What 3 things do you like best about your city? What are your top 3 dislikes?

Re: What 3 things do you like best about your city? What are your top 3 dislikes?

Ooooh yeah, I like Montreal very much. Too bad the one friend I had there, whose place I could crash at periodically, moved out.

Re: What 3 things do you like best about your city? What are your top 3 dislikes?

dunno bout montreal. is the community there as big as in toronto, NYC or chicago?

Stats canada 2001 noted that for Pakistanis, Toronto had 43,500 pakistanis and montral had 7,890.

so when I am talking about major centers, I dunno if Montreal measures up really.

prof Adil Najam's book estimates just under 100K Pakistanis in Chicago and 175K in NYC.

so our definition of major desi centers may be a little off.

Its funny, I guess its easier to navigate in an area you are used to. When I was visiting CA with friends, it was ridiculous traffic, santa monica freeway i think it was called...don't remember. To me its hard to get lost in NJ...on the Turnpike or GSP..if you are going wrong, take the next exit and go the opposite way,m either north or south. If u miss a exit anywhere else, typically turn left and you find the opposite direction..hehe so far i have had good luck...and i do get around in terms of driving a lot :(

Actually Fraudia, Jersey City seems to have a larger desi population than hoboken, which is majorly Caucasion, specifically a lot of Irish folks. interestingly enough, JC has a location called the "Pakistani Colony"...I like staying away from there and thos epeople. I'm sorry but there are a lot of paindu type people living in there, and being the masjid is located there it sucks, cuz it seems some of the ladies only come to masjid for the food!!! But I love Hoboken just for chilling out and a night on the town (locally). Parsipanny is also infested with desis. I think as someone in another post mentioned, the reason why it might be bad that there are SO many desis, is the desi politics, and some of them bring their paindu-ness with them from Pakistan, especially the jihaleth.....GRR.

Anyways I guess I need to check out Philly again. I only stayed in Philly for a few days, by the Philly Convention Center...arch street i think it was...driving drove me crazy...you could hardly make a turn, every other street was either do not enter..or one ways in the wrong directions! I literally wanted to cry while driving :) he he

Afro

te key is to stay above the chichora desi crowd politicsd and dont let them get to you.

Philly rocks, but convention center area is kinda so so for staying, aside from reading terminal and the china town area (btw rangoon restaurant rocks, authentic burmese, the guy speaks urdu too), next time either stay close to south street or rittenhouse square area.

as far as streets go, just remember if one is one way the next is going the other way :) center city is mostly in a grid, so u cant get too lost.

Houston, TX

• Has 2 Fry's Electronics
  • Huge city with everything one could want
  • Stri....... eh never mind
  • Close relative live here

Dislikes:

• Long distances, commute, traffic
  • Having to deal with people who wont SHUTUP about how great Sugarland and Woodlands are

I will another city I used to live in.

College Station/Bryan , TX

• Campus environment
  • Short distances
  • Not too crowded
  • Can ride a bicycle in this place (non-US Guppies wont understand how bicycle unfriendly most cities are)

Dislikes:

• Limited shopping

teen dabbay walay, when were u at A&M? do you know any of the following ppl

Omar daud
asim tahir
Irfan Chaudry
Mansur Hashmi

last name rings a bell, but can't say if I remember anything else other than the name.

I was there 98-06

I spent all my time in the computer lab surfing the internet, I wouldn't know what was going outside :D

^^ well that explains why you were there for almost 8yrs :p :D

There are far more than 8,000 desis in Montreal. Right now my estimate is that there are about 100,000 desis in Montreal. I know for instance there are 35,000 south indians.

dunno man, thats from "stats canada 2001" so canadian govt did not do a good job. maybe there is a definition issue there.

and again, the stats I posted were for pakistanis. and unless pkaistan attacked and captured India like in the last few hours or India just decided to give up and become a province, i doubt south indians can be counted as Pakistanis :)

anyways nuff of the horsing around and back to a reasonable response :)

I do realize that the numbers can be skwed, but if they are skewed they are consistently skewed, so that would still mean that Toronto total population of desis and significantly higher than that in Montreal. which would then mean that Montreal is not as big of a desi center as Toronto. and thus cant be in the list of top few desi centers, maybe kind of a group2 maybe.

but then wat do I know..I am just a simple Pir Faqir holy shaman witch doctor dervesh.

well, you're right. I wasn't familiar with the routes in NJ. But still it was very confusing for me. I didn't find CA that much confusing when i first moved here. Over here, you can easliy exit and jump on the right way too if you miss any exit etc.

yea traffic is really bad. That Santa Monica freeway ( I-10) is one of the worst freeways.

Tampa

1. Breath taking views of nature
  2. Devloping fast, so ya after 6 yrs it has started to look like a small city from a village kind of thing
  3. Beaches, amusement parks, and lot of decent places for dine out
  4. Desi community isn't bad either
  5. I really miss the desi saloon, the desi bazar and all that university area...
  6. Nice, friendly people in general
  7. Love the way people celebrate winter
  8. Love the airport

Dislikes:
1. Education sector needs lot of improvement specially at school level
2. No public transportation
3. Snakes and other animals
4. Bad traffic
5. Too much construction, it is both good and bad
6. It gets awfull in the drought season

Same Likie for Toronto.

Dislikes:
Coldness
Bayhai
Gay Marriage

*I love ma Pakistan pala pala Pakistan *

Karachi

Islami mulk hai
Muslim ziadar bastain hain
Apnay pyaron kay khoon paseenay ki kamai hai Pakistan

Dislikes: Same Like Aq Bhai
MQM (Their ghundas and dakoos, chori dakaiti, dhons dhumki pay chanda lena, zabardasti qurbani ki khalain lena etc etc)
Politians (ki na insafi and bayimani aur police ki loot mar)
Bay tahaffuzzi e public

London 2004-2005

1. To sit on the upper deck of a double decker and roam around London's lovely outskirts.
2. Putney Wharf.
3. Variety of foods.
4. All my London freinds

Dilikes:
1. Smelly and drinking old goras

People would DRINK old goras:eek:

my favorite too :k:

ISLAMABAD

Greenery/Green belts
Peaceful life
cute small places to ave fun

Dislikes
increasing number of traffic n pollution
construction
limited places for enjoyment n good shopping

And all those decently dressed old english ladies who always have plenty of time to chat with you!

Interestingly, they happily offer some tea & biscuits too.