What does "khocha" means?

Re: What does "khocha" means?

is se to lagtaa hai k yeh derogatory word hai...

...Khojaa = Khowaajaa saraa = heejRaa

kahiiN yeh us sense meN to nahiiN use hotaa hai?

Khojaa could be mispronounced as Khochaa...

it's just my guess.

khocha is slang for pashtun, like bhai saab for urdu speaking, saeen for sindhi

I dont know what it means, but do not like it to be used for Pashtuns...I consider it to be a derogatory term.

me too but the thing is that the Pashtuns use it themselves.

It’s their word, and sounds great in that accent. Non pashtun ke mounh se wo waise bhee achcha nahi lugta.

As per @marwati it's not a Pashto word.

@KKF @TLK Its not our word, neither we use it for ourselves.
If its derogatory , then its use should be discouraged.

Re: What does “khocha” means?

indeed but how ‘we’ gonna stop those paThaans who use the word themselves…i’ve heard that word uttered by paThaan actors in movies and also in person. in my city in India, there are still a handful paThaans who gather to a roadside cafe’s to have a morning cuppa tea and buns with thick layer of butter :)] and read newspaper. i’ve heard that word from their own mouths…i didn’t know what it meant bacj then because i was just a kid.

i still dunno what it ‘exactly’ means. :frowning:

There was this thread we once discussed which was based upon same rationale but was a bit more open ended.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/culture-literature-and-linguistics/635178-racism.html

I am sure those Pathans dont speak Pashto...Indian Pathan actors are not really Pashtuns now.

no no...i'm talking about real paThaans who wore saafa and peshawri chappal and shalwar qameez and spoke "pashto" to each other and who spoke Urdu in paThaanii accent. there are true Pashtuns in India who are still engaged in 'money lending on sood'...there are known to be very tough and violent with their debtors. jo unke qarze par sood waqt par nahiiN detaa uskaa vo sar phaaR dete.

we have a common phrase for them:

"Khaan asl mo'aaf kar saktaa hai par sood mo'aaf kabhii nahiiN kar saktaa!" :D

Do you think that its more of Peshawari/Hindko word then? Just like Lala

I live in Peshawer, infact i have spent my entire life in various parts of pakhtunkhwa. Its neither pashto nor hindko word. From @KKF post it seems it is word of urdu speaking pathans of india and through them, it seems, it is introduced into pakistan through urdu langauge. Its similar to stereotype of soodkhor. Pashto speakers of native lands are not soodkhor at all, but rohilla pathans of U.P developed reputation of soodkhor. I read in a book that pashtun settlers in U.P developed some vices, one of which was sood. They even used to stab those who didnt pay sood at time. This khocha wocha is their thing, like soodkhori. I also read some where that urduspeakers of karachi have introduced pathan jokes into pakistan, so it makes sense that khocha wocha terminology has come along with them.

I have read about it in british account, that rohillas have developed some vices in india , one of which is soodkhori.And your pashto speaking pathans in india claim can not be verified. I have met many karachittes who would tell you that he/she is pathan and their grandfather used to speak pashto but they themeselves didnt learn it. The truth is, all those pashtuns who settled in U.P-Delhi region in 18th century, forgot it within few generations. Very senior indian pathans of U.P are added with me on facebook, they have told me they only speak urdu, no traces of pashto.

i agree with you and i tend to believe it’s the case. finally, you solved the mystery. your argument rings the bell. i think i’ve heard this argument before about Rohillas and Rohilkhand paThaans.

Iqbal kii ek nazm bhii thii is titles se.** Ghulaam Qaadir of Rohilla by 'allaamah Iqbal

i LOVE this poem and i’ve memorized it sometimes ago.

Allama Iqbal Poetry

And what the hell is "pathani". Correct your langauge, you should say "pashto accent" instead of "pathani accent".

this is what we call in our part of the world...if i offended you, my apologies.

Ghulam qadir, son of zabita khan, who blinded shah alam and made mughal princess dance for him. I think his father converted to sikhism. You should avoid generalization and stereotying. If ghulam qadir was scum then his grandfather was a very noble person , mureed of shah waliullah. Rohillas also have produced honourable leaders like hafiz rahmat khan. And heroes like general bakht khan and khan bahadur khan. Shaukat ali jauhar and muhammad ali jauhar were rohillas. Founders of deoband were pathans so was founder of bareilwi, ahmad raza khan. In pakistan general akhtar khan, head of ISI, was hero of Afghan jihad, he mas rohilla from rampur.

Meray bhai may ney apology ka kya karna hey? I just corrected your grammer. Its pashto langauge , not pathani langauge. Ainda sey proper word use karo, achay lago gey

thanx for the history lesson. i appreciated it...thank you :)