What happened to Beh'noi

The word Beh’noi .. that is (Brother in Law)

you go through life forum and every desi reference to Brother in Law is Jeeja ji ..

I have nothing against hindi words but we do have a word for BIL in our language .. why are we so reluctant to use it .

we dont call our mom and dad Mataa ji and Pitaa Ji … we dont call our kicthen, raso’i .. we dont call Potery, kavita ..

why jija ji ?

what is wrong with Beh’noi

:)...may be no one knew how to spell it til now...........:D

Re: What happened to Beh’noi

Welcome to Bollywood driven Pakistani neighborhood :wave:

Kyun k Saas bi khabii Bahoooo Thee :D

Sonia Ghandi once said … we don’t need to wage a war for conquering Pakistan now ..as our media has already done the job..

here ya go .. one line stunner , innit ?

*Shaak-e-Naazuk pe Bane Ashyanee khabi paidar nahi hotay *

Some where in a thread a poster said .. Pakistan was created on the name of religion and it was the biggest mistake….

And believe me she aint alone …. There are loads in ar young generation , who think on the same lines …

*DaikTa kia hai meray Mouh k taraf *
*Qaid-e-Azaam ka Pakistan tu daik *

Re: What happened to Beh'noi

Kevyan, .. I met several Indian Hyderbadi muslims. I dont remember them using the word Jija ji ..

why us Pakistanis .. why the foriegn media is influencing us so much ... while for indian hyderabadis, they still follow their language, Urdu that is?

TLK to the rescue :smiley:

:smiley: I think you are right.

jeeja jee sounds so cheezy.soon we ll be hearing pati patni,mata jee etc etc

Because jeej and jeeju is so cool! It makes the behnoi sound young and dashing, whereas bhenoi sounds like a person who plays shehnai at weddings :snooty:

PS: I’m kidding. I think.

i agree :@:

plus we call our kitchen a rasoi :snooty: and as far as i know even when i go to pak all of my khalas mami’s etc all call a kitchen a Rasoi too :hmmm:

Very right TLK. Afssos but I remember some of my cousins started calling their mother mata ji and I was like WTH.

namashkar bahu rani

:smack: bahu rani :omg:

reminds me of somthing out of these star plus drama’s

but you still didnt answr to my rasoi question:aq:

because it sounds so bollywood?

i dunno :konfused:

Ok so your family is an exception .. but 98% of pakistan calls it bawarchi khana .. not rasoi …

again I agree with Niki that Jija sounds cute and young .. but really if a gril talks about her own jija .. that is fine ..

but do you have to be cute when you are talking aboout someone else’s brother in law

actually now that you mention it i have herd a few times the mention of bawarchi:hmmm: but that was only when i went to islamabad :smiley:

again beh noi just sound freakishly old :smack: like somthing from the stone ages:vivo:

Well it’s a Hindi word and quite commonly used … I mean not only in movies and soap dramas …. I have loads of Indian hindu friends and its their first choice for describing the relation .

Jija as brother in law ( sister’s husband ) and ji is added in respect ….

And to be very honest Hindi in its original and raw form is quite simple , much simpler then urdu .. Nazir Akbar Abadi’s poetry for example …

I remember a song on that Jijaa word

*Jijaa ji jijaa ji *
*Meray hone walay jeeja ji *

But can you quote me an example where some urdu poet /song writer has ever used the word Bheno’ii in his composition ?

I cant recall one sire….

So we are defiantly missing the big league here as our beautiful and pulchritudinous language is not moving … atleast not in the right direction …

If you talk with some one in urdu thesedays …. Most of time you have to recite the verse

Urdu hai jis ka Naam humhe janTay hain Daagh

Or even when I talk with my own siblings and relatives , I have no choice then uttering

Kis k Ghar ja’ay ga SaylaaB-e- Baala mere baad

As no longer they aint in a position of speaking that pretty language you call Urdu .

And to answer your question **why we Pakistanis are so easily influenced by foreign media *.*. We have to develop a notion where we treat Indians and their culture as separate entity ..

And it wont happen .. not until and unless .. we start taking the creation of Pakistan as the necessity of time rather then a political mistake .

It shouldn’t be ‘ *mein chana tori kaah looNgee , tu mo’ay lay chal Jaamna k paaar *‘ issue any more …

And Indian hyderabdi Muslims… well they just speak urdu … 90 % out of young lot cant even read it .. So time has changed for them as well ….

Go to lucknow Matar Bhoomi of urdu lingo …. Sorry for my bad hindi ] some day ..

I bet you wont find a single signboard written in urdu language over there.

So on that consideration . We pakis got a slight edge over them

My granny used to call it …** Raso’ii** … but that generation has gone …. You wont see any body using word like Sankaal for a lock or** KaaTTaa for the thing , we call chaboTara in urdu **

They were quite habitual of using hindi words because they came from that land ….

And why our generation .. well because we religiously follow Indian media ..

So are we still slaves ? did we really get freedom in 1947 ?

Or we shant be practising nationalism in the golden era of globalization ?

A long list of questions .. Tariq Bhai …. A bloody long list mate

I never use the word jija, and think it is something that has been in vogue over the last 7-8 years really.

So if you are talking about your brother in law .. do you say behnoi, then

when i am speaking in urdu yeah.