Re: West Indies tour (Merged)
I was reading Woolmer's interview on cricinfo that says "Shoaib Akhter has to fight for his place in the team with Shabbir Ahmed & Umer Gul" - You do the math :)
Talha bhai,
you cant have your cake and eat it too, Bhai ODI’s and Test’s are 2 different animals all together, if you are talking about ODI’s then in my humble opinion he is better off batting anywhere after 5 down.
Where as if you are talking about test’s then I would say and this is my opinion only (PCB is not responsible in any way
), nahi yaar seriously, I doubt he would even be selected for theTest’s, Because test’s need what is called “Lambi Race ka Ghoda” and Afridi at his best is like a Cheetah who can beat everyone in short spurts, but concetration or dedication or even Patience and test mentality is not even in his books.
As far as Bowling is concerned, oh yes we forget when he Bats good we overlook all his short comings, but of late his bowling has been nothing to write home about!!.
Aur rahi feilding ki baat, well you can either call him as GOOD or as BAD as any other Pakistani Player and yes i am not talking about the 11 selected to play but all the 16 shortlisted, and may be even all the 30 plus candidates.
Ok now looking at Fiction, lets assume he does get selected for the Test’s, I am willing to bet my last dollar (Only the last one)
He will be selected as a bowler, which I repeat is a folly. I wish you guys all the best. I do honestly wish he proves me wrong, (I am one of his staunch Supporters, apart from his Batting Order), but hey I know that and you know that and the Paanwala at the Nukkad knows that.
So from my side that is that!!!![]()
PS: I know at this time you guys are on a Afridi High, but remember we are The Indo/Pak fans, God forbid he Fails in his Bowling, all of you who are supporting him, will be demanding his Scalp.![]()
Re: West Indies tour
Thank you for your stupid comment on irrelevant thread and good bye ![]()
Aejaz Bhai, I would disagree with you there. Afridi is good only before the 15 overs when the field restrictions are there. Its easier for him to hit the ball over them. After 15 overs, he gets caught easily. Thats why is always been so successful whenever we have played him as an openner or one down.
I love the guy but I think in Test he has no position. They are far better off playing Hameed instead.
-Salman
Re: West Indies tour
Ditto :k:
Salman Bhai,
the issue here is tempermant, which Afridi has, he can hit 4’s and 6’s effortlesly, so mere khayal me the 15 over restriction really dosent count, in fact I believe losing a wicket in the 1’st 15 overs, does bring undue pressure on the remaining players, which if not always, most of the times create the Dominoes Effect.
Test Team:
Salman Butt
Yasir Hameed/Shoaib Malik
Younis Khan
Yousaf Youhana
Inzamam ul Haq
Asim Kamal
Shahid Afridi (only all rounder)
Kamran Akmal
Shabbir (if he is unfit then Rana, but not Sami)
Shoaib Akhtar
Danish Kaneria
Six authentic batsmen, one firing all rounder, one wicket keeper, three specialist bowlers.
Again I must say its time to select wicket keeper with planning. If Asim or Younis keep the wickets in Tests then we have an option to play another allrounder to cover up as sixth bowler.
ODI Team:
Salman Butt
Shahid Afridi (only for WI tour, not in England or else where though)
Shoaib Malik
Yousaf Youhana
Inzamam ul Haq
Younis Khan
Abdur Razaaq
Kamran Akmal
Rana Naveed
Sami
Shoaib Akhtar
*I don't understand the Pakistani selectors. I'm pretty sure the bunch of idiots won't pick Hameed, which would be tragic because he has done all he can do to get selected. Hameed and Salman should be opening based on their current forms. *
yup Yaasir and Salman should always open unless we really need to put afridi in... otherwise always play them as openers in both form of the game and always play Younis Khan at number 3.. Shoaib Malik is no where as good a batsman as Younis Khan and Younis is a 1st down specialist while malik can play anywhere but not as good as younis at number 3... Younis batting at number 3 is the reason we won the test matches and him not being there last year is the reason we lost the test series.. and he needs to play at the same place in one dayers aswell
How about Afridi at #10? when all the bowlers will be tired, he can go blazing in all directions. :D
My TEST team for WI:
Butt
Hameed
Younis
Inzi
Yoyo
Asim
Razzaq
Akmal
Sami
Rana
Danish
funguy Inzi cannot play the 1st test so there is one space and I dont think so Rana will be picked, despite such a wonderful perfomance in 6 ODI series in India, considering the likes of S.Akther and Shabbir so first two slots will go to both
Shoaib Akther and Shabbir Ahmed considering both are fit.
and how can you leave out Taufffy out of the test team
the khatmal's for the tour of the carabian
for the tests
Butt
Yaasir
Younis
Inzi
Yoyo
Asim
Akmal
Afridi/Rana
Sami/Shabir
Shoaib
Danish
for the one dayers
Butt
Hameed
Younis
Inzi
Yoyo
Malik
Akmal
Afridi
Razzaq
Shoaib/Shabir
Rana/Sami
oh yeah for the first match take Inzi out and put in all 3 Sami Shabir and Shoaib
Fasties can't replace an authentic batsman in the middle order. We need Malik in, just for the first test to make batting lineup strong.
yaar saath batsmen hain aur teen bowlers tauba hai
If Malik can open, then we don't need another specialist batsman in the opening slot.
Butt, Malik, Younis, Inzi, Yoyo, Asim, Afridi/Razzler, Kamran, Rana, Sami/Shoaib, Kaneria.
Amazing, between Shaoib, Sami, Shabbir and Rana we have a hell of a lot of bowling resources.
By the way, I heard that Sami might have an operation on his heel. It is a recurring injury and kept him out of the last two ODI's. I dont know how that will effect his status for this series.
I will be happy if he get that operation now and take a rest and be ready for the last leg of the year, I wont mind if he misses the WI tour
yeah I heard he has a hole in his heel attributed to wearing spikes while bowling
- holy!!! may he have a healthy recovery soon - Aameen.
That’ll be extremely stupid and a let down for someone who’s given his heart and soul to the team!