What actually happened at Karbala

1400 years passed and everyone has its own course,path and shade of history to justify his/her belief and sect. Myself belonging to Ahle-Sunnah Wal-Jammat and Deoband school of thought, its always nice to hear Brelvi school of thought great scholar Dr.Tahir-ul-Qadri , a man of wisdom and knowledge .One may differ with him on certain point, fiqah issue or historical reference but its not mean his knowledge,research and his love of ahle-bait(ra) can be over-shadowed by small difference of fiqah issues which even exist between the 4 Great Imams of Fiqah !

Part 1

ShiaTV.net - The Largest Shia Muslim Video Portal

Part 2

http://www.shiatv.net/view_video.php?viewkey=9a22747fbb873e8b2f9f

Part 3

ShiaTV.net - The Largest Shia Muslim Video Portal

Re: What actually happened at Karbala

Plz. share your views and thoughts .If anything you would find something different not usually quoted . Both sides of shias and sunnis are most welcomed. I have not gone through whole of it but in 3 part in beginning, he told Yazeed not participated in Constantipole War , a new thing to me though.

Whenever I hear, that as a muslim, our traditions include tolerence and respect for the other opinion, two events come to my mind.
1. Karbala
2. Jang-e-jamal

Is there something wrong with me?

Karbala was a battle between democratic and aristocratic systems while Jamal was started with misconception when murderers of Usman(ra) threw arrows from both sides at night.

why both sides were camping out?

It teases me when people say that the battle of Jamal was only a misconception between to muslims parties and just our first civil war.
I disagree wid that as i think that too, was a battle between good and bad.
The battle started becuz of Mauwiya's instigations and his power of talking Ayesha, Talha n Zubayr in a battle with Hazrat Ali. As he thought Hazrat Ali'z way of ruling was wrong.
Later Mauwiya own son Yezid (may he rot in hell) led the battle at karbala, fighting the Prophets own Grand Children & Hazrat Ali and Hazrat Fatima's flesh and blood.
Also i would lyk 2 gv u all a little fun fact.
Yezid (karbala) was Mawiya (khyber) son who was Abu Sufyan (enemy of Prohpet) and Hinda's (1 who ate Hazrat Abu Talibs liver) son.
So this whole family was evil 2 begin wid, and any1 who calls either mawiya or his father Hazrat is a fool. They may have acceptd Islam but that was only when they saw no other option.

it's all in the past and gone, Allah will decide who's who.. why do we cry over it so much? Allah will not ask us did you cry over all this or not.. i mean those people can beat themselves all they want, Imam Hussein is not coming back.

If you want to mourn over anyone's death, shouldnt you be mourning over the death of the grandfather of Imam Hussain r.a.?

For every tragedy at karbala ... there was a martyr

For the murders of those saints ... oh ... dry your eyes ... those wonderous people get to live in paradise.

Had those events not unfolded then ... those people would not be martyrs living in heaven.

And how so be it that they should not unfold? ... for those events by our prophet Muhammad (SAW) are foretold.

For every mourner ... why do you feel guilt? Your hero is a martyr when his blood was spilt
For every learner be aware ... be supportive to your brothers who mourn with care
O Muslims rise, we do not have blood on our hands today so don't fight
Let's not begrudge one another - form together - unite!

:salam: Crescent bro

Yes indeed … or celebrate his (SAW) birth

Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy??

We go through these discussions every year but still you guys don't get it that shia DON'T cry because Imam Hussain a.s. is not coming back. They don't cry coz they got shaheed. Shahadat tou un kay liya hai!!!!!!!!!

They cry because of WHAT the ummah did to them. Because it's tragic, because it's painful, because it's heart wrenching, because it's so hard to bear even when you just hear it.

Prophet pbuh kee wafaat haar saal manai jatee hai. There's a majlis held for it every year. And they celebrate his birth too.

Psyah, i was born in a Sunni family and I was always told what you have written above. I understand what you are trying to say. However have you thought about the fact that Rasool Allah (saww) told us to follow his Ahlul Bayt (as) as role models? They were purified by Allah (swt) and their love is made obligatory on every Muslim by the direct command of Allah (swt). Their status is so high that its matchable to noone.

After the atrocities that were commited with the Prophets' family at the desert in Karbala, there were TWO main groups of people:

1) Group that celebrated: Yazeed ibn Muawiya (had a charater with every habit that a good Muslim must never have), Marwan Ibn Hakam (his family was condemened and sent into exile from Mecca by the Prophet himself), Ibn Ziyad (son of a prostitute and killer of Ashaab), Omar Ibn Saad etc

2) Group that mourned: The nobile family of our Prophet (pbuh) including the noble wives like Umme Salma (sa), the pious Sahaba and the true lovers and followers of the Prophet of Islam.

Now its our own choice which group we would like to follow.

By the way the hadith that is in your signature actually should read:

"I m leaving among you something which is very important and should be followed, you will not go astray if you get hold of it after I am gone, one part of it being more important than the other: Allah's Book, which is a rope stretched from Heaven to Earth, and my close relatives, who belong to my household (Ahlul Bayt). These two will not separate from one another till they come down to the reservoir, so consider how you act regarding them after my departure." (Sahi Tirmidhi, Sahih Muslim)

This hadith is presented through 14 different chains in the books. 13 of them have "Quran & Ahlul Bayt" and not what you have in your signature. If you understand this single point then i guess you will not question the mourning of Imam Hussain (as).

wasalaam
ramesha

desert bird, the picture of Jamal you are trying to draw is not true.

It is true that Marwan Ibn Hakam and his Ummaya colleagues did throw arrows both way but the army that was led by Hazrat Ayesha had commited acts of wars before this. Basra was attacked and the Wali of Basra was brutally torchered and killed. Several hundered Muslims were killed in Basra. Their crime was that they were good Muslims and were obidient to Imam Ali (as), and would not join hands in Ummaya manufactured fitna.

^^ Dear Ramesha do you know Ali(ra)wept over Talha(ra) shahdat and cursed Zubair(ra) murderer for him entering the hell .Murderers of Usman (ra) were in the Ali(ra) army and both parties agreed to take Qasaas of Usman(ra) murderers and Ali(ra) ordered them to stay away from him and his army but at night they threw arrows to save thier lives

And Holy Prophet(pbuh) gave shadat of Jannah for these 2 great sahabas who fought with Ali(ra).Ali(ra) used to sayy that In Jannah ,Allah will remove any misunderstanding between me and Zubair(ra) and Talha(ra) :) . Zubair(ra) was among the Sabiqunool Awwaloon , who accepted islam in beginning and Quran itself gives shadaat of thier greatness who accepted islam first in Sura Tauba .Talha(ra) took out the iron helmet of Prophet(pbuh) in Battle of Uhad when Prophet(pbuh) was stonned by Kuffar ,his teeh broken in that then he took Prophet(pbuh) to the top of mountain at his shoulders though his whole chest was filled with arrows of Kuffars and at that moment Prophet(pbuh) said, Jannah became Obligatory on Talha(ra) :)

In Battle of Badar Zubair threw his Naiza with such a force that it pierced across famous Kafir leader and Prophet(pbuh) over-rejoiced with this bravery took this Naiza from him and then its shifted to Abubakr(ra),Umar(ra),Usman(ra) and finally to Ali(ra).Its name was** Unza.Pakistan SAM missile made in KRL is Unza** actually based on this name.And Ramesha you know whats the status of Sahabas who participated in Badar , 100% Jannati all of them :)

PS: The hadees is quoted with both ahle-bait and sunnah in the ahadees book as Psyah pai jaan has written in his signatures

Peace ramesha

Those who mourned had lost their loved ones they could not stop themselves. You and me are on the side of the people who mourned the loss of the great saints.

However, today to mourn once a year is like remembering a past event that was not any of our doing and that moment was but a dark time in history, but today these very people those saints are alive in heaven. Why remember their temporary condition when you can remember their permanent one?

Peace little human

If you don't like what a few selected people did then ensure you don't do the same. The tragedy was due to impulse action and high emotions ... controlling high emotions is important.

The reason why I think the mourning is actually is done is because it is connected to an endorphin high, it is a form of indulgence. Some people can't get to this state and fake the crying.

I am being very blunt here so I apologise to who I have offended.

Bhaiyya qissa yai hai :smokin:

Baat Daigai pakainai sai nahee banaai gee

Baat Nohai or Marsia parhnai sai bhee nahee banai gee

Baat Maatam or Zanjeer Zani sai bhi nahee banai gee

Baat Ya Hussain kai Falak Shigaaf Narai laganai sai bhee nahi Banai gee

Is Jahan-e-Rungau Boo mai Aaj bhee Yazeedait or Hussainiat barsar-e-paikar hai , Daikhana yai hai aaj kon Hussainiat ka Naam Leva hai or kon Yazeed kee Safau mai chupa baitha hai :smokin:

little human

seems like you have lost your sense of proportion! Why blame the whole Ummah for the deeds of couple of thousand people at the most.

Keep in mind at that the moment in history there was no Al-Jazeera , CNN or any other 24 satellite news coverage. So the poor Ummah didn’t know what was going on and may have come to know it much, much later of the tragedy that had occurred.

So please be aware that Ummah did nothing wrong.

Allah (swt) will punish those who carried out the horrendous massacre and those cowards who having invited Iman Hussein (ra) and his pious companions (raa) pledging him support and protection and then when ‘the chips were down’ abandoning him to face the consequences.

What is** Hussainiat** , click below , we need this :smokin:

http://ravi.lums.edu.pk/sabieh/tipu_urdu_sabieh.pdf

Im for all Shia taking Muharram to next level, and Sunnis taking in view that it was a past event, and that we honour both the Ahl-e-bait and the Sahabah r.a.

But it really grinds my gears when people say "Prophet said you must weep over them or else u're not from the lovers of the Prophet pbuh"

This "us vs the rest" ideology, is just a little too farfetched for me. And it certainly holds no ground in Sunni narrations.

What happened on that battle field, you can blame Yazid or you can blame someone else, certain points are FACTS and cant be avoided:

1. Sinning doesn't take one out of the fold of Islam.
  2. There were no actual accurate recording of what really went on in the battlefield of Kerbala, to speculate is definitely entering hostile grounds of fabrication.

The focus should be on the present.

Imam Hussain r.a. didn't want to divide the Ummah, he died for a cause to reunite the Ummah. We can't use that as a basis to develop a "us vs the rest of Prophet's enemy" ideology.

Wsalam