1. Fear
  2. Gratitude
  3. Uncertainty
  4. Needs

or something else?

Re: What draws people near to God?

Gratitude :flowers:

Gham, Haadisaat aur Haajaat…yeh na hoN to yaad-e-Khudaa ek fe’l-e-'abas samjhaa jaayegaa.

Zafar kaa ek she’r thaa:

“Zafar!”, aadii usko na jaaniyegaa, ho vo kitnaa hii saaHib-e-fehm o zakaa
jise ai’sh meN yaad-e-Khudaa na rahii, jise tai’sh meN Khauf-e-Khudaa na rahaa!

so the relationship of human beings with God is of selfish nature?

not necesarily…this type of relationship exists between Allah and the Ghaafil-e-deen. those who are already religious, these situations bring him/her to Allah even closer.

again, what makes people religious or super religious?

Belief.

Fear and Gratitude both…

Allah ka her haal mae shuker guzar huna chahiye… or ager koi bura waqt ata bhi hai tu wo humari azamyish huti hai…

Dosra dar bhi huna chahiye jis se allah ka qourb hasil hu sakey ..

simple…these calamities are brought upon by Allah on humans either to punish him/her or to test him/her or give a jolt so he/she comes to his/her senses because Allah loves His bande.

anyone who recognizes these signs from Allah, he/she will indeed bow down to him.

it’s the faith that gets stronger with each infliction.

Isn’t belief comprise fear of punishment, gratitude of what God has given to us, uncertainty to future, trust that He is the one who can fulfill our needs? But out of all these things what makes people nearer to God. If we see Masajid full of namazi, people going to churches for Sunday services, worshipers going to temples, what is the most important factor which draws them towards God?

Is drawing force that lead a young man to masjid same as the force that lead an aged person (who is near to death) to God?

When you realize your powerlessness.

When you feel an emptiness despite having everything.

Haadisaat …logon ka hamesha kay liey chalay jaana..

I believe it’s fear that draws humans closer to God. In any circumstance, whether it be fear of death, fear of poverty, fear of the world, fear of the supernatural, fear of God’s punishment, fear of anything at all - we race towards God. We seek His shelter, ultimately trust him to protect us from that which frightens us, thereby constructing a stronger foundation of our faith. And yes, humans are selfish in nature. There’s no denying in the fact that the human existence itself instinctively **needs and depends upon **the Almighty - not the other way around. Therefore humans abide to this level of selfish spirituality [and it makes perfect sense to do so] until or unless they progress towards total oblivion of the world which in that case would be Sufism.

What draws people near to God?

Needs

so that is need. need to get power. need to get rid of emptiness.

Last line. Do you think that human-beings (even sufis) can have a relationship with God without their needs?

I think need relationship is not always a negative attachment, when its between completely helpless and all powerful. Even the relationship of a newborn with mother is a kind of need.

If an unselfish, unconditional relationship was expected from humans, the concepts of punishment/reward wouldn’t have been put forward.

I would say it would be blessing, then fear that..who knows if I am destined to hell fired..may Allah protect us. So this hope and fear makes me feel closer.

No, you’re not in need of power. What I mean is that sometimes we’re placed in problems that are completely out of our hands…that we have no control over…and that makes you turn to the one who does have power/control to resolve your issues. So, yes in this case it’s a need that draws you closer…a need accompanied by the realization of your limitations and insignificance.

Its the faith, Imaan, Aqeedey ki mazbuti that keeps u closer to Allaah
Then its Hadisaat azmayesh n prbz that either make u na shukra or make u more closer to Allaah,
So it is always ur faith