what do you think about taj mahal?

this is to all indians and pakistanis what is your opinion about taj mahal here in india there are different opinons about taj mahal .nodoubt it is one of the most beautifull monument in the world but what are your opinion about this monument i mean do you consider it a part of the rich islamic heritage or what?

Yes.... Taj is very much a part of rich Islamic heritage. We all consider it as one of the finest erection of a man for a woman.

Originally posted by mpai:

Yes.... Taj is very much a part of rich Islamic heritage. We all consider it as one of the finest erection of a man for a woman.

THATS FUNNY

Kabir - Erection has several meanings. Another word for building is "ercection". So um...why was it funny...?

its one of the greatest building ever buile and most sought after by tourists all over the world... I would love to see it one day. But many people and some of the indians too consider it one of the seven wonders of the world-but thats not true.

A beautiful building in its own right..
but its NOT, repeat, NOT a part of Islamic heritage.

I've to agree with Eastern Analog here.

Who says nothing is impossible? I've been doing nothing all my life!

lets make it simple, the guy had loads of money with a sprinkle of love....

Originally posted by Degas:
its one of the greatest building ever buile and most sought after by tourists all over the world... I would love to see it one day.

Good!!! If you wish to come to India don't forget to come "via-agra".....

** Asma44 **

"Via-agra" has several meanings.... 

** But many people and some of the indians too consider it one of the seven wonders of the world-but thats not true.**

Is it? r u a hindu fanatic?   

Do you know that some Sirphire's back in India feel that it was some temple and fart like that.... I must confess India will go to dogs if secularism is not preserved.... and that's what we need to show Pakistani's that India can survive by being pluralustic and that people of all religions and regions can coexist peacefully.......
       India is proud of it's Islamic,Christian,Jewish and all other communities and appreciates their contribution in her progress.....

well i think taj mahal is a piece of aiyashi(udru) it was made at the expence of so many hands that were cut off .
and shajahan had no right to spend 90 crores at that era to spend on the monument instead he could have used that money for the welfare of his people or perhaps he could have used it to spread islam or maybe build a better army today india would still be under muslim rule . it was such practises of muslim rulers that ultimately lead to the loss of thier kingdom and rule

Even if the Taj was a "piece of aiyashi" it's pointless to look at it from that perspective now. Many old buildings were monuments built by hard labour, think of the Pyramids. That is why they are so important, because they remind us of what people went through to build them.

Taj Mahal is a magnificent structure, and it is even more breathtaking inside. If people have a problem calling it an islamic structure they can refer to it as a Mughal building, which is probably the most accurate anyway.

Originally posted by Mr Xtreme:
Even if the Taj was a "piece of aiyashi" it's pointless to look at it from that perspective now. Many old buildings were monuments built by hard labour, think of the Pyramids. That is why they are so important, because they remind us of what people went through to build them.

Pyramids are important because they tell us what people could achieve, how advance their civilzation was, not what they went through.
I agree the money could have been well spend on public welfare. I disagree with Kabir that it should have been spend on spreading Islam, state should never interfere with the religion of the people, mughals would have been pushed out lot sooner had they done that. It was Indian money should have been spend on welfare of Indians.

Taj Mahal is a magnificent structure, and it is even more breathtaking inside. If people have a problem calling it an islamic structure they can refer to it as a Mughal building, which is probably the most accurate anyway.

Most Indians think of Tajmahal as an Indian monument build with Indian money by Indian articians.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited January 10, 2001).]

Rani:

Most Indians think of Tajmahal as an Indian monument build with Indian money by Indian articians.

I think you are just being pedantic here. All the above might be true, but even if you close your eyes tight shut you can't get away from the fact that it is a heritage of the Mughal Empire. Mughal history is a very important part of Indian history. There's no need to feel ashamed of it.

i repeat again . that taj mahal according to me is a classic example of the merry making by the muslim rulers i was there in agra few years ago and i saw taj mahal and the agra fort over there both are beautifull peace of architecture .but it brought tears to my eyes when the guide told me that the agra fort was first used by the mughals then by the britishers and now by the indian army .the presence of indian army in the agra fort has no strategic importance today but its just a symbolic presence just to show that agra fort belongs to india and india flag flies on it
shame on the mughal rulers who wasted time and labor building taj mahal
i think aurangzeb was a far greater statesman than all his ancesters
taj mahal is a shame on all muslims of the subcontinent

Xtreme...you are right the story of Shah Jahan comes to mind when ones visits Taj but at same time never for a moment we think of it a foreign monument. I wonder why you think I will be ashamed of my past that thought has never crossed my mind. People feel ashamed of what they personally have done not what others have done. You and many others Pakistanis on this forum, use this and many other putdowns very lightly.

Kabir...your a heroes are the ones that propogated Islam with sword and terrorized non-muslims. Aurangzed jailed and killed his brother and father, he was one of the most cruel leader, who finished Mughal empire with his meaness, criminal and suspicious nature.

I wonder if somebody ever taught you spirituality and goodness that lies beyond any religion. I feel sad that we have people like you in our midst who judge people for their religion. I guess respect for all Indians regardless of their religion acceptance of all religions is concept very hard for you to understand but at the same time you demand others to respect you.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited January 12, 2001).]

acha hai!
not bad!!

Whatever limits us we call fate!
Whatever we can't change we call destiny!

Ik shhanshah ney taj mahal bana kar
Hum ghareebon ki mohabbat ka urraya hey mazaq
Mere mehbob kahin or mila kar mujh sey!
i)

Mere khyaal mein taaj mahal duniya ke ajaibon mein se aik ajaib hai…
It is certainly the most magnificent example of indo-muslim architecture in the world and I would love to visit it oneday.
Actually there was a programme about it on the bbc a while back and in it the latest research has shown that part from being a mausoleum to mumtaz jahan it was also a representation of Jannat on earth based on a sketch in the famous magnus opus of Hazrat Shaykh al Akbar Muhyuddin Ibn Arabi, called Al Futuhaat al Makkiyya.

As for the human cost of it…such things were the norm in those days and it is silly to project today’s values back to an era where they did not belong.

Actually the chief architect of the taj was a Muslim turk brought all the way from Istanbul by Shah Jahan.

It is one of my dreams to visit it one day and to see it at dawn when it is supposed to be especially lovely.

It is probably responsible for half of the tourism in India!! I have heard rumours though that due to smog and other pollutants around the area it is slowly deteriorating. Neglect is also a cause..this is a shame.
Why can’t desis preserve their heritage??
Apparently the famous monuments of Lahore are also in a poor state due to neglect by the authorities…

Mere khyaal mein taaj mahal duniya ke ajaibon mein se aik ajaib hai...

aik "ajaib" nai hota...eik ajooba hota hei:)

Naik*urdu ki ustaani*Larki

ps. meiN ne sunna hei chaandni raatooN meiN taaj mehal ke sehn meiN muhabbat kerne walooN ki rooheiN utarti heiN...kia yeh sach hei?? :masoomiyut wala icon:

Its a beautiful building. Thats all I think of it.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

----*High Priest-OF-Painful Truth*----