Re: What are

FF, yeah lucknow walay hain, yeah itni asani say recipe nahin dain gayee :D

na ye hyderabadi hei i think, aur bhi mushkil hei kuch nikalwana :D

Teray Waday pay Je'ay Hum tu yea Jaan Jhoot jana
kay khushi say maarna 'jatay agar atiebar hota

anyway here we go : it cud do ya for 2 to 4 people !

Galawat Ke Kababs

*Ingredients *

Minced Meet(Qeema)
Raw Papaya(kachcha papita)
Coconut
Poppy Seeds(khaskhas)
Ginger-garlic paste
garam masala powder
Besan(gram flour)
Red chilli powder & salt to taste
Ghee /Oil

and oiii i aint writing ingredient in exact amount like how much gm cocount or how many tbsp poppy seeds . I hope in good faith ya can do that yrself :)

*Method *

Grind the papaya for heaven sake don't peel off the papaya.

Mix grounded papaya, ginger-garlic paste , Ghee/oil and salt with minced meet ( me ma use sufaid zeera as well , so ya can use it , if ya like ) and set aside for more than 5 hrs or leave it for whole night and its done when you feel it soft.

Then next fine morning :)

Make a paste of coconut and khaskhas.
Saute the besan without oil on frying pan/pot .

After marination mix garam masala, red chilli powder,coconut-khaskhas paste,sauted besan and fried onions into the marinated mixture.

now either like cultured people (us) ya can bhunafy them or according to ya taste make patties of this mixture and shallow fry .

Enjoy kababs with green coriander chutney or tomato ketchup.

cheers !

save the cultured people wali deengain and just tell me what the right way to do it is. do u put the entire thing in a pan and bhoonofy it?

thanks for the recipe though. ab lagay haath woh torsh wali bhi bataa hee dau :D

me maa puts it in a handi and bhunafy it till the water gets dry !

or kia Torsh , kebabiyaa samja hai kiaa , kyun mera Nawab khandaan ko buri naazar laga’rahe ho :snooty:

its okay :slight_smile: no worries , now ya go n make them and let me have me veg pizza :frowning:

i left me dinner at home . aysay he job pay chala ayah hoon :teary2:

aww poor you...FF now fedex him some gilawati kabab :D

femme, you get grated raw papaya in a bottle, look for Gelawat by Vohra Foods.. it's available in the paki shop in NYC atleast.

the recipe i use (posted on AD):

Ingredients:

1 lb beef qeema
3-4 tbsp of Laziza Qorma masala. I used Laziza's bottled masala, it has everything in it in oil... don't use the packet vaala powder masala. and you'll just have to pick out the pieces of cloves, cardamom pods, etc from the masala.
1 large onion, sliced
3-4 tsp Galawat, which is minced papaya skin. I bought a jar manufactured by Vohra Foods.
Directions:
Marinate the minced meat with the seekh kebab masala as well as galawat. pound and mash the meat properly. Let it sit for atleast an hour or two.
Fry the sliced onion in a little oil until browned. Add the onions into the meat and mix well. Next, put the minced meat and onion mixture into a food processor. By now the meat should have a velvety soft texture. Mix well and again let it sit for an hour.
Shape into patties and shallow fry on a griddle pan. It will cook pretty soon as the meat is already tenderized. When the patties are golden on both sides, consider them done.
I like the kebabs to have a smoky flavour, so i give them a koyle ka dhuaan. Find a large pan that has a tight fitting lid, pour oil into it and heat. in another bartan, arrange the kebabs. put the piece of koyla on the burner to heat. The koyla is hot enough when it starts to look ashy. When the oil is hot and the koyla ready, turn off the heat, put the kebab vaala container into the large pan, drop the koyla into the oil and immediately cover with the tight fitting lid.
If you have a glass lid, you'll see the smoke swirling around. Do not open the lid until the smoke clears (about 5 mins).

so they r made of qeema then, lusi was right. lets hang khumar :D

thats good to know either fry them or bhoonofy them but most interesting is that Aliyish and Namkeens recipes are completely different :D

Lol..you know I am always right :D

Ok, I think main thing with this kebab is that you marinate them with raw papaya. Rest you can alter the spices depending on what you like, what is more popular, what kind of spices you have at home at that time, etc.

femme i am trying to do a wknd food trip to lucknow as well, uske baad i'll be able to authenticate the kebab recipes on here :D

and lusi's right again, the "gelawati" just refers to soft, tenderized meat. a hedonistic toothless nawab of lucknow wouldn't give up on meat, so his cooks came up with this recipe for kebabs that melt in your mouth. the capital city was then known as Awadh and this cuisine is called Awadhi cuisine (so i've read).

Well if ya are really into some frying game and would like to make tikkiyans of yr kebab mince , why not have SHami kebab instead . Huh

On namkeen’s part , I guess ( pardon me for saying ) she mixed coupla of kebab recipes in one yoke . For example , she wrote ‘I like the kebabs to have a smoky flavour, so i give them a koyle ka dhuaan.’ I would rather it Daam kay kebab ! :snooty:

Then she wrote about Marinating the minced meat with the seekh kebab masala

Hello ? seekah kebab ?

Then qorma Masala ? well I don’t recommend using qorma Masala in kebabs .

hahaha sorry i was copy pasting, didn’t catch that.. it’s qorma masala, and well it tastes good. i’ll try to get an authentic recipe from lucknow when i go there :yummy:

Ufff :smack: Nawab wajid Ali shah ki itnee Insult !

I cant bear it , feme ya go n grab my family sword, will ya ! My cutlass is bit thirsty from ages :snooty:

You are lucky Namkeen that u aint living in that Nawabi era , otherwise we must have had you in a wall for this Bronx cheer :smiley:

Femme , if u aint bringin me sword , grab me a glass of water , Kaneez . Cant u see Nawab’zada Aliyish Shah ko guusa arah hai ! :mad3:

lol do you wanna get halalafied by femme or what, aliyish?!
meethi chhuri se… good way to go :k:

p.s. if u have info on what to see or what to eat or where to eat in lucknow, i’ll take it.

^^ lol he is pakistani lucknowite, he himself has never been to the real lucknow :D

i knew it! the charlatan :mad2:

blame the restaurant :snooty:

Yea na Thee Humari Qismaat, k Visal-e-Yaar hota :hayaa:

No, I have never been to India myself , my Grand parents visited it couple of times after partition , me naniyalis ( my mom’s cousins), most of them are still rooted down there. But one day , one fine day , I will go and visit India , I wana see lucknow , Hyderabad , jabalpur , nayni taal . Agrah .

Specially the Taj-Mahal yoke about whom Sagar said

*Ek Shayhan’shah nay Doolaat ka shaahara lay kar *
Hum Gareebon ki mohabat ka Ura’ya hai Mazak

Back in Pakistan , ma Da was working some government organization so we were not allowed to visit India due to security concern .

But I have it on my wish list :slight_smile: its among some 40 yokes I wana do before I die :smiley: