my cousin is getting married by the end of this month. she had been nikkaed for almost 2 years now so she pretty much knows the sural and the sural walay.she had a beautiful red bridal lengha made for her wedding..now like a week ago she was talking to her devrani( hubby’s brother’s wife ) and she finds out that she is wearing her bridal dress to her wedding ( devrani got married b4 her) and so his her jehthani ( hubby’s older bros wife) wearing her wedding dress which suprzingly is red also on her wedding !!! well that was a bit of a suprize to her cos she wanted to look unique and different but both the jethani and devrani insisted on waering their dresses along with their fullu loaded jewellery !! i dont think this is fair ?? what u do u guys think !! shouldnt the dhulan look like a dhulan and other ppl should avoid wearing a color that she is wearing ,…???
the pictures they would all be in the same color !!
Re: what do u think
I dont think its unfair. This is probably the only chance her sisters-in-law will get to wear their wedding lengha's again. Its actually quite a common practice for close family members, like sisters/sisters-in-law, of the bride/groom to wear their own wedding clothes at the wedding. Though I do understand it from your friends point of view, but I dont think she needs to worry as I doubt they'll be quite as dolled up as she will be.
yeah, i dont think its unfair. Its pretty common in pakistan for all the close relatives (or newly wedded brides) to wear their wedding suit to a close rishtedaar's wedding... i know it kinda takes the limelight off the dulhan... but they could no where be dressed up as the actual dulhan...
b/w i think its cute... if i got married and my brother's fiance/wife wanted to wear her outfit, i'd have no issues with it
i wouldnt mind. cus i dont like all that attention anways. but my clothes wouldnt be the typical red and gold either.
cmon man.. zameen asmaan ka difference hai.... the bride is on the stage.. and the other women arent.... beat that ;)
What Ive noticed about Pak weddings in pakt the concept weve been brought up with in the uk ie "its the brides special day" is defunct
it seems to be more about the groom than anything.
at my wedding, my married cousins wore their wedding outfits and were decked up in their wedding jewelry but they still didn't look like dulhans because they didn't have the dupatta over their head the way dulhans do on their wedding day. so they looked like newly-married brides but not dulhans. whoever gets married next in my family, i'm going to inshallah wear my wedding suits to their wedding as well. it's such a waste to spend so much money on wedding outfits and only wear then once.
LD coz at least grooms stand out. How many guys wud u see decked out in a pagree/sherwani/kurta besides a groom?? But I don't thinkthe bride can ever blend in with anyone. the bride definitely stands out, no matter what she's wearing..
^guys wear sherwanis too...my cousins' husbands wore their wedding outfits as well.
but you're right, usually the bride can't blend in with everyone...except at this one wedding i went to wear the bride was wearing a light purple suit rather than a red one and the guests didn't notice her until she was on the stage (so much for her entrance). she looked really good by a western perspective but didn't stand out by pakistani standards because her makeup was light and so was her jewelry.
^ I dunno i've never seen any guys wearing sherwani/kurta, like the really decked out type..most guys i know will keep it simple coz they dont awnna be "showoffs"...maybe that bride preferred it that way, to keep things simple and light...its all bout personal preference really..if u wanna stand out i think u will, jus coz of ur persoanlity
^yeah you're right, most guys dress simple. even when guys wear sherwanis, they don't wear the hat on top. ultimately, even if people wear the wedding outfits, the bride and groom still stand out no matter what. it can be the garlands, the stage, the video cameras and cameras focused on them, their personality (like u said), etc.
She really shouldn't let this get to her....needs to think positive and realize that she will be the dulhan not them.............. :) ...... Although i can see some women commenting " ohh devrani ka lehnga ziayda acha"...... or "acha dulhan ka itna mehnga thaa...jethani/devrani ko to itna acha hai aur itna mehnga bhi nahi thaa!!!!!!!!!"
urghhhhhhhhh ....
^lol
Like other people have mentioned, it is quite a common practice in Pakistan. They really don't blend in w/ the bride because the bride has all the make-up jewerly, garlands on her which the other women don't. To me it does look a little odd but that's because I've grown up w/ the idea that the shaadi is the bride's special day and she should look different from the others. At one of my cousin's weddings, the bride/groom and the groom's bro/wife/sisters/parents wore white. it looked kind of odd to us because we are not used to such color coordination but some people thought it was neat. Depends on how you look at it and how you've been brought up. Tell your friend not to worry too much because it is a very common practice in Pakistan. Also tell her that atleast she is not having a double wedding which does take some limelight away from the brides :)
Ugh talk about stealing someones thunder!
i know its common practice in Pak but i stil think you shouldnt do that, gt all decked up in ur bridal lehanga at someone elses nikah day. But oh well. It would bother me some but not to the extent that i would worry over it.
yeah I also hate the idea
I dnt' think ull look like a bride if u get decked out in bridal wear. It's all in ur attitude, ur makeup, the jewelry etc. You can wear ur bridal outfit but not look like a dulhan...
in case nobody noticed..ive also started this topic in the image gallery (actually kind of merged it wiht "more ideas for shadi dresses"...)and i agree...its alright if the close female family wear on their wedding dresses...as long as the duppata isnt on the head, it looks alright..in fact i wore my valima dress (which was a seagreen/blue) to my bro's wedding.and i plan to wear my shadi dress (gold) to my other bros wedding...my bhabhi will be wearing red, so its no big deal...and the other thing is that it does look kind of gay if the other females are wearing both the tikkah and jhummar...i just wore my tikka (which was not that extravagent)..and i might wear the jhummar only this time around.
and i think the only thing that is special for the bride, is her walk down to the stage..that is the best moment for her at the wedding..our family makes this a big deal (like have a really amzing song picked out..whose goign to walk her down..blah blah blah)....how about u guys??? on my wedding i had that 'dulhe ka sehra song" from dhadkan..on my bros wedding, we had that "tere naam" song from tere naam..what entrance songs did yo uihave?? this coudl be another thread btw..but im too lazy to start a new one.....