I just got a live in maid in Dubai who is Indian. The indian maids seem to go by Didi here which was I was going to do but my mom suggested Khala jee (i’d use Massi) because the maid is 50 and has grand sons who are 10…
I was curious what is the norm???
In our family most of the maids/nokers are family nokers from our village we have known for years and years…so saying cha cha jee or khala jee seems ok to me. Not sure how it would be taken if i did that here.
I agree with you all but she's been great. She's helping out a lot. She's helping me out with tasks i can not do b/c i'm 8 months pregnant and have a toddler...and hubby is working long hours/travels.
She does my cleaning and cooking, sorting through boxes/closes I NEVER have a chance to do
Anyhow it's been amazing how much better i feel am mentally and physically with her help.
When I went to Pakistan last year, to stay at my Aunt's house, the older maid was called "Ama" and the younger maid was just called by her name. The gardener and cleaner were called "Chacha".
I dont think elders should be called by their names no matter what their status/job profession is, be it a maid or gardner or even the post man.
Khud to kuch keh nahi sakta k what they shud be called lekin It would be suitable to call em uncle aunty baba ji ... etc and this way they will feel like a family and they will take care of you like a family and will be easy for the kids to refer to them by.
but here and there when we did need a helping hand, those who did we called them ''kammi'z'' basically, helped out and did the work and obviously sis get paid for their service at the end :)
treating servants and maids with dignity is the number one thing you should always give to them.
and then comes the pay.
ask them what they would like to be addressed as, out of respect.
and do that. they will be happy you considered their say in that.
best,
Dushwari