what a lovely gesture

Waqar some time ago said that the only thing he wants to do is serve Pak cricket in one capacity or another. I’m really impressed by his team spirit. go Wicki.

Waqar surprises players by joining camp

By our correspondent

KARACHI: The camp trainees preparing for the Sharjah tournament in Lahore got a pleasent surprise on Friday when former captain Waqar Younis showed up and joined them in the nets.

Sacked as captain and player after a disappointing World Cup campaign, Waqar bowled a long spell in the nets under the supervision of coach Javed Miandad and manager Haroon Rasheed.

“During a recent meeting Waqar asked me if he could come and join the nets and I told him there was no problem and he was most welcome,” Pakistan skipper Rashid Latif said.

“It was nice to have him training with the younger players and he gave them some useful tips,” he stated.

Besides Waqar, two other fast bowlers Shabbir Ahmed and Abdul Rauf also bowled in the nets and they came on the instructions of the board and left the Pakistan skipper pretty impressed.

“They are both good prospects and were impressive today. I think we need to work on them as they can be good for the team later on,” he said.

The Pakistan team leaves on Tuesday to take part in the quadrangular featuring Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Kenya.

URL: Daily Jang: Urdu News - Latest Breaking News update Pakistan - jang.com.pk

Hail Vicky’s spirit!

:hula:

Good luck to the guy, Was this a show of team spirit or a defiance and a slap on the face of the pakistan cricket board???

Could be both but I was also impressed.

so what's wrong if waqar joined the team.
Go Waqar.

Great Work Waqar. :k:

Yeah very lovely :) Good spirit Vicki bhai :)

Great work and Great Spirit, Wicky boy! :hula:

Sorry to disappoint you boys, but where was this spirit and commitment when we needed it most and when he was the captain?

No Kudos from me.

I do not think Waqar should've been the captain of the Pak side in the WC. But if he indeed was retained then the players must have co-operated with them which they did not.

Waqar is to blame but so is everyone else. And I totally disagree with Imran about making Wasim captain. It is about time that politics was stamped out of the game and not taken to another level by appointing Wasim to be the captain.

I think it was very big of Waqar to do whatever he did. Well done, wicki.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Sorry to disappoint you boys, but where was this spirit and commitment when we needed it most and when he was the captain?

No Kudos from me.

I totaly agree. We had the same kind of "SPIRIT" before the world cup and look what happened. I think Waqar didnt come out there for the hell of it he is trying to be all goody goody as he wants to be a member of the team again.

Though on the basis of performance I dont think he deserved to be out of the team. But hey PCB zindabad mr Zia is running it like there is one to hold him accountable for anything.

Exactly … :k:
he is trying to act innocent so that he can get a call back as a Player.

Aray bhai.. ghar baitha bore ho raha ho ga. Its not like he has some other demanding day job.

Biwi nay kaha ho ga... "jao, kuch hilo julo.. kia saara waqt meray aagay rona gana le kay baithay rehtay ho. Nalaiq, nikamay insaan!"

:rotfl: :rotfl:

Leaving the world cup performance aside, this particular instance is welcoming. Acknowledge a good deed since it is due here:k:

Faisal: Bauhat buri baat hai! :smiley:

Whatever it was nice from Viki !!

:nono4: Aisee baatain nahi kurain

Well though Waqar was a hopeless captain and his man-management was diabolical, I've never doubted his committment to the Pakistani team. The guy is still as hungry as ever and you can never knock such an attitude.

My view is that although he's stiull a useful bowler he's no longer one of the best so he should retire and let the youngsters develop. No harm in him coming to train with the boys as long as it doesn't interfere with Miandad and Rashid's work.

:k: well said

In a more respecting and precise terms. He was a third class captain and a fighter

Yep that’s pretty much what I said :hehe:

A great bowler of his generation - and still a pretty good one now. But fact is, these days bowlers like Vaas, Bond, Lee, Gillespie etc all are more dangerous so his time is coming to an end. But don’t try telling him that!

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

No Kudos from me.

ditto