Re: What do you have your children call the maid?
My children call me Uummi. :)
PS: I'm the only maid they have.
My children call me Uummi. :)
PS: I'm the only maid they have.
I call my maid Monkey, she loves it.
But I need a new maid, any offers?
The helpers we have in pakistan are referred to as uncle, aunty, baji, or bhai... simple enough :)
I dont like calling people who arent related to me aunty/khala/chacha.
I am glad to see that I am not the only alien in the desi world. I also have a hard time calling strangers/unrelated people chacha/mama/phoopha/khala etc.
Amelie If they go by Didi, then I would say call her Didi. Otherwise, name + Ji (i.e. Parvati jee) would be okay too. If you don't feel comfortable allowing your kids to call elders by their name, then Maasi would be okay too. Just explain to her that Maasi = Khala, not as in the servant.
Call her Sister.
Call your maid what she wants you to call then what you think you should call her.
If she wants you to call her khala, just call her khala.
our maid in Pakistan wanted us to call her khala, we used to call her khala. Our nani ama's maid wanted us to call her amma, we use to call her amma.
I think it is important that we show our children that we need to respect our servent and one of the ways to do is cal them by the name they want you to call them.
I say just ask them what name they want you and your children use to call them.
When we were in Pk, we used to call our maid (maasi) Aapa which is quite respectful in my opinion.
it was the most weirdest thing wen i had ppl all over me doing my stuff...brining me water
it feels so different! and wrong.
what if the maid is like really fit u know..![]()
My son calls her by her nickname, ie Malo. :) Daughter is not old enough to say anything yet. :D
This maid is not the type to say what to call her. she'll just say "jo be app ko teek lagtha hai" . most of the Filapina maids of my friends are called by the first name....the Indians go by Did so that's where i'm going.
Thanks!
Oh and as for all the comments about Ummi/Mama etc with regards to the ONLY maid your child has...glad to know you consider yourself a maid.
I love how women get so pissy about other women who choose to and can afford to get help.
lol amelie!! dont get your panties all in a twist!! You are very lucky to have the luxury of a maid. Not many in the west are able to and its a wonderful thing to be able to do.
As far as calling myself a maid, well thats only one of the many hats a stay-at-home mom wears. I'm not pissy about it, its part of my job and one that I like and will keep. Well, unless I win lotto.
No worries Mamma but when i do house work i'm not a maid. I'm doing housework and taking care of stuff...a maid is a different thing all together.
Yup, I get it. But you have to look at these things with a sense of humor too yeah? If you can afford a maid then you are really lucky. If you cant, you smile, make light of it and move on. The way I look at it, I'm a maid, a friend, a babysitter, a cook, a referee, a playdate, a chauffer/driver, a shopper. All wrapped in my jeans-n-t's and going-going like the energizer bunny. When I do housework, yeah I'm a maid. When I'm cooking, I'm a cook. No worry, bee happy, I wear all my hats with happiness that I'm lucky enough to be able to do this without having to work. In a professional, paying job I mean :)
mama is right its meant to be funny, kinda like I call myself teh chauffer or school bus driver :D I think its an american thing..others may not get it.
*From 1983 through 1992..back in the UAE, we had four housemaids from Mauritius, Sri Lanka, India and Phillipines. My wife and My three daughters...not only taught them (except for the Indian) Urdu...but ensured that they fairly well understand the basics of our culture..and to achieve their goals...my wife addressed the maids by their first names and my daughters...addressed them as BAAJI aur AAPA....and that played a pivotal role in making them more closer to our family and true and dedicated housemaids... far far away from the "social" inhibitions...which appear to have engulfed the GULF with story or two normal seen in Khaleej Times or GDN every now and then. *
All the four maids...back at their homelands...are still in correspondence by letters..with us occasionally.
Khush Rahein....
we call him Sher khan ![]()
Treat others as you would like to be treated!