What are your family rules and norms?

Are those centuries old traditions of your elders(buzurg)?

You can discuss your family rules and norms.

Re: What are your family rules and norms?

rulers for what? any particular aspect of life? pehenana odhna, uthna bethna, milna julna?

Open ended question hai... whatever, like

No more playing outside after maghrib.
Family dinner aaik saath.
Halwa poori on Sunday/ biryani on Friday.
Certain tasks/duties of househould.

None of the above are imposed on boys in our family. There is no fix menu.. We tried to follow a menu, but it didn't work.

Jolie… thread khulawa kar bhag gaye… :nahi:

Larkon par itni meharbani :hmmm:

We don't have rules in our family, just principles and values. Unity, respect, loyalty and love are way more important than who is going to sit at the head chair of the dining table or what time on Sunday morning everyone should be up kind of stuff.

With due apologies, our buzurgs were too caught up in rules and protocols, which were most of the times totally unnecessary.

On think they have given us an idea of whats wrong and whats right and then don’t indulge into our lives much. There have been much restriction that our uncles faced, but that didn’t stop them from doing what was not acceptable for their parents. My dada was a beeRi merchant and employed dozens of workers in this business. My Dadi used to help him and she could make beeRi (after folding and filling the leaf). She told that once she tried a beeRi, but my Dada never smoked. All his sons are chain smokers :smack:

I agree. There is no guarantee that your children will always follow you with same spirit. Sometimes, extra restrictions lead to rebellious behavior.

I followed none ever. I was a very troublesome child, glad that I don't have children like that :)

:hmmm: :k:

In my crazy mafia family, these are the following rules you should at least attempt to follow:

• Men do not get involved in female matters or cat fights. It is not considered 'manly' - at all - to keep tabs on women's activities, gossip about them or with them or pick fights with them.

• Men do not wear non* maya *wali shalwar kameez in summer.

• Table manners, some serious army style table manners. The funny thing is, those manners are still with me and I am not ashamed to admit that I do judge potential suitors on their table manners. Just one of those habits, I have no control over...

• Long hair for girls. Of course not all girls follow this rule, but there is still some fascination and pride associated with long thick tresses. My mother to this day still gets quite emotional when we sisters cut our hair really short. The Nani/Dadi crowd still appreciates the vintage Punjabi look where snake like thick long plait touches the hip. I still remember when I was in year 5/6 many South Asian people used ask if I'm Sikh because I used to have a pretty long hair for my age, which was always done as plait. My sister isn't too concerned about growing my niece's hair long, so looks this rule is finally going away.

• Elders and kids being served first.

I am a total brat or a rebel, if you like, but I am not against the idea of buzurgs being given all the usual protocol. I believe in the idea that respect is earned, and we as young generation of this family believe that our bazurgs have earned that respect. This family would not be what it is today without the hard work, dedication and sacrifices they made. It's a great honour and a privilege to be known as so and so's grandchildren.

Oh there's one more interesting one:

• 'Ladies' of the house do not dance in front of outsiders to provide 'entertainment'. At least in this generation, you would never see girls doing choreographed dance on Bollywood songs in front of 500 guests. Never. Of course, our weddings are always a blast, we do sing our tappays and do our bhaghra and gidda dance, but that's strictly a family affair, and when the entire family gets together, there really isn't any room to squeez in any outside people.

It's funny that 'religion' really isn't even an excuse or a reason for the above rule. It's just an old school feudalistic mindset.

Nice.

whats maya and non-maya shalwar. One of my Punjabi friend also used this terminology, but he was unable to explain it.

In our nanihaal, efforts for long hair in ladies is followed with zeal todate. They use henna, amla, reetha for this purpose. One of there small room (we called kothi) always smelled sarson ka tail.

I think it’s a white starch powder, that give fabric a slightly crispy texture. It’s mainly used on cotton clothes

I think our PM is wearing maya wale clothes in this picture:

Blimey, look at his face.

Application of starch spray on cotton fabric give *karak *look… Is that what you saying maya wali shawlar kameez?

Word :k:.

Same here!

they clough (I don't know how they pronounce it .. kalaf in desi style... kalaf cotton)

Hmmm... kaf lam fay... Is kalaf English word?