What age (did/do) you (have/want) children?

Re: What age (did/do) you (have/want) children?

I wanted kids at 25, but that didnt happen because I got married at 27. I probably wont pop out a kid until 28 or 29.

In the end though, I'm ok with how things worked out as I've had time to focus on my career, build up my net worth, etc.

I think girl's that have kids at very young ages, are usually not as successful in their career/financial life as girl's that have them later because they focused on their career. I guess it depends on what you value in life too. I grew up poor, so I've always been interested in making money and career growth, so I can give my children the lavish amazing life I always wanted, but never had.

Yeah, I’m afraid that if Namaan doesn’t have his own babies, he’ll run off with someone else’s :bummer:

wow…

you’re either a girl… or deep down you wanna play for the other team.

I always figured mid/late twenties. MashAllah we had Bunny when I was 29. Things don't always go as planned, but that doesn't mean you can't have what you want.

IA in the next year or so.

Well i've realised having kids is alot of responsibility, i cba with that, So i wanna be 25 when i have my first kid. But i only want one kid so its all good :)

30ish..

I got married when i was 23 and had my daughter when I was 24. I don't regret the age at all because I want more kids. I don't want to be older and running around because I don't think ill be able to run around like I do now.

i always knew that i wanted to have allll the children i'm ever gonna have before i turn 30. thats cuz after 30, your chances of having kids with genetic defects or miscarriages increase alottt. so its like we all frown upon cousin marriages cuz of the birth defect thing but no body thinks about that aspect when they wanna put having children on hold cuz of a career. oh well, to each his own.

anyways im gonna have my first kid at 24 inshaAllah and hopefully it doesn't mean i'll have to put my career on hold or affect studies or work at all. i've always been good at multitasking so i should be able to get through it fine :)

Having kids after 40 increases the risk by about the same percentage as one set of first cousins marrying within a family, which let's face it a lot of desi families do to the extreme.. marrying first cousins off to each other generation after generation obviously multiplies that risk..

Comparing the risk of someone having a baby at 30 to that of a couple who themselves are cousins, parents are first cousins, grandparents are first cousins, great grandparents were first cousins etc. obviously the risk is far higher with the family which has only been marrying 'inside' for all those generations..

im 23..have been married for 5 years..i really do not want kids..my husband is ok with it..so far! and we havent really mentioned children yet..maybe i will change my opinion in future..however..it worries me sometimes..that if i leave it to late and the desire kicks in..will i have the energy to run around after an infant..and give him all the love and attention a child deserves...however..even the best laid plans dont go according to plan..its all up to Allah at the end of the day..regardless of any precaution..if a life is to come into this world..it will..no matter what! x