what do guys care about when it comes to weddings?

so someone asked why girls thought marriage was the most important thing ever. guys of GS, do you agree.disagree with this? i hear very little from men regarding how they view weddings and marriage, outside of the random hero who wanders through with his “if my wife wears red/doesn’t listen to my mom/isn’t happy with aloo gosht at the reception etc. then i’m going to beat her” comments. :rolleyes: :stuck_out_tongue:

my brother got married last summer and there were some things he did care about- he had a specific vision for how he wanted his wedding day to be, to an extent- and other things he couldn’t be bothered with. my husband and i both planned our wedding together- again, he has his own taste too in certain things, so i couldn’t just walk in and dictate the entire affair- and to be honest, neither did i want to. its a ****load of pressure for one person to handle, and so long as marriage is about two people, so should planning a wedding be.

i think a lot, if not all, guys are like that. everyone has their preferences in life- so lets hear it from the boys for once. what mattered to you about your wedding day, or will matter to you if it hasn’t happened yet? not the kind of wife you want, but seriously speaking, what kind of wedding do you want, and what are the things you’re just happy to let your bride-to-be decide?

Re: what do guys care about when it comes to weddings?

Personally I think Weddings are too tedious but since it's a once in a lifetime thing... or at least it should be for a lot of us... then we should not hold back.

I never interfered with the decision making process of both fammilies... so long as I got my way in terms of whom I could invite I was not bothered much more... I couldn;t care less about how I appeared though I had to endure the ceremony.

I did want to have a say as to the location and all the bigger details like who was comming and how things would be set out etc... but the rest of the small stuff was left to those who knew what they were doing.

With hindhsight I should have been more enthuisastic but If I recall I was very tired.

I wonder the same thing. do what extent do guys care about their weddings. The decor? The guest? The well coordinated outfits?

My hubby only cared about what he wore, the food and at the end of the day he got take home his bride.

^So i’m not the only one :hehe:

I guess most guys find ceremony tedius, no offence I am not against humanity and celebrating things but I do find loads of people gathering around a place as something to avoid… I dont know why but I guess I never had a herd instinct.

Also men in general tend to be less fussy about things than women… no offence to anyone here but I find guys who fret too much as weak.

I’m supposed to endure things and Wedding is difficuilt regardless of wether it was mine or someone else but guys tend to take things however they are thrown at them.

I got married on the eve of new year.. well two weeks ago precisely ..

What i cared about? - Nothing except .. the food menu for Mehndi/Walima, my clothes and excitement to take my bride home - That’s all !

I don’t even remember what was the colors of decor, ..bride clothes (except matching my Kulla & tie) … who is coming, who is not. .and why not.. … even where the hell is functions going to took place..

all i was doing.. having sheeshahs.. with friends until the .. baraat morning..

man the functions was so tedious .. and .. damn..it .. you have to meet everyone.. and then sit or stand like a statue .. never gonna do it again… no way. .this is my first and last marriage :emmy:

Bhai you have my sympathy sounds like your ordeal was just as bad as mine...

I cant understand how the larkeeyan love this so much...

mm.....little bit about what i wear......that food is good and seating arrangement is 'respectful' to the guests.....nothng else...

Because we dream about this day from a very young age lol and its where our whole life will change. We will be leaving our home so we want the best days ever before we leave

Aaawwww I know… i was just being fastidous… :slight_smile:

It must be hard for Ladies having to go through all that.

We guys are the lucky ones… at least that what I tell myself… :hehe:

My brothers are unwilling to compromise on the food :D

That's a man thing. You can't understand until you become male.

we have so much in common .. .where were you before i got married .. :pcg:

Hmmmm. interesting.

im glad there is something aimed at guys as on the wedding forum it is pretty much female orientated.

For my wedding (whenever that happens) i have specific ideas which i wish to implement. i would also like my partner to have an insight and have a joint take on things rather than it be a dictatorship.

throughout the whole wedding i would want a VERY LIMITED number of children as they mess up the whole event. crying, breaking things, casusing havoc and its just something that i would not want. imagine me and my bride walking together in the hall and 3 or 4 kids running past us or making faces when stood behind us. totally uncool.

i would want me and my wife to be colour coordinated and would want our colours to be exclusive. for example, if me and my mrs are wearing white and yellow on the mehndo, wouldnt want anyone else to be wearing the same colour clothes. sorry to be selfish but its our day, you can wear the same colour clothes another day.

i would want my family to be visible throughout the whole wedding event and not run around so will be hiring a wedding planner who will oversee all that. that way everything runs smoothly and people like my mum, dad, aunties, brothers, sisters are with me where it matters.

I will have the best hire cars to make the baraat stand out. in pakistan there are a shortage of prestige cars but will get them from somehwere to have that x facor.

i would like the mehdni done at home (joint mehndi for the bride and the groom) and have my side and her side do orchestrated dances.

wedding day will be at a hall or a restaurant with food served by waiters. i have seen countless asian wedding in pakistan where its a bufffet system and people eat like donkeys.

have professional photographers who only take pictures of immediate family and key moments to make the wedding album extrra special.

walima would be me and the wife driving to the hall in a convertable with me driving and her by my side.

would do all the rasms such as Maanya, Karoli, Chatti, Ghaana etc to make it a fun filled event.

i would have all my friends fly out and not have nayone miss my event.

go on a honeymoon to dubai and spend our first night after being married in a hotel room and not have a the typical tacky fake flowers out around the bed.

thats my preferance. dont ask for much do i? lol

^ guy?? :eek:

Oh I think I can understand :D

The other thing they both want is the nikkah in front of everyone at the shadi. They don't want the small separate nikkah or the bride and groom bring separate. However only one of them will be able to have his way (the others' wedding is in Karachi inshAllah).

I was already in the fetters of marriage I think… That makes us comrades in arms. :lifey:

ik chota sa sawal poucha gaya tha… aap ney tu poori jeevan katha hi likh maari :smack:

I had my Nikkah in huge gathering too, it was like over 300 people :hehe: - see we men have so much in common :k:

HAHAHA

Maafi chaatha huu lekin jab mene shuroo kiya tho dil ke andar jo bhi tha vo sab nikal gaya! lmao.

nothign wrong with a dude having a list of his own is there? lol.

oh i forgot to mention, going to go for a professional facial, haircut and chave on the day aswell. dont wanna be doing it myself! hehehe

^ i think its great you have a list of your own! i hope things work out your way. the good thing is, guys get the valima to do what they want whereas girls can go all out on the shaadi.