West=Money Tree

Is it just me or do people back home seem to have this crazy idea tht just because we live abroad somehow we have magic money trees that produce tons and tons of money that is made solely for accomodating their lavish lifestyles of nokars and “hoteling” and designer clothes and whatnot?

My dad JUST got back from Pakistan less than a month ago and he bought alottt of expensive gifts for every single member of his immediate family and extended family that he was staying with/visiting, and yet they still call and ask for more stuff? My dad does the best that he can to send money and whanot back home every month to his parents and some struggling siblings… but sometimes the requests are just mind boggling. From jahez, to medical bills, to just plain asking for money for the hell of it…

What the heck makes people there think that people here aren’t busting their behinds to put food on the table and a roof over their head??? :rolleyes:

Re: West=Money Tree

You are not alone. My dad's brothers and sisters used to do that when we were little and my dad used to help them out because the economy was good, business was good, and the kids did not have as many needs. However, as we were growing older, economy graph went south, and expenses grew, mom argued with dad and finally was able to take that money and spend it on us.

It's funny that one of my phoopho (and his family) used to talk bad about him in Pakistan and used to say things like "It's only a small amount for him, I don't know why he can't help out his siblings". The irony is that THAT phoopho and family moved to the US and now live in NY. Now they are on the same page as us and we hear them say "we don't have a money tree here, you have to bust your arse to put food on the table". I just smile when I hear them say that, even their young children have realized it :p

shikra...lol..dats coz...yehi baat ajaati hai na..kOI kisi ko judge nahi kar sakhta unless woh uski position main na hoo..:)...hum dsoron se high expectations rakh laitay hain which is wrong..:)

^ haha good for them! Its just really annoying when they dont believe you and think that you’re just kanjoos and hiding money from them or whatnot. First of all tickets to pakistan alone are so goddarn expensive, tehy shouldnt even be expecting gifts… but if they do get em, then at least show that you’re happy about it. And usually when you go there, you end up taking family out to eat and that turns into like a 60 people thing when youve got a big family so I dont understand what the fuss is all about when they’re upset about not getting gifts or not being sent money the following month. Nashukri people :no: And how come they dont feel embarassed asking for money? Thats another thing I dont understand… how can people be so shameless sometimes..???

its not bout high expectations bkg

its bout being shameless and asking others for money

the same thing is here riya

my dad always send money to relatives but still after every 1 month they call him and ask for more money:dumbstruck:

i mean if sum1 needs money he will ask and do his bussiness and try to return it

but i really dont think they need money

they actually want sum1 else specially “bahar waley relatives” to pay their bills too!

i have seen my dad all of my life sending thoousand and lacks of rupees top them i dont know y?

sumtimes for their kids college fee sumtimes for the weddings of their kids and almost everything

they never call us to say hi they just call whenever they need money:rolleyes:

so whenever sum1 from pak calls at home my mom goes like yeah “they need money or wat”

so its pretty normal for us to pay their bills too now

once we got a call from long lost dadi of my dad who we never knew existed and she doesnt evemn speak urdu

so i picked up the phone and there was a guy saying can i talk to ut father

i was like who r u??

he said im blabla and can i talk??

i said no hes not home so then there was a lady speaking in sindhi !!!

i dont speak sindhi and i was standing with phone in my hand trying to understand wat she was saying

and then finally after 5 mins call dropped

and wen my dad returned i told him there was a call from pak i dont know who she was but the guy said it was from pak

so my dad said yeh i got it she called me too

i asked wat was the matter??

and my dad was like “sum1 stole her bhens(cow)”

i was like wat does this have to do with u??

he said" her son got in fight with sum1 over that cow and hes in jail and she wants money to bail him out"!!!

calling my dad cuz her bhains got stolen!!!

CUM ON!!!

exactly!!!

they r shameless!

they think we have sum relationship with king abdullah

and we live in his castle and we dont have our own expenses

and we find money scattered on the roads

i mean asking for lacks of money is no big deal for them

they think our banks r stuffed with money bulging out of the lockers so wenever they aske we will just snatch sum from the locker and sen them

sumtimes we have financial problems too we cant afford to pay ur kids fees too

but even if we say that we dont have that much money but still they keep calling and embarras u that u dont wanna send and stuff

i mean do they really think that we have millions of riyals stuffed in lockers all the time wenever they ask for it???

:omg: at stolen bhens story… that’s ridiculous!!

You said it all! Im just baffled at how freakin greedy people are sometimes. My dad was telling me earlier that his brother called and needs him to send some good shaadi lengha from HERE to Pakistan… I was like WHAT??? And his excuse is that his daughter is too picky and that if she receives a dress from here she’ll be much happier and they wont have to deal with her dramay. They could get much nicer clothes there at a fraction of a cost, and they knoww that too cuz I was recently telling my cousin that shes so lucky to be in pakistan she can bargain and get a beautiful dress of her own choice and design.. and that a nice… not even spectacular lengha here is like freakin $6000… and lo and behold we get a call for a lengha. My dad simply told them no this time as he said clothes shopping for women is certainly not his area of expertise and that me and my sisters are busy with school and exams. Now his brother is naraz :rolleyes:

i know they even ask for shampoos and everyday stuff i mean wat???

and wen i saked y so they went like u know we cant find real one here

i was like really???

and lehnga from US its insane

cum on who asks for paki clothes from US

i think ppl in US go to buy stuff from there they dont send it!

yeah u r right and wenever usay like i cant its too much or im habving problems right now

they get naraz

never talk or call

my dad got my cousins married

they liked each other but their parents my uncle and phoopi didnt want them too

but they wanted to

wen my dad came to knew he bought everything from here

he got half of her jahez from here at double cost and for rest of jahez he sent money
they didnt do anything

even their wedding ring smy dad bouth them!!

so u can imagine

and he paid for each and everything from clothes to wedding parties and rasms

he went to pak after hearing the that they like each other

he got their parents razi and everything

and spent a whole month away from his bussiness just for them

and wen he came back he was so sick and weak he got his heart problem cuz of oils and salt in food

he has to adjust his bussiness again and stuff

and fater a weak he got call from my uncle that my cousin bro was spending so much time at his wife’s place and spendind so much money on his wife for vain and blabla

so wen my dad called him to make him understand that its not ok to spend time at ur aunts place he went like" wat have u dont for me"???

u have no right to say anything to me!!!

and my dad was like “wat”

we all were like" wat"???

so u can imagine

Wow. Thats crazy!! I know how it can be though. Its pure insanity. It’s like they dont see you anymore… all they see is dollar signs. Its just sad. Sometimes my dad really has a hard time cuz of all the extra added expenses… he’s putting two kids through college and then providing for my other 3 siblings… and then like his entire extended family in pakistan…but he would rather give into their demands than to jeapordize his relationship with his family and what he considers the remaining links to his roots :hinna:

yeah u r right!!

its sad to see that

its really hard to see dad working so hard and then giving all his money to those unthankful loosers which he calls his relatives

i better be without them

but hes always so happy to see them and encourages us to do the same

but i dont think its easy for us to consider them as relatives and sum1 u relate to

or be happy to see them

Just bcuz 1 dollar makes up more than 60 rupees. If a person here is earning 100 bucks n a person in pakistan is earning 100 rupees. Then who has high money value? Who is richer globally? Who is richer than the other? We might not b rich enough by the standards of the place we live at. But as compared to them we are always richer than them. And this is how they see us. But just demanding stuff just like that is awful. They must not forget tht we might not b tht rich by other’s standards. Shopping with dollars might b cheap in pakistan but buying the same stuff wth the same money might not b cheap at the place we live. People should just stop being mean. Or ill go try to find a money tree in my backyard. :snooty:

haha same is the case in our house too...we send money every now and then back home...but its really hard for us to tell them wat it takes us to send the money...

haaha the thing that just happened to us like a month ago was...we sent some money to one of our relative...and after a week or so someone from here was travelling to pakistan...that same relative called us and...he knew we sent him money..now he wanted us so send him something else...he had nothing in his mind...and u know what he asked us to send him?.. shaving cream....hahha

my dad's tiredddd already abt all this ...he sent him like 4/5 of them... the huge ones...

hateee these people yo!!!!.....

i know exactly wat ur saying:rotfl:

i mean soaps,shampoos,shaving creams, creams , lotions

u name it , they need it!

I can sooooo relate to this! I think it’s just a general belief they have over there - that everyone living abroad is living a life of luxury with the highest incomes and are just plain loaded. LoL well, thats the case with my dad’s family over there anyhow. However, with my dad it’s just gotten all worse since his parents passed away a few years ago - his sisters are so evil, they literally only ever remember him for money or to hint at a rishta - both things, they simply don’t deserve. :snooty: Jaahil people.

Someone stole my bhens! Best line ever :D

UMM>..chaloo ab hogaya na...Lets not backstab them anymore..COz once woh humarii jagah ajayain gaye tu they will understand..isliyee..:)..waisay bhi unki galtii nahi hai:)..majority aisa sochtay hain..aur waisay bhi pakistan main they cant just die out of hunger n poverty....jitna insaan samjhta hai uskay buss main hai tu atleast thora sa deydena chhayee..jitna afford ker skahay ..again insaan apnii family ka pehley dekha ..coz thats his responsibility ..and uskay baad agar gunjayaish ho tu beshak pak bhej dey:)

Those whom my Dad sends money are two types:

Those that helped him in Bad Times:

There were people whom he feels he owes something.  Relatives or frendz that helped him when he needed, though many a times the help was very small indeed but my father does not forget it.  I don't mind if he helps them.

Those who just want money:
Sadly at times they get more than those who helped him, coz they just keep asking.

Now another funny thing in my family is that though my Dad also has two other brothers who are abroad. If anyone mentions to my grandmother that they need money, she always tells them "don't ask the younger two, they still have kids in college and daughters to marry, ask the eldest one, all his kids are married and have jobs." Though they make more money than my dad and my dad never asks us to give money to his relatives.

Anotehr thing is that i send money to my grandmother from time to time as "gift" for her expenses are ofcourse taken care of by Dad and uncles. I want her to spend that money on herself but instead she keeps giving that money to the lousy people i don't like.

icono...u sent yr grandma money as a gift..gift dey ker tola nahi jaata...u shld except a reward from Allah..uskay liyee ..and forget abt what yr grandma does with it..coz dats her personal business...coz woh jis merzii tarah spent ekrain dats her right..
apko kaisa lagay ga agar ..apki sis kahay ..I give my sis money to use it per woh apni grandma ko dey deyti hai jo mujhay bilkul nahi pasand..!

What's not available in Pakistan these days? Go to any superstore and you can get the best branded stuff there. Yet, people have this mentality ke America se aaya hai to buss zabardast hoga. Even if you send them some ghatiya stuff from the dollar store, they will be happy knowing it's from 'abroad'-- such nonsense man. My mom's sisters drive me crazy!! My mom supports her dad in Pakistan and the sister who lives with him takes full advantage of it. Everytime my mom asks what he needs from here, she adds onto it a list of what she wants as well. She herself works for a big multinational but doesn't spend her own money.

By the way as regards my relatives no one asks for shampoos, creams etc, f they had i would gladly buy for them, they want hard cash !