What Do You Know About...

:salam2:

Lets talk about our cultural heritage i.e. traditions, clothes, ceremonies, folklore and all other things that make us into who we are. I’m going to uploade little details including pic occasionaly on different sectors so we can talk more on it.

u r :welcome: in it :is:

Re: What Do You Know About…

Khyber Pass:

The prime attraction of Peshawar is the Khyber Pass situated in the Sulaiman Hills, which form the western barrier of Pakistan. The Khyber Pass has been a silent witness to countless events. The march of the Aryans, the Persian hoarders, Alexander’s armies, Changez Khan, the White Huns, the Scythians, the Parthians, the Mughals, the Afghans are conquerors who crossed this historical pass.

Aaah the great Khyber Pass a good share LKK bhai.

You from that area then :wink:

Okay heres something about my own people we have always been associated with two things, the horse and the bow.

In my culture the bow and the horse was the ultimate combination. It allowed us to conquer the world and to defend the land for five millenia before guns took over it was unmatched and even now few guns can compare with it’s versatility.

In Pakistan there are only two regions that still rely on bow hunters and horse archery techniques… in most places the tradition has died out.

In my fammily I am sadly the last archer, unless my decendants come to carry on the old ways.

A bow is born with the child… it takes 90 days or more to create a good bow and the father shoots it on the day his child is born after the Azan has been heard in it’s… the further the arrow flies the greater the childs future. I know it sounds weird but I guess the culture predates Islam as we know it.

Horses are also greatly valued. They may not look much and are little more than ponies few reach taller than 15 hands but they are amazingly powerfull and have the greatest endurance. Now winter or summer will kill them and they will ride as long as they live… both horse and man you would think were the same creature.

To think that for so long we were the greatest force on earth.

Interesting :k:

Khyber Steam Safari

Richard Tarvithick produced the first locomotive by bringing the locomotive and railway invention together in 1804. Britishers brought this technology to the Subcontinent and in order to augment the defences against the Russian invasion of united India, a 42kms long Khyber Railway line was buit by them in the 1920s from Peshawar to Landi Kotal at an enormous cost Rs. 6 million. This is one of the most historical and interesting train journeys in the world today.

The train coaches are pulled and pushed by two 1920s vintage oil fired steam engines to climb 1200 meters through 34 tunnels and 92 bridges and culverts. At one point the track climbs to 130 meters after a journey of 1.4km. A section of the track is shaped like a W and the train has to move in changing directions. The tribals travel free, as part of the contract agreed upn when they allowed the British to build the railway through their territory and this rule is still honoured.

Re: What Do You Know About...

I have been on this safari...

it ends in Landee Khotal station and it's amazing one in a lifetime experience... I can always imagine my predeccesors chasing down that very same train...

But i never hav been on it. Whenever i visit pak, i get busy in meeing my relatives days passes in hours and holidays khatam. Atleast i got chance to visit IBD from Lhr by train :yahoo:

IBD from Lahore must have been an adventure… so you too are from Lahore like Waleed bhai… :lifey:

Have you ever seen the Shalimar Gardens…? I saw them a long time ago… They are no where near their best but they still invoke a sense of awe even to this day… I rememeber once I floated a Lotus flower down one of the purpose made streams… it was such a romantic sight but the flower disapeared down one of those tunnel things and did not come out the other side… :frowning:

Yupe! i lived 3 years in lhr :smooth:

Yes! once i visited shalimar garden! a long time ago hmmmm in 1998 or 99 i guess. That was my first visit so everything (sight) was new 4 me so i didn’t paid fully attention jo aya bs dekh liya :slight_smile:

Which tunnel ur talking about :konfused:

I’ll see if i can find the pics… it’s not a big tunnel it’s more like a water way linking one pool to the other but the water passes underneath an arch and I guess I would callt hat a tunnel but it’s proabably got a different name… :smiley:

I think it was like this… but it was a long time ago and I was young it looked much bigger and these images do no justice.

Heres a more detailed overview the place I refer to is the bit in the middle that seperates the two pools.

As you can see its possible to stand over the spot and water flows below you… so amazing…

And while these are not Lotuss flowers they are among the many varieties of pretty plants in that exquisite place… but if I got an image for every pavillion or water feature this thread would be huge…

I’m :konfused: i guess i visited some other park and that’s located behind the railways station and near by a bridge. Don’t remembers its name :frusty:

Re: What Do You Know About...

can u talk on malim jabba ,any one hae its pic. there r 2 moments in my life when i saw natural beauty and shocked once when i saw the trees i cant describe its beauty then first time i thought about heaven,second time when i saw NIAGARA FALL in night time when birds were crossing the niagara falls multicolor lights they look like gold birds.

All I know from my culture is :smiley: Chooriyaan,kapray, desi aunty gossips,mils dramas, Saas ke zulm :naak:, kapray beautiful ones, gand:D, Khana very yummy :yummy:, chaat khana chaat stand sey :smiley: And patang, 14 August per jhandiyaan lagana, Shab-e-baraat per saaray muhallay sey halway anna and Shiaas kaa matam And many more:@:

**meraa shahr-e-Lucknow aur uskii sar-zameen aur uskii tahzeeb, uskii zabaan, uske aanz o andaaz…sab is naGhme men simaT aayaa hai…udu kaa gahwaarah!!!..aap bhii mulaaHizah farmaaiye:

ai shahr-e-Lucknow Lucknow tujhe meraa salaam hai
teraa hii naam duusraa jannat kaa naam hai** :smiley:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iIDvxWo4Xp8

Your link is not working KKF:chai:

now its working :slight_smile: thankoo for letting me know :slight_smile:

Nice :hehe:

Qissa Khawani Bazaar

The Qissa Khawani Bazaar is the famous “Street of Story Tellers”. Here, in bygone days, professional storytellers regaled travelers with stories, in the evenings. As in most eastern bazaars, shops of eatables dominate. Colorful shops display the glorious harvest of Peshawar’s unrivalled bread and widely celebrated “Kababs” and “Tikkas”, sizzling on red hot charcoals in the many wayside cafes.

Buzkashi

Pakistan – Dominating Malang Palawan’s carpet shop in congested Shoba Bazaar is a portrait of his father on horseback – an accomplished player of Buzkashi, the strenuous equestrian sport of Afghanistan.

Palawan is proud that, before him, his father Haji Tokhta and grandfather Ganja Palawan were chapandaz or players of Buzkashi – a game which involves jostling to get at the carcass of a goat and then manhandling it into a delineated circle while on horseback.

Six-feet tall and athletically built, Palawan was 22 when he himself first began playing Buzkashi in the Jauzjan province of his native Afghanistan. Now 40 he still plays the game when he can as a refugee in this frontier town of Pakistan. There was, he recalls, a time when he earned a living as a professional chapandaz, patronized by rich aficionados as the tradition used to be among the fierce, feudal Afghan tribes.

Until 1973, when the last Afghan King Zahi Shah was deposed and for some years afterwards, Buzkashi tournaments were a regular feature of Afghan life and preceded events such as weddings. But times have changed. Palawan fled Afghanistan due to civil war to set up his carpet shop here but does what he can to keep the tradition of buzkashi alive in this alien land – along with Afghan culinary art, culture and tradition.
Afghans lay claim to being the original people who tamed wild horses, and historical records testify to their exceptional riding skills which halted Alexander the Great’s advance into Afghanistan for two years. Afghan horsemen were, from those days, famous for swooping down on unsuspecting enemies and bodily whisking them away – a feat which has its peacetime version in buzkashi with a headless calf taking the place of human prey.

Besides the strength required of both horse and rider, the chapandaz has to perform a feat of balancing while pulling, pushing, snatching and carrying away the calf to deposit it in the circle.

The sport has many traditions but no hard and fast rules which allowed for drastic improvisations – and this has come in handy for those involved in keeping the game alive in Pakistan. Haji Abdul Bari, a Buzkashi promoter and a chapandaz says that where the game is played with 12 players on each opposing side, in Pakistan the teams have been reduced by half for lack of space and suitable animals. The weight of the decapitated calf – for which the teams jostle for posession – has also been reduced from 60 kilograms to half that weight says Bari, also owner of a carpet business in Peshawar.

The moving spirit behind the revival of the game, Bari has spent money and time persuading chapandaz, living as refugees in different parts of Pakistan’s North West Frontier province (NWFP) to play the game – even the watered-down version. Bari has gone to the extent of buying up horses put to work pulling carriages by Afghan refugees. ”I could not bear to see the precious horses pulling carts in the streets,” Bari said.

But worse has happened to the 3 million odd Afghans who streamed into NWFP and other border provinces of Pakistan to escape the civil war – they have had to sell drugs and their women sex to make a living.

Still, the hapless Afghans managed to level a plot of land a ground inside the Khurasan Refugee Camp, on the outskirts of Peshawar for a few rounds of their beloved sport and before long Buzkashi was back in business.

Before long the Pakistan government, anxious to maintain good relations with its turbulent neighbor, helped the refugees organize a few tournaments and recently military ruler Gen Pervez Musharraf was treated to a match during a visit here.

”The game will strengthen ties between the two countries, besides becoming a source of revenue for us,” said NWFP minister for sports and culture, Imtiaz Hussain Gillani.
Possessive of their traditions and customs, Buzkashi being a major part of this, the Afghans were delighted.

”What if we have been displaced? Our blood has not changed, and Buzkashi is in our blood,” Palawan said.

Yeah

My favourite kind of sports Martial arts… :champ:

Bushkazi has an ancient martial heritage as do Jereed, Tirakpacheen and Polo.

Bushkazi is like horse football but with a goat instead of a ball…

Jereed is like Javelin throwing at each other but from horseback…

Polo is like hockey but from the back of a horse…

Tirakpacheen is basically horse archery, also known as Tir Andazee but all of them are rare sports.

Bushkazi is a dying sport in Pakistan but it’s Origins like mine are certainly of the Steppes Turkic/Mongoloid.