What does "khocha" means?

I have heard this word in urdu , mostly in pathan jokes , also in some urdu tv shows and some indian movies. Iska matlab kya hey? . There is no such word in pashto.

Re: What does "khocha" means?

Interesting. I also want to know.

Kocha.. I think Pathan... or Pashto....or Yara

i thought the word was 'Khoja' which means 'someone belonging to a trading community of Muslims called Khojaa"...

i dunno if Khochaa is the right word.

I've also heard it in jokes and such...I think it's a slang term for "yaar/larka" or "larki" when you say "khochii"

Two completely different words....Khoja has nothing to do with "Khochaa"

i dunno...may be, may be not. someone may shed more light...let's wait and see.

Re: What does “khocha” means?

lol…is my explanation not good enough for you? believe it or not i do know what i’m talking about :chai:

Here’s the word “khocha” being used:

And if you Google “khocha pakistan jokes” you’ll get about 101 different hits and jokes, lateefay etc…so yea @KKF it is a slang word and totally different from “Khoja”.

Hilarious ! :rotfl:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdRD3F22uMM

GS itself is a great repository of everything Pakistan. You want to know something desi, you Google it, and first or second link is almost always a Paklinks url. Love it.

2nd page of this thread talks a little about this word. Look for Cheegum’s post and its reply.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/culture-literature-and-linguistics/177871-pashto-pakhtu-for-beginners.html

@TLK that aryan_sponkai guy has also got it wrong. He thinks khocha might means 'bring me water'. Lol
I think members here right that it might means "yara" or some thing like that.
The closest word to khocha that exists in pashto is "khuchay" whichs mean bat, chimgadar in one of the dialect. Obviously it doesnt fit into urdu's khocha tied with pathans. Another word is kochi which is for pashtun nomads, that also dont fit.

It was not hilarious at all.

i didn’t disagree with you…i just said you could be right or wrong. i am not paThaan and i ‘thought’ the word was ‘Khoji’…

…you haven’t given us the exact meaning of this word…is this word from Pashto or some other language.

Its not pashto word thats why i opened this thread in the first place

oh ok...thanx

I agree that ‘yaraa’ might be the closest meaning, but then the phrase ‘o khochay ka bachcha’ does not make much sense, unless the phrase (and not the word) is wrongly attributed to pathans.

One website says that khochaa simply means Pathan.

That's what came to my mind as well when I first read this thread. I thought the word may have been a mispronunciation of kochi as well but I wasn't sure of the context as I've never heard "khocha" used before.

btw, what do paThaans mean by this word when they call someone "Khocha" [with letter 'Khe' as in 'Khaatoon' and NOT 'kha' as in 'khamba']

is it a derogatory word? or, is it a complimentary word?

i just found this explanation:

Khochay Pathan/ Khochey Pathan Meaning

It's commonly known that Pathan is an Iranian ethnic group between Afghanistan and Pakistan. They also called Pashtuns, the ones who speak Pashto.

Khocha, too, is used for Pashtuns. This is not clear if it's a specific group among the Pashtuns but that seems like a possibility. However, khocha is a relatively less used term and is a little debated as well, as some people say it's not a Pashto word, but coined by Punjabi speaking people.

Overall, though, we can safely say that Khocha Pathan is an Afghan, basically a Pashto native, and hence, the term Khochey Pathan ki Zubaan would mean 'Word of a Pashto/ Pathan', which is considered something irrevocable, something which he'd not go against, whatever happens.

@KKF how can we tell whether khocha is derogatory or complimentary word when it doesnt exist in our pashto langauge at all?. I mean i opened this thread to solve this khocha mystery. @TLK has reminded me, we are indeed referred to as "khocha" as if it is synonymous with pathan. " Yara" may not be the closest meaning. Ajeeb mystery hey, na tou yey urdu ka lafz hey aur na hi pashto, kahan sey ye aa tapak parra hey ye "khocha"

^ yeh mo'amma hai samajhne kaa na samjhaane kaa!

ise iske Haal par chhoR denaa hii 'aql_mandii hai! :D

bas, meraa iste'faa hai baa_Hasrat o yaas! :)