older Aryabhata.
We should also note that the two schools at Kusumapura and Ujjain were
involved in the continuing developments of the numerals and of
place-valued number systems.
The next figure of major importance at the Ujjain school was
Brahmagupta near the beginning of the seventh century AD and he would
make one of the most major contributions to the development of the
numbers systems with his remarkable contributions on negative numbers
and zero. It is a sobering thought that eight hundred years later
European mathematics would be struggling to cope without the use of
negative numbers and of zero.
(Just like Lahori is struggling to cope with ideas relating to
Hinduism’a contributions)
The Hindu astronomers did not possess a general
method for solving problems in spherical astronomy, unlike the Greeks
who systematically followed the method of Ptolemy, based on the
well-known theorem of Menelaus. But, by means of suitable constructions
within the armillary sphere, they were able to reduce many of their
problems to comparison of similar right-angled plane triangles. In
addition to this device, they sometimes also used the theory of
quadratic equations, or applied the method of successive
approximations. … Of the methods taught by Aryabhata and demonstrated
by his scholiast Bhaskara I, some are based on comparison of similar
right-angled plane triangles, and others are derived from inference.
Brahmagupta is probably the earliest astronomer to have
employed the theory of quadratic equations and the method of successive
approximations to solving problems in spherical astronomy.
religion was the key, for astronomy was considered to be of divine
origin and each family would remain faithful to the revelations of the
subject as presented by their gods. To seek fundamental changes
would be unthinkable for in asking others to accept such changes would
be essentially asking them to change religious belief.
The first person in modern times to realise that the
mathematicians of Kerala had anticipated some of the results of the
Europeans on the calculus by nearly 300 years was Charles Whish in
1835. Whish’s publication in the Transactions of the Royal Asiatic
Society of Great Britain and Ireland was essentially unnoticed by
historians of mathematics. [/quote]

where is the contribution of Hinduism to the “World” where did it get acknowledged in the world??? Where where???
This is all like an essay, not more than anything. I can write 1000 like this
What flew out of Hindooism and enlightened to whole world? Hindoos never left their cage and went out of India.

All I see is knowledge flowing into India from outside i.e. the contribution thw world made to India…

So does that mean you deny the source of rvikz and indirectly what he posted
or that you consider wikkepadia an unreliable source?
Still the website are so meak. Nobody will acknowledge them to accept your claim…

Wao, two websites
One is geocities :smiley:
And the other one is some sort of discussion website :smiley: with no where abouts whom it belong to and from where it originate… Do you think everybody here is that stupid to believe all that?

Betey,
My uneducated innocent dude,

My question is who acknowledged these scientific facts. Why they did not enlighten anyone in the time of 300 BC etc? Why didn’t Hindoos reach the hight of scientific advances then… You are simply quoting Hindu websites that would “obviously” acknowledge these facts…

These are just essays…

The one article you poste, which is in pdf, let me remind you it is not taken from any renouned journal. It is a simple essay someone wrote in USA… not in India. This essay is not endorsed by any scientific society. It is not critically reviewed…

Quote me references that have acknowledged these facts you posted… Act in a little scientific way bud… There are scientific societies in the world that would recognize these facts. There are world remouned journals and data bases that would recognize these facts… Give me something educated bud… You are trying to make a claim about the contribution of Hindooism to the whole world

Come again… :smiley:

Betey, either declare Purans are discarded books or that they are not.

For some facts you are differentially excluding them out.

Your anology about the status of Hadith and Quran with that of Vedas and Purans is absolutely incorrect. Any sane Muslim will agree with me here....

You simply cannot thurst a wrong anology on us......

Please keep cow urine and the like out of this discussion. It's been clarified in the past that no such discussions are allowed any further. Should any of you decide to persist, it could likely result in a warning and/or closure of the thread.

Well 981, I do not want to waste more than 2 minutes of my time on people like you. My statement was directed at Yudhishthir, and to me he has emerged as the winner of this debate., so shut up now. 2 minutes over. Bye

.....Edited by me

I wish someone could explain the caste system, i dont get it. Its the one thing that the world doesnt need.

Thank you. You can waste 2 minutes on me. I think you could not write something properly…
You said bye yourself. Good for all of us.

You declared you are not reading anything. That helps …

Indian Kiddo … :halo:

I'll soon. Thats another thing Hindooism has given to India....

Another pointless and ridiculous thread. As a Muslim, I'm offended by the stupidity of this post. I respect Hinduism and Hindus. I bear them no ill will. My position is the correct Islamic position. Everyone else her bashing another religion is an ignorant bigot.

I'm sorry, but I'm not online 24/7, nor am I hawking over every single post here. There's a reason why 'report bad post' option is available and there's a reason why there's a service that lets you PM the moderators.

It'd be helpful if you could start using either one of the services, rather than bringing up topics that are no longer allowed for discussion.

MOD: Thanks in advance for closing this thread and apologies to Christians/Jews/Hindus/Buddhists for the bigotry that is all too common around here.

Edited by me ....

Go and read the whole thread again.
The inability of some people to handle queries is not equivalent to bigotry as you said. There has been very decent discussion going on around here.

Cheers :smiley: .

^ Oooo you came back after saying good bye…
Thanks for sparing your 2 minutes for me again. :blush:

:smiley: Thand rakh bhai, excite kyon ho raha hai itna??