West=Money Tree

Re: West=Money Tree

YAAAR MAMA KI DUA ..merii jaan its not their fault either...paglii ho..
PAKISTAN k haal bhi dekhoo and secondly...ghar ko chalanay walay ki shaadi hojaaye tu aisa hojata hai..and secondly..ADMiyon pe ghar ki aur behn bhaiyon ki zimmaadaari bhi hoti hai :(..
FIKKER NOT WORLD"s changing aajkal ki generation aqalmand hai ,...kisi pe bojh nahi banna chahti so fiker not..:P

I don't have any close relatives in Pakistan. But I remember once when my dad went to Pakistan (all beggers somehow are the first to know and turn up at your doorstep) and this begger turned up asking for money. Now this guy was a healthy guy and my dad refused to give him money. He agreed to give him money on the condition that he did some public work outside the house. The guy worked for about half an hour and then couldn't carry on. I guess if you can earn a good living by begging then why work. It is shameless indeed for healthy people to beg for money rather than to work.

BKG I dont think your points of "Pakistan kay halaat kharab hain" and "Pakistan ka haal dekhoo" etc dont really have anything to do with the topic

The issue is not sending money to help out poor relatives who are in serious need and have fallen on hard times -due to emergency, illness, job loss, death or whatever difficulties that come our way through no control of our own. Im sure majority of families do whatever they can in these circumstances to help out back home, often even prefering the need of others over their own

The issue is with relatives constantly demanding and asking for money money money (and the occasional shampoo and lipstick) from family overseas, because they think you are a money tree just because you live in the west. Work for your money and live within your means. If you cant afford 5 nukars and 3 cars and a new outfit every week on your salary, then big deal, you cant afford it, so just live within your means. The problem is when they dont NEED the money they just WANT the money because they want more and more and more in their life and think that milking the money tree of their family overseas is a fair way for them to keep up with the Khanses

Of course Allah will reward you based on your intentions. If your intentions are good, to help your family member, this is something noble and Allah will never decrease your wealth because of the charity you gave. But when someone gives money they would rather give it in the place where it would make the most difference. Millions of people in Pakistan and elsewhere around the world are starving, people would rather give their money to them instead of to their relatives who live perfectly decent lives to start with but just want to get soemthing for free instead of working for it

The good old days of asking for cash are over. Nowadays they're not satisfied until they get the money tree itself; asking ppl to sponsor them & their kids to Amkreeka/London etc etc is the in thing these days. Personally I just tell them to get in the queue with the fees...thats how i earn my honest dallars and pounds.

Who has asked you to analyze each and every person's response here? It's getting really annoying that you show up to scrutinize every person's halaat that they are posting. This is not an Agony Aunty topic so you can stop now. Also, yeah, you have gotten your point across ke pakistan ke halaat aisay hain or waisay hain to theek hai, let us all send you our relatives contact numbers and you can help them all khushi khushi since you understand their halaat so well.

We have seen this too yet I have to say that also there finally comes understanding...when those who have asked and asked for things end up coming over here to make a life for themselves and see the reality of it all.

In pak, there is really not much concept of credit cards. So maybe they take it for granted that its like un-ending income, yeah? We always end up taking our guests shopping and always end up paying for it...and even the little ones tell their mommies "they can just charge it". And so they shamelessly shop and expect us to pay. Yet when they move here and begin to understand then THEY complain more loudly that I ever have done that those over in Pak are "greedy"!!

Miss SHAYY>..u have no right to b rude..she's my best friend..i can interfere as many times as i want..SO plzz fazool main lardnay k liyee fazool reasons na dhoondain !

dear Riya,

helping indigent relatives with little support that is for needs that are jaiz or reasonable is not a bad thing. Yes, if their demands or expectations are excessive and undue than they need to be politely told to make them realize that they need to fulfill their wants themselves.

i also feel that we ourselves need to check our consumerism as well from dixie water cups to the way we drive our cars or live in blessed bigger homes.

waste is one of the reasons why there is not enough to go around for all people.

over population in the world is also a reason why there is scarcity of resources.
all of this together is burdensome on the planet, since we all want to have a lot more than we require really to live by.

setting an example of simple living can encourage other people to make use of their money wisely and not squirm for unnecessary luxuries which only are a waste and spoil people at many levels.

best,
Dushwari

dushwaari i like the way u think:)

Yes dushwari, you are right in your thinking, your heart is definitely in the right place :)

However, most often it is not possible to tell a visiting relative that 20 pairs of shoes is excessive and greedy, yeah? You are asked to bring them shopping and you just do it, keeping fingers crossed that they'll be at least somewhat kind to your wallet or at least that they'll go beyond their luggage limit before your overdraft line-of-credit runs out.

thanks, ladies.
i hope i dont tempt my fate whenever i become household headess :>
i also heard somewhere that when parents cant provide what a child asks for, it hurts. & i think, without being a parent yet, that that is all the more reason, why we as singles must make it a habit to spend wisely and also own only what we need. so that we can teach next generation to value simplicity in living with comfort.

:)..i agree...per its hard to sacrifice our own desires..:(..per we can always try:)

Kambal un ke halat kharab nahin hain seriously yaar he has factories too. Unhain kia masla hai phir? I guess they still want dad to give them paisa coz they are used to it. Sab ke halat kharab nahin hotay in Pak. :smack: Pagli kahin ki :cb:

hallat kharaab honey ki baat nahi hai naa:bummer:

we understand their problems too

but imagine a person working all his life to support these big babies

i mean how long can u do this for sum1

he tried all his life so thay can be on their own

have their onw bussiness and settle down

and woh koi bachey to nahi hain naa

they have kids older than me all of them

so wen my dad is sending money in hope of that they will do sumthing with it

all they do is spend it and and cum asking for more

so is it fair??

if u really really need money and u mean it then u will do sumthing good with it wen sum1 is lending u money

they dont think they r asking for it they feel like its their right and hes working to feed them too

hes sending lacks and lacks of rupees only so they can stand on their own feet but they dont want to all they want is sum1 sending them money so thay can pay their bills

they dont want to work

and i know ppl who ask for money who really need it

and we know exactly who need money and whos faking it

so we r more than happy to help ppl but i dont think un ka kharcha paani hamarey zime nahi hai

helping is sumthing else and feeding big babbies is sumthing else

we never say anything wen sum1 actually need money we r so happy to help and i know my dad he never ever asks any1 to pay him back

he give and forget

he doesnteven remember ho many ppl have to pay him back really

he doesnt care

I know wot u mean KB coz yahan par bhi kucch aisa hi thaa. Shukar hai dad’s stopped throwing his money away at these bhookay ppl :snooty:

my dad is still learning lol

but he really likes to help ppl and really cant differentiate between sum1 who needs it and sum1 who wants it

but now i think hes learning cuz i heard him saying to a friend that they never call me so y shud i call them

even the call rates r less in pak than here lol

i cudnt believe my dad said that lol

:cb: It took my dad about 15 years to learn :hayaa:

Hell, I ditto you…and you know what the funniest comment I’ve ever heard is? when asked, my mom told this very close relative that she had to spend over $1500 on this very important thing and the relatives goes OH DON’T BE SO STINGY. $1500 IS JUST THE SAME AS OUR RS. 1500
:smack::smack::smack: