For most people who live in west, what are the signs of religious extremism in a person? should we avoid them all together and not give them sincere advise to amend their ways?. What you think???
Re: What are the signs of religious extremism in a person?
depends on wht u consider as extreme.
Beard on the face isn't enough for a sign? If not, then talk anything about religion with them and they will make it clear if they are extremists or not.
I think that's a terrible thing to say, my dad has a beard (not one of those long ones but a beard nonetheless and it's for religion, not a fashion statement) and his views are poles apart from the extremists.
I know of many people that dress a particular way, you cannot possibly suggest that all of them are radicals, in fact the more knowledgeable someone is about Islam the less likely it is that they will be radicals, it's the ones who don't know as much and rely on google and odd people/organisations that get sucked into it all.
OP: I don't think there's a litmus test as such, just your judgement. You could bring up the topic of jihad, some people will only talk about jihad of the swords, steer clear of them, others may mention jihad of the sword but will give much more importance to jihad of the tongue and heart, they seem like the 'normal' ones to me.
what are the signs?
when their actions are harmful to common people's safety and wellbeing.
when their views, words and funds support those whose actions are harmful to common people's safety and wellbeing
you mean wearing cross???
Why are we all automatically assuming that the OP wants to know about Islamic fundamentalists? I'm just after reading a piece of news from the Irish Minister of Justice about the Irish naturalisation process and let me tell you the comments that I read on that site from some Irish lads were nothing short of extremism. They're all around us - the world's full of hatred - and they don't have to be planning suicide attacks for them to fit into this category of extremists.
So for the question, I'd have to agree with KiteRunner in that it is up to your own judgement. For some, Zakir Naik is an extremist, for some he's a racist (not an extremist) and for others he is neither. Another example would be Richard Dawkins - I think he's a douchebag, others don't.
As for trying to amend their ways.. pffttt... unless its someone close to me, I won't bother. You can have a little debate with them and state your views but the likes of Geert Wilders and Al-Qaeda's leaders are hardly going to give a damn about it. If these people actually listened to someone, this world would be a much better place.
The Biggest Mass Murderer was Rev Jim Jones who led his own congregation to Mass Suicide, Men Women and Children! 900 of them!
Check out his picture he looks quite normal person!
^ I don't think Xtron was talking about racial profiling (as in, judging the person by his/her appearance), he was talking about the signs in a person's speech/character.
There are extremist in all religions! that should be obvious to all........................How did you arrive at racial profiling from Reverend Jim Jones story?
Extremists are usually either Teachers/Preachers and can be of any religion, they influence young minds to self destruction!
Why are we all automatically assuming that the OP wants to know about Islamic fundamentalists?
Dear BBQ....1st of all welcome back..
now...about fundamentalists..........you are quite right that there are all sorts of fundos out there..........but you just know that the words 'fundamentalist/extremist' are meant for muslims nowadays...in contemporary usage........... since other fundamentalists/extremists are not considered dangerous ...
@topic. you can't really know........sometimes the families n friends of the crazy ones don't even know...........so u can't
Why are we all automatically assuming that the OP wants to know about Islamic fundamentalists? I'm just after reading a piece of news from the Irish Minister of Justice about the Irish naturalisation process and let me tell you the comments that I read on that site from some Irish lads were nothing short of extremism. They're all around us - the world's full of hatred - and they don't have to be planning suicide attacks for them to fit into this category of extremists.
So for the question, I'd have to agree with KiteRunner in that it is up to your own judgement. For some, Zakir Naik is an extremist, for some he's a racist (not an extremist) and for others he is neither. Another example would be** Richard Dawkins - I think he's a douchebag**, others don't.
As for trying to amend their ways.. pffttt... unless its someone close to me, I won't bother. You can have a little debate with them and state your views but the likes of Geert Wilders and Al-Qaeda's leaders are hardly going to give a damn about it.** If these people actually listened to someone, this world would be a much better place.**
Truth.
For most people who live in west, what are the signs of religious extremism in a person? should we avoid them all together and not give them sincere advise to amend their ways?. What you think??????
Religious extremism is not a bad thing as long as you are not affecting any one else around you. In my opinion, this is always one's personal choice and no one should interfere with it. And i dont think that it has got any specific signs.
I avoid having any kind of religious conversation with such guys. Kia pata kis baat par kufar ka fatwa laga dain :)
Bhai kia baat kar rahay hein ? Yeah khatoon kaha say aap ko religious extremist lagti hein ? ![]()
Exactly :k:
when they say kill non muslims and they start looking down on people based on what religion they hold.
i know this aunty jee , her views freak me out sometimes. Every issue being discussed ,she believes being violent is solution to everything like for instance once time she said "beat ur wife if shes buri kirdar ki or dis-obedient" O.o .ok.and she doesnt use detol because it has a logo that looks like a cross? idk she says so rotfl.
You know it when you see it. When one's practice of religion interferes with others' freedom, safety and peace, it is religious extremism.
Jee janaab, kisi ko pata nahi, shayad saath main koi bomb ho, baychaara lambi daarhi waala mard
You know it when you see it. When one's practice of religion interferes with others' freedom, safety and peace, it is religious extremism.
True.When someone is over-emphasizing on Religion and Talking about Religion in a Threatening way then that's Extremism.U dont have to Push people Towards Something.