==What do you guys do different because of Gas Prices

It’s USD 1.70 per gallon here in the UAE. That’s obviously less than what you’d pay in the US and Europe, but compared to Saudi we are still being ripped off. They just pay USD 0.24 per gallon. Unfortunately you can’t just drive across the border without a Saudi visa.

Re: ==What do you guys do different because of Gas Prices

you amreekans, now feel what we yourpeans have been going thru for years :P

and still you get a gallon for the price of a liter here!

oh God! That isnt that much at all. …I guess we were at that point maybe a year and a half ago. We are paying 3.85 per gallon for the regular at this moment. I would think that some states have it higher like CAI wish I could get me a solar powered car since we have abundant sun light:cb:

Is that so..But one thing is you guys live in teeny tiny countries…and the public transort is there (which btw our state sucks big time at:bummer:). You guys can either walk to the other country or bicycle there or :hmmm:…finally use a CAR:p

ahh being the youngest at home.. luxury.. I still get my sister to drive me, to and from university... and she cries :o .... aye hayee.. soon I think, she is going to make me ride bicycle to university....

aur raheey baat parents.. well no more short trips to the mall.. or long drives.. even groccery shopping,, abby janee does it on his way back from work, since my parents pretty much go alll over the town... for grocery... desi stores, chinese stores and supermarkets..

A FRIEND SENT ME THIS*

I don't know what you guys are paying for gasoline.... but here in
California we are paying up to $3.75 to $4.10 per gallon. My line of
work is in petroleum for about 31 years now, so here are some tricks to get more of your money's worth for every gallon:

Here at the Kinder Morgan Pipeline where I work in San Jose, CA we
deliver about 4 million gallons in a 24-hour period thru the pipeline.
One day is diesel the next day is jet fuel, and gasoline, regular and premium grades. We have 34-storage tanks here with a total capacity of 16,800 ,000 gallons.

(1) Only buy or fill up your car or truck in the early morning when the
ground temperature is still cold. Remember that all service stations
have their storage tanks buried below ground. The colder the ground the
more dense the gasoline, when it gets warmer gasoline expands, so buying
in the afternoon or in the evening....your gallon is not exactly a
gallon. In the petroleum business, the specific gravity and the
temperature of the gasoline, diesel and jet fuel, ethanol and other
petroleum products plays an important role.
One (1)degree rise in temperature is a big deal for this business. But
the service stations do not have temperature compensation at the pumps.

(2)When you're filling up do not squeeze the trigger of the nozzle to
a fast mode. If you look you will see that the trigger has three (3)
stages: low, middle, and high.
You should be pumping on low mode, thereby minimizing the vapors that
are created while you are pumping.. All hoses at the pump have a vapor
return. If you are pumping on the fast rate, some of the liquid that
goes to your tank becomes vapor. Those vapors are being sucked up and
back into the underground storage tank so you're getting less worth for
your money.

(3)One of the most important tips is to fill up when your gas tank is
HALF FULL. The reason for this is the more gas you have in your tank the
less air occupying its empty space. Gasoline evaporates faster than you
can imagine. Gasoline storage tanks have an internal floating roof. This
roof serves as zero clearance between the gas and the
atmosphere, so it minimizes the evaporation. Unlike service stations,
here where I work, every truck that we load is temperature compensated
so that every gallon is actually t he exact amount.

(4)Another reminder, if there is a gasoline truck pumping into the
storage tanks when you stop to buy gas, DO NOT fill up; most likely the
gasoline is being stirred up as the gas is being delivered, and you
might pick up some of the dirt that normally settles on the bottom.

Asif, I checked this on truthorfiction.com .. though everything you said is true, but according to the website, the size of an average car fuel tank is so small that these tips are not going to make any diffrence.

Asif200 Thank you so much for posting this:)

:smack: ASK, following those tips are not going to make any difference

Ok, so let me go back to my old calculation ..

Lets say that a decent price for you would be 2.50 per gallon

while gas is actually 4.00 per gallon

so $1.50 more than what you like to pay ..

your car runs 1200 miles per month (a good average)

and it does 20 miles per gallon (most desi's drive cars that do better than that).

After doing the calculation ... you can see that you are paying $90.00 per month more than you like to.

Cant we save 90.00 else where ..

maybe instead of going to movies or dinners .. we can go to picnic at park where we take our own food .

Oh . how about we cut down on those Dinners that we invite people to. You invite 3-4 families and you are looking at $ 100 - 120.00 in expense ..

These are the things that we can live without bringing quality of life down ..

You cut down on driving too much .. and life might suffer

^ ...................... and I will bring back my argument that gas prices are not just affecting what we pay to the station. It affects EVERYTHING.

Electricity is expensive
Groceries are expenseive
Deliveries (UPS, Furniture, etc.) are expensive
AC guys charge more

EVERYTHING is affected. Why? Because businesses have to pay more for gas and they pass the cost on to customer. All those dollars add up as well.

For me: I just drive slow, in the morning with AC turned off, combine trips, maintain the car, try not to go to places where I really don't have to go just for the heck of it etc.

I was thinking of getting a bike to commute to work (5 mile each way) but it's too hot in Texas for that and plus I am dressed up for work and I don't think it'll look good - a dressed up guy riding a bike.

I agree…everything costs more.The air travel, the groceries…even a stamp. Our electricity bill is almost going to be double this summer because of it.

So it does affect everything:(

Now if like most of the households have two cars..so I should just double the figure??One a bigger car or shall I say the gas guzzler and the other a tinier version:konfused:

I am enjoying the ride while I can. Oil prices do not effect us so badly. Just bought another 4x4 last month 8 cylinder 5.7 ltr engine dodge durango while wifey drives Toyota Land Cruiser 8 cylinder 4.8 ltr. The day we will have your oil prices implemented in Middle East you would see me driving horse cart.

^ light bearer! :hayaa: long time no seee…

^Hello sweetz, busy busy busy. Quaid e Azam nay farmaya hai bus kaam kaam aur kaam.

We should all go live in Venezuela, gas is $0.24/gallon there.

***Chalo chalo Venezuela chalo :jhanda:

***Source

or is someone just missing general a bit too much? :whistling

Ya phir Saudi challo. Udhar bhi USD 0.24/gallon hai. But drinking water is USD 1/gallon. :smack:

Must be, I believe the source is from 2005. So I guess the prices came DOWN in KSA?

Yeah that too.