What has been going WRONG and what went Wrong/St Patrick's day massacre

Re: What has been going WRONG and what went Wrong

I think number one thing any kind of a strong or weak team needs is a descipline. There was no descipline in yesterday's match and there hasn't been any descipline ever in our team. Out on the score of 74 in the very world cup we championed. Descipline is the key to tell the difference between consistent and inconsistent performance. And descipline starts at the top, in the management (PCB) first before any in the team itself. PCB has seen more controversies than even the team itself. But then again, PCB is just a part of a whole nation that never has believed in the descipline, see what goes in the day to day government business and in the public. I dont know where to begin to shape things in an orderly manner.....the team or the PCB or the government or the public...........

Yar why does religion and beards have to be a part of these discussions... kindly leave them out of these conversations...they are personal decisions and should be respected ...

One thing i will definatly agree with and that is Inzi hasnt groomed any youngsters... all the recognized faces were brought in by Waseem Akram... Inzi has only given us Rana and Rao and thats pretty much it i guess

yeah, religion is all the problem, I wonder what are Indians going to shave :cb:

learn it from Imran who wore the Tiger shirt during the toss of 92 Final)

NO ONE can replace that man!!

Abhi comments daine ki gunja'ish baqi hei???
Can't begin to tell you how disoppointed i am with our team. I think, first, they need to fire everyone in PCB. Fire Inzi for not being a strong leader. Infact, the whole team needs to be replaced.

Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif ko to wapis lana hi nahi chahiyea..and afridi should be kicked out as well...what the hell kind of athlete are you if you can't control your temper..

So to answer your question..can't even think of one thing that went right, be it fielding, bowling, batting, energy, sportsmanship, spirit..Everything went wrong... :( joote parne chahiyea saron ko..

Imran Khan was saying on TV that he wore that tiger shirt just to show the opponent that we are in our best shape and ready to attack them.. he said when he told the other captain that we are ready to attack them, his face went pale and he looked distressed. Imran said, eventhough we weren't in our best shape either, but i just wanted them to panic. And, that's exactly what happened, and Pakistan won the world cup.

and idher Inzimam most humble boy on the ground .. even if they were in good shape .. his attitude makes the team look like a loser :grumpy:

just look at the banner:/

I have an advice for minnows after the World Cup they can invite Pakistan and improve their records.

Re: Obituary

It is a result of unwanted pressure on players and consistently putting them in a situation where they do not belong. For four years we have seen this, if you recall the debacle of '03, Inzamam was sacked as vice-captain and we knew that this guy do not have what it takes to lead the team. Rashid came to hand in some support, he than let go and Inzamam again was made to lead the team along with Miandad, team did well, we won tournaments when India came in and all hell broke loose. Miandad did say that we should not push the panic button and stick with the same team, but that did not happen and he was fired. Inzamam also said at the end of that tournament that the criticism will make him to give up captaincy, did anyone hear? No, than we went to Australia, got the beating of lifetime, Inzamam and Woolmer got the flak, he again said he does not want to be captain, again they persisted with the mentality along with shuffling of openers. After that victories against India in ODI's and level of Test match, wins in West Indies and beating of England made us forgot about a lot about Inzi captaincy and that he should not be leading the side. No body notice or stood up to take charge, he was basically serving as a band aid to give us some comfort that there is leadership in this team.

After tour with England, Pakistan still had a chance to make the change with openers and captain, also to groom new bowlers when Akhtar was more consistent on injury list than on team. Nobody notice...and now we paid the price. Things that should have been addressed after World Cup 2003, like openers, strike bowlers and aggressive captain were not addressed and now we find ourselves at square one.

Things will change is a hope...if you look at Imran captaincy; he resigned twice to get his way. Miandad and Wasim were in constant struggle with PCB to have their way, it will take a mighty effort from future captain and vice-captain to pull this team out of a ditch, they have the talent but nobody listens to their needs rather always puts them in a situation where they do not belong.

To be honest, this should be more of a "new beginning" than an obituary. We have some very talented players in first class cricket who are young and are passionate. All we need is just picking and playing them. That's it. No waiting in first class cricket and paying your dues for ten years. That system might work in Australia, but it sure as hell doesn't work here. Look to unearth geniuses like Wasim and not disciplined robots like McGrath. Take risks. That's all I ask for.

I like it. Ever optimistic 'the game'. Lets see how far this new begining takes us.

Yaar I am sick and tired of this "discipline" and "line & length" selections. We have produced artists in the past, not assembly line workers! We should stick to what suits us best. We have the Australian system as our benchmark but to be honest, I don't see anyway we could ever achieve the establishment of a system similar to that one. Let's just stick to raw talent and natural genius. Hell, it is much more entertaining too!

Can someone change the topic of this thread....it makes this thread seem related to the other sad event of today.

This thread is haunting me now :teary1: .

agreee .. loved reading it :k:

tumhe sharam nahi aati :no: cricket is not important than a human life

Re: What has been going WRONG and what went Wrong/St Patrick's day massacre

oh.. i was looking for Faisal's thread... did not know, it wa merged here.