korisn
March 8, 2006, 9:16pm
hello all,
just out of curiosity, what do most western pakistanis’ call their parents?
in pakistan my older cousins call their parents “ami” and “abu” or “daddy” or “papa”… but the “ami” is pretter constant. I’m noticing that the younger ones now call their mothers “mama”… i guess "ami’ is phasing out.
Whats more common in canada/us among pakistani’s? I’m from toronto and call my mother “mummy”… or “mom” and “daddy”.
how abt you? and what would you want your kid to call you? If i’m living in pakistan… i’d prefer to be called “mommy” among all the “mama”'s…
Re: what do you call your mother and father?
i'm from toronto 2 but i call "ammi" n "abbu"
S02
March 8, 2006, 9:59pm
i grew up in the us, i call them ammi and abu, tho sometimes i say "mommy" as well.
my newest cousins (in the US) call their parents mamma and papa.
one of my cousins ( she grew up in pak, kids born in US, now lives in the UK) lets her kids call her and her husband by their first names.
i call my mom a variety of things..‘ma’ ‘mom’ ‘ami’(although very rarely)…it’s most ma
my dad ..i’ve always called him ‘baba’..
fghd
March 8, 2006, 10:10pm
I was born in Saudi Arabia so I call my dad "baba" and my mom....basically mama or mom!
Afia
March 8, 2006, 11:05pm
My kids born here in west....call me, 'Maa jee' n their father, 'Abbajaan' :)
I grew up calling mine Ammi Abbu....n hubs calls his folks Ammi n Abbi
Pakap
March 8, 2006, 11:12pm
I lived uptill the age of 6 in Pakistan so I call them "Baba" and "Mama", its most natural this way and anyhting else seems strange. Then again, Im not a westren pakistani... :D
Mahru
March 8, 2006, 11:13pm
Afia: This is so weird...........we used to call our aboo abbi also when little but now it is aboo Jaan and Ammi.
mother = mummy, mom, maaaaaaaaaaaaa, ammmmaaaaaaaa, ammmii, lucy, by her name sometimes :halo:
father = papa, dadio, abbaa jeeeee and by his nam sometimes :halo:
OMG
March 9, 2006, 12:57am
I call my mother Ammi and father Abbu.
Faisal
March 9, 2006, 1:11am
what do most **western pakistanis' **call their parents?
"Western Pakistanis"??? Oh, you mean, people from Balochistan and NWFP? Because technically speaking Punjab and Sindh are on the East and NWFP and Balochistan are on the West. Please clarify, so unnecessary folks stop responding and ruining your thread.
I call my Mother by Mummy!
ANd my Dad by Daddy!
I wuld prefer my kids that they wud call me by Mommy..or Mummy!
Mama wud b fine as well..But no "amma" or "ammi" or "maa"or sumthing like it!
korisn
March 9, 2006, 2:34am
"Western Pakistanis"??? Oh, you mean, people from Balochistan and NWFP? Because technically speaking Punjab and Sindh are on the East and NWFP and Balochistan are on the West. Please clarify, so unnecessary folks stop responding and ruining your thread.
sorry! didn't mean to cause any confusion... what i meant by "western pakistani" is pakistani people/families living in North America.
korisn
March 9, 2006, 2:39am
My kids born here in west....call me, 'Maa jee' n their father, 'Abbajaan' :)
I grew up calling mine Ammi Abbu....n hubs calls his folks Ammi n Abbi
"maa jee"..... that sounds really nice... so different than the typical "ami" and "mummy".... gives me a warm an fuzzy feeling... :)
Amma and Abbu.
i call um mum, mama, mom, mamitta & daddy, dad, dadda, abi
Sehar
March 9, 2006, 4:59am
mi madre - it's ammiiiiiiiii (standard), mama (more affectionately), mom (jokingly), and my favorite childhood one ammariyay (don't ask)
mi padre - abbu ji, dad, or baba jaani
ammi, ammijaan, baba, babajaan.
And contrary to what many might think, no i do not say 'baba saeen'. :p
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
fghd
March 9, 2006, 5:55am
aww Lota Bhai u say 'baba jaan" too? howw sweet !
bizz
March 9, 2006, 6:14am
I call them, Abbu and Ammi/Ammeejee.